We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Tewitfield, Carnforth, Lancaster District, Lancashire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
salveGlou...
Gloucestershire
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Location”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location on a now unnavigable section of the Lancaster to Kendal canal lots of wildlife on your doorstep literaly. (woke up to rabbits on the doorstep several times & Swans & Cygnets at the wharf).Great views from the kitchen and upstairs bedrooms. Great base for exploring the lakes., Very peaceful and no immediate neighbours. Visited for a family holiday with our adult son and daugter and their respective partners plus our 6 month old grandaughter and our dog. Local Butcher in Burton very good. Aldi Booths and Tesco supermarkets a short drive away. Good local walks along the canal tow path. Cottage well equiped and very clean. Only downside was that the washing machine was not working. Very prompt response by the owner via phone & text but problem not fixed before we left which was a bit of a pain when we had a 6 month old and all the attendant washing that brings, plus most of the adults had only packed 3 daysworth of clothes.

we particularly appreciated the loosleaf file of lakeland walks in the kitchen very useful plus the maps

All things considered realy nice place to stay. We'd recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annie S
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sympathetically renovated period cottage in idyllic location”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Wharf Cottage is superb, in every sense! It sits, alone, on a now unnavigable section of the Lancaster Canal, with beautiful views all round. Peace and tranquillity reign here - sitting on the terrace, overlooking the canal, on a balmy summer's evening was bliss. And yet the cottage is very accessible to the M6, the A6 and other routes to many beautiful areas within Lancs/Cumbria.

Wharf Cottage is comfortable, homely, well-equipped and fantastic for a visit at any time of the year. It is warm and cosy, the shelves are lined with books and useful information about the area, and there are cupboards full of board games.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this holiday accommodation ... just book it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation and the location
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
brigg
Reviewed 16 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing