We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food”
Review of The North Star

The North Star
Ranked #11 of 21 Restaurants in Welwyn
Price range: US$20 - US$33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Enjoy Seriously Relaxed Dining in Welwyn in this great pub that's been part of the McMullen family since 1936. Dine alfresco when the sun favours or by the fire when it doesn't, share moments in the private dining area or relax in this genteel rural town retreat. We serve daily changing seasonal specials, hand selected and personally tested (a tough day that was!) Fine wines, craft real ales, ethical coffee and Sunday roasts a speciality! The team look forward to seeing you soon. James Manager
Reviewed 19 June 2018

family meal out very good food and service, clean and tidy and worth a visit. friendly staff all in all a good place to eat at.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jaygee_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarWelwyn, Assistant Manager at The North Star, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

jaygee_11

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your comments and I will make sure I pass them on to the rest of the team,

we hope to see you again soon,

Kind regards,

Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2018

Nice pub lovely garden and cheap grub !! Called in for an evening meal. Staff friendly and food portions good. Worth a visit if your passing that direction

Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarWelwyn, Assistant Manager at The North Star, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Nancy C,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are all so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and I will pass on your comments to the team,

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future,

Kind Regards,

Tasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Starters were OK, nothing too difficult in serving crayfish tails doused in Marie-rose sauce. Mains were overcooked, some returned and then the returned dishes were of a poor quality. You should never be served roast potatoes that are all black! Carrots, broccoli and beans had been cooked to within an inch of their life and no doubt kept warm for hours - my condolences to the farmers who grew them. Two plates of cauliflower cheese were served, one barely cooked, the other blackened.

Totally underwhelming. Zero quality control. Slow, slow service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank royal618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarWelwyn, Assistant Manager at The North Star, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

royal618,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit with us, please email us on northstar.welwyn@mcmullens.co.uk if you would like to discuss these issues further,

we do hope to welcome you back again so that we can restore your faith in us,

kind regards,

Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018 via mobile

Came here with friends and family for a meal the food was brilliant! However the staff are very rude, i believe it has changed over hands since i visited before as all new staff working! Not sure what her name was but she was wearing a head band or a bandana we came here for dinner and asked us to take a seat and she would bring very thing over for us. Was sitting for a good 15 minutes then i went over to her and asked for some menus and she apologised for the wait took our drinks then once we was ready to order 3 of us wanted the seafood pie which they had ran out of ‘good communication skills that is’ once we had ordered the food came which was lovely! she took our plates didn’t offer us desserts or more drinks so we got up and paid ourselves even though it’s ment to be ‘table service’. We will return to the north star hopefully she won’t be working that day!

1  Thank t0nyburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarWelwyn, Assistant Manager at The North Star, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

t0nyburke,

We do apologise for the experience you had and we will be addressing these issues. we would also like to apologise for selling out of the seafood pie, all of our food is subject to availability as we cook everything fresh, unfortunately if a dish is of high demand one day we can run out of these items, but it was lovely to see that you enjoyed the meals that you did have.

we do hope to see you again in the future

kind regards,

Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Was in search of a lovely Country pub to enjoy the nice weather and fell across this place. Situated just off the main road towards Welwyn, this pub us easy to get to and has lots of parking space.

Typically Tudor in style but with a modern and bright interior.

There is a huge garden area with table and chairs. Some with umbrellas or covered by the outside decking. This pub is also dog friendly which is great, especially at the weekend. This pub caters for families but also was big enough not to feel overcrowded.

There is a main menu as well as a Sunday menu catering for those coming on the weekend and wishing to get a Roast. I opted for the vegetarian option which was a nut roast, and was simply delightful. The food is reasonably priced and the portions are substantial. Starters average around £6 and mains are about £10-£13

The inside has a good country feel and is also fresh and clean. There are booths as well as a selection of tables and various seating areas.
In the nice weather, the area outside is idea to have a drink and food.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There is table service also which is nice and unexpected for a pub such as this, which was a nice touch.

Food was served relatively quickly and I would certainly recommend coming here if you are looking for a pub with a nice friendly vibe with great food and service.

Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStarWelwyn, Assistant Manager at The North Star, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2018

Hi Chris D,

Thank you for such a lovely review, we pride ourselves here on our food and customer service. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and we will be sure to pass your comments on to the team. we hope to welcome you back in the future!

Kind Regards,
Natasha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The North Star also viewed

Hitchin, Hertfordshire
Woolmer Green, Hertfordshire
 
Knebworth, Hertfordshire
Woolmer Green, Hertfordshire
 
Watton at Stone, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The North Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing