We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Glenavon House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Would not stay again”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I've arrived late in the evening so went almost directly to the restaurant, as it was only 15 minutes to place last orders. Nice food and nice service. After coming back I've realised that my room was connected to a taracce/ balcony area accessible for anyone which made me feel really uncomfortable and on top of that the smell of swimming pool was unbearable. Went back to reception to request a different room and was told by the receptionist that she will have a look when she's done with the things her boss asked her to do. So the boss is more important than customer. Returned to my room and waited and waited to finally phone the reception again. Finally was offered a different room at around 10:30 pm. Really bad customer service. The hotel looks good from the outside but the inside is really dated, '70 style decor. All together very disappointing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ada1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
Dear Ada,

I was disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction following your recent stay.

I have spoken to the receptionist on duty and unfortunately there was a 10 minute delay until she was able to attend to your request as she was in the process of emailing information requested by the manager regarding a matter of some urgency concerning other hotel guests. At the time the receptionist did not feel it was appropriate to discuss this emergency and correctly prioritised her time to deal with the matter. My apologies for the lack of communication on the night but at the time it was an evolving situation of a serious and confidential nature.

I trust that these further details go some way towards explaining this unfortunate delay.

We are currently in the middle of a refurbishment program for all hotel bedrooms with 40 of the 62 bedrooms already completed and I hope that at some time in the future you will return and enjoy the comfort of these newly refurbished rooms. Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding the restaurant food and service.

Yours faithfully,


Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    64
    42
    16
    20
See reviews for
95
75
6
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We arrived on Friday for a two night stay. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our room was huge, very comfortable and clean. The leisure facilities were super and the whole experience was positive. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliD82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear AliD82,

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us last weekend. Thank you for your very kind comments which I will pass onto the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Best Regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Stayed here on saturday past and we loved it !! was with my soon-to-be-wife and we have no complaints at all, staff were pleasant and polite and the food was perfect. Even though the hotel was very busy anything we asked for was got very very quickly. The bar/waiting staff are a real credit to this hotel. We had dinner then a few drinks and were quite ready for a night on the town, and the real bonus was that the hotel has a night club in its grounds. We got brought straight through (no queuing) and as hotel guests didn't have to pay in !! The night club is awesome and so trendy......we drank/danced til the small hours, will definitely be returning sometime soon. many thanks to the Glenavon hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear Jimnic,

I am delighted that you and your soon-to-be wife had a lovely stay at the hotel. Its great that we managed to tick all the boxes with staff, food, accommodation and the night-club being just as you wanted! Thank you for your very kind comments, I will pass them onto the staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back as "Mr and Mrs" in the not too distant future!

Best Regards

Paula Wilson

p.s. Happy Wedding Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We arrived at the Hotel on Friday night for the Ulster GAA Conference. The Hotel staff were very welcoming on our arrival (which was late at night coming from Glasgow on the ferry!). When we got to our twin room it was warm, spacious and clean. The bathroom was huge with an amazing power shower and bath which was great. The room has everything you need, lovely big plasma tv with great selection of channels, tea and coffee making facilities, big wardrobe and plenty of storage facilities, phone, hairdryer etc.

Breakfast was brilliant, lots of choice from hot foods to cereals, fruit and yoghurt which was good. Everything was well stocked too! Absolutely no complaints from us! We also had dinner on our second night in the hotel, great selection of proper hearty grub and service was quick and the staff were very friendly.

The Reception staff were so friendly and genuinely took an interest in our trip, and were really helpful with printing maps and giving us directions if needed.

The conference facilities in this hotel are amazing and the event ran very smoothly. We were never short of food, drinks and snacks.

I hope that we will all return next year for an equally fantastic time!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JOH1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear John,

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the conference last weekend so much. Thank you for your very kind comments which I will pass onto all the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Well i want to begin by thanking all the staff at the hotel and nightclub. They made us feel all very welcome and couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortble. The Rooms where excellent and the gym, pool and spa was just devine. The food was great and even though the weather was not good it didnt make a different as we all where enjoying our stay to much. We will return soon so once again we all thank you.
T McClelland & A Davidson

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trudie210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulafrawilson, Owner at Glenavon House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Dear Trudie

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your 40th Birthday bash so much! Thank you for your very kind comments which I will pass onto everyone here. Here's to the next 40!

Best Regards

Paula Wilson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cookstown
4.5 km away
Tullylagan Country House Hotel
1.8 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#2 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
0.1 km away
Greenvale Hotel
Greenvale Hotel
#3 of 10 in Cookstown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 km away
Corick House
Corick House
#1 of 1 in Clogher
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
18.4 km away
Grange Lodge
Grange Lodge
#1 of 6 in Dungannon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
35.4 km away
Silverbirch Hotel
Silverbirch Hotel
#1 of 3 in Omagh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenavon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenavon House Hotel

Property: Glenavon House Hotel
Address: 52 Drum Road, Cookstown BT80 8QS, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Tyrone > Cookstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cookstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Glenavon House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
62 bedroom hotel with Leisure facilities located on the banks of the Ballinderry River. Extensive conference, dining and banqueting facilities also available. Complimentary use of Club Riviera with swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room sauna and fitness suite during guest' stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Glenavon House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenavon Hotel Cookstown
Glenavon House Hotel Cookstown, County Tyrone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing