We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, average service”
Review of Ramore

Ramore
Ranked #10 of 66 Restaurants in Portrush
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food, average service”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I have been visiting the Wine Bar weekly for a number of years and the standard of the food seldom varies. It is usually of a high standard but can at busy times have a few problems - like cold side dishes! Also at Easter time or at the height of the summer season the portion sizes will decrease.
The worst thing about the Ramore is that they do not look after their local customers. Holiday home owners quite often get tables when locals find it hard to even though we are here all year round supporting them when times aren't so busy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank quinlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    730
    374
    194
    160
    157
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Too much waiting & hassle!”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Visited on a busy Saturday evening - table was booked for 15. The service was erractic at best. Normally customers have to order at the bar for meals and drink, but with a party this size the staff were to take the orders and serve- though this only happen after numerous requests! The food is of a good standard but, for example, a burger is just what you get - no salad, chips, even mayo unless you order and pay for 'sides'! The menu is fine, (chicken, meat & fish) but nothing very exciting. I realise that many people love and queue to go to the Ramore but I feel the it is just not worth the hassle!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hcarson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Fantastic a must in the evening”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

Wine bar fills up very fast with families but make a booking in top chinese restaurant and you wont be sorry. food excellent.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“The Causeway Coast's Finest”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

It isn't hard to understand why the Ramore wine bar is one of the most popular establishments on Northern Ireland's Causeway coast I've been coming here for longer than I care to admit; and the standards have been maintained to the highest degree.

Despite being busy on Thurday night - half-term - I was shown to a table immediately - number 26.

I went up to the bar counter, gave the table number, ordered my meal, and waited - though there is as yet no wi-fi.

I had the fillet of chilli beef with salad pitta bread; accompanied by really delicious Parmesan fries; and real French-fried onions; with a small glass of s=chilled white wine.

This cost £17, including a tip.

I truly enjoyed it. The Parmesan cubed fries are a speciality; the onion rings, large, battered, served on top of each other in a perfectly fitting ramekin.

the chilli beef : Tender, lean, flavoursome; with a lovely sauce, shredded lettuce, mayo.

I cannot wait to return. I'll be back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“bit of a wait for a table but worth it”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Food is great, big portions and very tasty but we arrived at 6.15pm on a saturday night and there was already a 45 min wait for tables. Also, I'd recommend buying two drinks per round as there's quite a wait for drink service if you have to get up in the middle of your meal. But still worth the trip and a great place to eat.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ramore also viewed

Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Ramore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing