We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant afternoon”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #11 of 21 Restaurants in Welwyn
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Whether you pop in for a scrumptious Sunday roast, a tempting dessert to satisfy your cravings for a sweet treat, or a celebratory meal with family and friends, you’re sure to find everything you need in The Red Lion. With its delicious menus, stylish yet comfortable interiors, and friendly atmosphere, you’ll be able to dine and indulge in the optimum style and comfort. Set outside Welwyn Garden City, just on the edge of Sherradspark Woods, the picturesque countryside setting adds yet another attractive dimension to this family orientated pub. Bursting with character and charm in every corner, whether you choose to drink or dine with us, you’re sure to leave with a smile in your face. We’re also a child friendly pub, so please feel free to bring your little ones along – they’ll love tucking into our dedicated children’s menu.
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Good to see Ghost Ship beer here. The meals were enjoyed by all 3 of us and it was nice to sit outside on a nice warm day.

Thank KevinRayment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Kevinrayment, we strive for 100% satisfaction, and it is great to see you had such a positive experience at The Red Lion, Welwyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 559 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

This place while not over generous has always been consistent but I'm very disappointed with today's visit.
My son had one tiny slice of pork with his child's roast. This is for kids upto 11. He is ten not a toddler. Not really good enough.

My roast had two tiny slices of meat. Incidentally the meat was over cooked and dry.

My daughter had 3 tiny slivers of chicken for her one wrap. And a bit of iceberg and a few carrot sticks.

Otherwise the food was fine but ended up ruining my evening. Thanks red lion!!!!

We have been many times previously but though not generous the chef has never been so mean before.

Very disappointed. Will try elsewhere from now on.

Thank UkMumof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Ukmumof2, it's upsetting to hear that you did not receive the top-notch service we strive to provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018

This was our first, BUT not the last visit to The Red Lion. The food was excellent as was The service by our waitress Carly. Carly has the right attitude towards customers, friendly and welcoming. We were a party of six but did not wait too long to receive our
food, which was well presented. They also have a full vegan menu. .I would suggest if
visiting on a Saturday it would be advisable to book, as when we arrived at 7:30pm the
restaurant was very busy.

Thank ivanholder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Ivanholder, thank you for the high star rating!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

We met up with my brother at a small, yet popular gastro-pub. The menu was small and unique as were the portion sizes (small) and tastes (unique twists on traditional English fare).

If you go you have to try the sticky-toffee-pudding. There are also fresh apples in the parking lot and a sign saying no climbing the trees.

Thank SPMurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Hi Spmurphy! We're so happy we were able to help you out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Took Mum for dinner - to be fair have eaten here before - and it was a very nice visit then - felt genuinely welcomed again - nice table - busy vibrant country pub - very nice spread of choice on the menus - staff attentive polite and professional - food well above average - from our visit would recommend a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bobthedog2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Hi Bobthedog2017, thank you so much for your positive comments about The Red Lion, Welwyn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
 
Welwyn Garden City, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
St Albans, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing