We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a league of their own at the Canal Court Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2011

I was married in this hotel in 2005 and have stayed many times since and I am still impressed with each visit. My husband and I attended a friend's wedding there on Friday 26 August and it was absouletly beautiful. The Millers suite was decorated so elegantly, the food was 1st class as always, the toilets were immaculate and as for the staff, they are by far the friendliest and couteous hotel staff I have ever came across. Although it has to be said they have a great leader in the form of Miss Deborah Ferguson, General Manager, her leadership qualities shine through her staff and it is clear to see that they have the upmost respect for her by the way they carry out their duties....from waitress,barmen, housekeeping and front office staff. Keep up the good work, i endeavour to staff here for many years to come, fantastic hotel with a warm welcome, thank you Deborah & Staff at the Canal Court.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2011

Many thanks for your lovely review & for taking the time to write it. We were delighted to have you both back with us and look forward to welcoming you both back many times in the future.
It is a pleasure to have you staying and we do hope you have many more opportunities to visit.
Kind Regards & Best Wishes to you both,
Miss Deborah Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

906 - 910 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed overnight on a Groupon voucher. We were checked in by a very friendly and helpful member of staff. The room was lovely and the bathroom very good. Although the hairdryer did not have much power this was a very minor point and certainly did not take away from our stay. The food was fantastic and plentiful and the restaurant staff could not have been more pleasant. Altogether it was a great experience and one that we would certainly repeat.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay & I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable time with us. We do hope you have the opportunity to stay again in the near future & if you would like details of our Special Offers including Winter Shopping Breaks please see our website or email me and I will add your details to our online mailing list.
Many Thanks & Kind Regards
Miss Deborah Ferguson
dferguson@canalcourthotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

After a long trip from Canada and being awake nearly 22 hrs at that point , I was standing at the bus depot , looked at the hotel and decided " I need some rest and need to stay here for the night" . Upon my arrival I went to the desk , asked if they had a room available with internet access. The room and service was fantastic, would recommend anyone passing through , stay there. You are treated like gold. Thank you for my stay and will be back sometime in the future. Didn't know there was a swimming pool area...

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieBee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Guest
Many thanks for your review & I am delighted that you had the opportunity to stay with us during your visit to Ireland. I do hope you have the opportunity to visit again & we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Many Thanks
Miss Deborah Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Came to Ireland for a friends wedding and didn't know where to stay. Booked through late rooms.com. We wanted one with a pool and near to shops etc. So glad we picked this hotel as probably the best hotel we've stayed in and we are well travelled. Staff could not do more for you from receptionists to pool staff. Brekkie great, rooms huge, pool clean although be prepared to wear a funny swimming hat thats purchased for £1 each. We were only booked for 2 nights as we thought we would travel round but hotel so lovely we stayed the next two nights also and just had to travel furhter in the car to visit other places. The hair dryer in the room was good and there was also an iron and ironing board. There was also the well needed kettle and tea/coffee etc. We didn't use the restaurant on site so cant comment as we went out exploring alot and ate out but it looked lovely. All in all I would definitely reccommend this hotel to everyone, however Northern Ireland itself I was not that keen on due to the rain and in my opinion there was not much to see and do except Giants Causeway. But for us the hotel was perfect!!!

Room Tip: Front rooms - we had room 107 overlooking the canal (and unfortunatley the bus station - cant have i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jellybean186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Guest
Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you with us and I will ensure your kind comments are shared with the team. I am sorry that the weather was not kind to you during your stay but if you do have the opportunity to revisit we would love to have you staying with us & will provide you with information on many great trips and places to visit in the surrounding areas.
Hoping to have you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Miss Deborah Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We booked the Canal Court at the last minute for my birthday as they had an offer on. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left the service and attitude of staff was first class. We were given a room upgrade as it was my birthday complete with jacuzzi bath. The room was large and luxurious and the bed extremely comfortable. The meal was part of our deal and the staff were lovely, with the general manager even taking the time to come over and speak to us personally. After our meal, the staff brought out a complimentary dessert, complete with candle singing happy birthday, and the general manager showed us personally to the cocktail bar, where we enjoyed the ambience of this bar and exquisite the cocktails they had to offer. The hotel is beautiful, the staff are fantastic, and can't do enough for you. The hotel is well situated, only a very short walk from the two main shopping centres and shopping area. I had eaten there only a week previous to my birthday and the meal on that occasion was first class, and the meal on this occasion, if anything was better. It is a long time since I have had as good a meal. The restaurant was extremely busy, but everything ran like clockwork and staff gave us their full attention. This is one hotel that I will definitely be returning to, not only to stay over, but just for a night out as their food is fantastic. We have also been to a few weddings in this hotel, and it is THE place to go. Thank you again Canal Court - keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie97au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeborahNewry, General Manager at Canal Court Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2011

Dear Julieanne
Many thanks for reviewing your recent stay with us and I am delighted you had an enjoyable Birthday Celebration. It was a pleasure to have you with us & we do hope you have the opportuinity to stay again. If I can ever be of any assistance please do not hesitate to contact me at anytime on dferguson@canalcourthotel.com.

Kind Regards
Miss Deborah Ferguson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.6 km away
Mourne Country Hotel
8.5 km away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#2 of 8 in Dundalk
741 reviews
17.3 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
331 reviews
22 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dundalk
16.1 km away
Ballymascanlon House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal Court Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal Court Hotel & Spa

Address: Merchant's Quay, Newry BT35 8HF, Northern Ireland (Formerly Canal Court Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: €100 - €174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Canal Court Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning 4* Canal Court Hotel & Spa nestled in the heart of Newry City and sits on the banks of Ireland's Oldest Manmade Canal. The Canal Court Hotel and Spa is a proud Irish hotel with an emphasis on service and tradition. The hotel boasts 112 bedrooms including a Penthouse Suite, Superior and Ambassador Suites along with family suites and standard bedrooms. All rooms have private safes & suites have Jacuzzi baths & mini bars with air conditioning in most rooms throughout the hotel. Wheelchair accessible rooms are available as well. The hotel boasts the award winning CC Spa with a full range of Spa / Beauty treatments available using the Germaine de Cappucini Product range. Along-side CC Spa is our Leisure Complex with a full 20m swimming pool studios and full gym with a full strength and conditioning area. The Granary Bar has numerous outlets to it including our Mezzanine Cocktail bar, our Gin Bar and our local Craft Beer Bar with live music every Friday, Saturday and Sunday (FREE Entry). For a more relaxing drink, we have the Merchants Bar with views over the Canal and fountains. For dining, you will never go hungry at the Canal Court Hotel with a number of dining options / outlets to choose from including our Old Mill Restaurant with a strong focus on local, Irish produce and fresh ingredients. The Old Mill is open for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with an Early Bird served 7 days a week 5.30pm to 7pm. We also have the Granary Bar and Grill which serves our legendary Carvery 7 days a week from 12 noon and Bar Food served everyday from 3.30pm. We also serve traditional afternoon tea 7days a week - no booking required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Canal Court Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canal Court Newry
Hotel Canal Court
Canal Court Hotel Newry
Canal Court Hotel & Spa Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing