We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mourne Country Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Reviewed 19 March 2010

The Staff are rude and abrupt.
There is no service at all.

Do yourself a favour. Book somewhere else.

No website. How can a Hotel work without a website???

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank eco_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed in the Mourne Country Hotel for one night on the way back from Belfast. The cost was £90 which was steep enough. The hotel isn't attractive looking and was very dark when we got there. The first thing that struck you about the room was the smell........like visiting an elderly relatives house where they are too old to properly look after the place anymore. The elderly theme was continued by the old fashioned curtains and bedcoverings, a cheap 1970's wardrobe and dated bathroom. The bed and the towels weren't clean. We went back to reception to complain about the disconnect between the steep price and the awful room. The unfriendly staff member offered to include our breakfast in the room price! No remote control for the TV, no do not disturb sign. This is an awful hotel and the worst one which we have ever stayed in in Ireland. It is totally over-priced and if you paid £40 for the room, you still would feel ripped off. Avoid this hotel at all costs.....you'd be better off camping in the car park

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colin1977l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

This hotel is horrible, it is very outdated, freezing and shabby. I would not go here again. It is wildly overpriced. The only good things I can say are it has a convenient location and you can always get a room at the last minute which is not suprising. Unfortunately a lot needs to be done to this hotel to make it good value for the price they charge.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lassieloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2009

It was the worst night we have ever had, it was the coldest place in Ireland, the place was like a fridge. £100. for the night, the ballroom was very cold, no heat at all.. the bedroom was very cold, had to use the bedding from the other bed and sleep with my clothes on. no hot water in the bathroom next morning !!.
when I complained, they reduced the £100 to £70, looking back I should have refused to pay , it was not worth £ 70,
never again.
JPS, Co Antrim

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josephsexton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2008

Excellent food, in pleasant surroundings. Really busy place with lots of atmosphere on a Saturday evening - Country Western Bands in the function room - residents get a small concession.
Staff were very helpful and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CloverBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newry
5.6 km away
Canal Court Hotel & Spa
14.1 km away
Carrickdale Hotel
Carrickdale Hotel
#3 of 8 in Dundalk
733 reviews
17.0 km away
Bannville House Hotel
Bannville House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Banbridge
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
The Whistledown Hotel
The Whistledown Hotel
#1 of 3 in Warrenpoint
330 reviews
13.7 km away
Belmont Hotel
Belmont Hotel
#3 of 3 in Banbridge
97 reviews
23.0 km away
Ramada Resort Dundalk
Ramada Resort Dundalk
#5 of 8 in Dundalk
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mourne Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mourne Country Hotel

Address: 52 Belfast Road, Newry BT34 1TR, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Newry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Newry
Price Range: €90 - €106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mourne Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Mourne Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mourne Country Newry
Mourne Country Hotel Newry, Northern Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing