We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful well presented apartment absolutely...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Essex court

View from window
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from window
Balcony at front entrance View from window
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
View from window
Balcony at front entrance
View from window
Kitchen showing cooker microwave and fridge (freezer in larder)
Kitchen showing washer and dryer
Stairs from hallway to upstairs
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom showing electric shower
Bathroom
Landing to downstairs
Front bedroom
Back bedroom
Back bedroom
Front bedroom
Lounge And dining area view 1
Lounge And dining area view 2
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carrickfergus, County Antrim, Northern Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Blaze2005
South Ayrshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful well presented apartment absolutely spotless”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a brilliant holiday in Carrickfergus and travelling to surrounding areas the neighbours at the apartment were all lovely very friendly would recommend Essex court to everyone thank you Angie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments - hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb456
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We were traveling with our daughter and granddaughter so Angies' place was a perfect place to be based out of. It was a great location that let us putter around the town and wasn't to far for us to pop into Belfast to visit family. Angie made everything welcoming, the neighbours were great! We have already started talking about our return trip.

Tanks Angie,
Barb, Joe, Cheryl and of course Avery

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, close to everything, Space- able to be comfortable at all times
Liked least: Nothing we did not like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2015
Hi Guys

Thank you so much for your glowing review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Angie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“a Splendid Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 16 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A spacious, comfortable apartment overlooking Carrickfergus Castle. Just thirty minutes away from Belfast it is the perfect base for exploring the Capital Of Northern Ireland, The Giants Causeway and more surprisingly, the joys of Whitehead and Larne.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosiness of the apartment.
Liked least: When we came in late one night the alarm was going off to indicate the electricity this meant an urgent trip to Sainsburys & Clipperstown garage to ensure the alarm do not go on all night. Not ideal.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Oct 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your comments and you will be pleased to know I acted on the suggestion you left for us.
Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AllisonJ8...
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great apartment in a really great location”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This great apartment was ideal for our weeks break at Easter. One adult & 2 children aged 3 & 6. The accommodation was spacious, well furnished, well equipped, clean & comfortable. The stairs weren't a problem for my children.
We arrived in the evening on Easter Sunday & I was worried about getting milk for breakfast, I needn't have bothered as Angie had stocked the fridge with milk, butter & cheese and had even left out some Northern Irish breads for us to try. A really welcome surprise!
There is a parking space but also visitor parking which was helpful when I had friends visiting.
Carrickfergus itself is a fantastic place to base yourself if you have younger children, the play park on the seafront is amazing and the castle has plenty to offer too. Visited other parks at Carnfurruck (near Larne) & Crawfordsburn (near Bangor), Pickie Park in Bangor & Belfast Zoo. All were briliant for the kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: welcome hamper
Liked least: TV made a buzzing noise
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We would be happy to welcome you anytime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterMHil...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great holiday base”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were warmly welcomed by the friendly, helpful owner and found the accommodation as described on the website. The apartment was warm, spacious and comfortable and ideally located for the centre of Carrickfergus, the castle, the promenade, the marina and the various restaurants.

We used public transport (the railway station is about 600 yards from the flat) to travel into Belfast and further up the coast. We recommend visits to Whitehead to enjoy the Blackhead coastal path, a tour inside Stormont via the Belfast City Tour Bus, and with personal transport the northern coastal route and Mount Stewart (National Trust) to the south. The house at Mount Stewart is receiving a 3 year restoration until approximately April 2015 and therefore the internal viewing is limited to a restoration tour but it is still interesting. However, the expansive gardens are definitely worth seeing.

We can recommend the apartment and the location without hesitation and will happily return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything was pleasing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Apr 2014
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay in our apartment and Northern Ireland and we look forward to welcoming you back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing