We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even in dicy weather, wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Even in dicy weather, wonderful experience”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We were at the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua for the first week in March, a week where the area saw more rain and high wind than it apparently had all year. But even with a few rainy days, the experience was wonderful. The staff at every point of the hotel was incredibly helpful and friendly. We took advantage of as much of their outdoor areas as possible and really enjoyed the beach and pool. We also loved the restaurants on site and within the Kapalua complex. And finally, the golf. Playing the Bay and Plantation courses and getting those breathtaking views of Moloka'i off in the distance was unforgettable.
We also took advantage of the Ritz's whale watching tour and were very happy with it. Not only did we see lots of humpbacks, but the guide from the Ritz sent us amazing pictures he took on our trip.
All in all, I wish we had been there during a little nicer weather, but the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua is a decadent, relaxing, impeccable spot for a Maui vacation.

Room Tip: For a longer stay, the residential suites were excellent. I would also suggest asking for a room on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKozey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,180
    648
    297
    139
    88
See reviews for
822
1,577
48
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Terrible weather while in Hawaii. One bright spot was we did club level. The staff was attentive, professional. They went out of their way. The food and drinks on club level were excellent. It was a great place to hang out during the monsoon like rain.

In general the Ritz Carlton was wonderful. Facility was beautiful, pools nice.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GEFromNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockford, IL
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This is a beautiful property with excellent service. I was surprised to see some peeling paint on the exterior of the building and public bathroom doors scratched and in need of repair.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom residence. Very nice large room except the kitchen was lacking. It is strange because it’s stocked with measuring and cooking utensils but the only cooking appliance is a small microwave. If there was a toaster oven versus the 4 slice toaster it would been helpful. There is only so much you can do with a small microwave.

Nice beach however it is a bit of a walk from the actual hotel. Also, the beach is public so there are no loungers or umbrellas. Do take advantage of the trail that extends out of the hotel in the residential area. Unbelievable beach views so take your camera!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teriw1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The Ritz in Kapalua is a great property with beautiful grounds. We were greeted with a necklace and a Mai Tai upon checkin. The property is low key and slightly secluded. I prefer properties with a little more activity, but this is a great place for a relaxing stay. The unfortunate part is that because of its location it is extremely windy and often cloudy, at least in the winter time. This alone would keep me from coming back this time of year. You have to walk quite a bit to get to the beach, but they do have golf carts that will take you down there. The service was good and everyone was very friendly.

There were lots of very pricey bars and restaurants to chose from, the best of which is The Banyan Tree. If you are looking for good Japanese food I recommend Sensei. It is just a short walk up the road and much better and cheaper than the Japanese restaurant at the hotel.

The property is very spread out, so it was a hike to get to my room. The rooms were large and the bathroom was very nice. The mattress wasn't my favorite and the air conditioner was extremely loud. Other than that it is a great property if you prefer a more secluded relaxing environment.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodlands, Tx
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

It was the perfect getaway. The Ritz is the ultimate experience and delivers the best of service. I will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyetraveler-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
1.1 km away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 32 in Lahaina
480 reviews
42.6 km away
Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
42.0 km away
Four Seasons
Four Seasons
#2 of 8 in Wailea
5,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
40.8 km away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
41.7 km away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
41.3 km away
Wailea Beach Resort – Marriott, Maui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761-9067 (Formerly The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing