We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Dive Centre”
Review of Aliwal Dive Centre

Aliwal Dive Centre
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Umkomaas
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer some of the most exciting scuba diving in the World, here on Aliwal Shoal. Dive with Ragged Tooth Sharks, Tiger Sharks and Manta Rays, Dolphins and Whale Sharks. Enjoy our great South African hospitality at Aliwal Dive Lodge and further your Dive education at our PADI 5* Instructor Development Centre. When you choose Aliwal Dive Centre for your South African diving adventure, you can rest assured that our professional and dedicated team will have one aim in mind, to ensure you have a holiday of a lifetime.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Good quality and you feel safe all the time. Jacques the instructor is very dedicated and he knows a lot about diving and the sea. He will make you feel comfortable, at ease and he always has everything under control.
Definitely recommended. We are not giving a 5-star only because this place also offers a B&B and compared to other options in the area, rooms and breakfasts are a bit too expensive for what you get.

Thank cristina.lussiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasieAckermann, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the good review! Really appreciate it and we are very happy that you enjoyed your experience with us. Stay safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dive centre"
in 9 reviews
"great diving"
in 8 reviews
"these guys"
in 8 reviews
"friendly staff"
in 5 reviews
"via email"
in 3 reviews
"diving companies"
in 2 reviews
"recommend this place"
in 2 reviews
"for safety reasons"
in 2 reviews
"work hard"
in 2 reviews
"shark cage diving"
in 2 reviews
"spent nights"
in 2 reviews
"b b"
in 2 reviews
"world renowned"
in 2 reviews
"well taken care"
in 2 reviews
"mid afternoon"
in 2 reviews
"his wife"
in 2 reviews
"felt perfectly safe"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

And we are back! Because this is the only place to dive when you are visiting Aliwal Shoal. Friendly and professional people, making sure we have fun, feel safe and feeding us food. Thank you for years of hospitality

Thank adeleo590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasieAckermann, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

.... and it is nice having you back Adele and Kobus!! As luck would have it you missed the best day(Sunday) in between your other days.. :-( .....but that is Murphy!
Lekker om julle weer te sien! Dankie vir die great review - tot volgende keer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

Aliwal shoal continues to reward and surprise me. What great dives we had over the 3 days. Plenty of fish life and numerous wales on each dive. Unfortunately no sighting during the dive but the "music" was awesome.
Ragigies, black and white tip reef sharks galore.
Interesting how Aliwal management stood in for a casualty from another dive charter that seemd to be afraid of their reputation. Great thumps up for management that put the dignity of people first.
Staff as always professional and seems to enjoy what they are doing. Never is anything to much to ask or they assist and help to make the weekend special

Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasieAckermann, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thanks Jan - very impressed that you wrote this review. Really appreciate it.
Yes it was an unfortunate and sad incident that the other dive operator had but we all stand together when needed.
We are happy you had a good weekend with us - we'll see you soon again to repeat it.
Till then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

The staff is amazing, the rooms are nice, it has a very cosy and homie atmosphere. The dive instructors are the best! We got our open water here and charl was our dive instructor. He made us feel safe. Charlie who dove with us too was very enthusiastic and sweet. The breakfast is really good and they've helped us when i had an ear problem. They waited and helped me to a good diving doctor and this made me able to dive anyway and be able to have my dream come true. Very safe and awesome diving! And all in all a memorable stay!

1  Thank FionaSharks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasieAckermann, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

This is great news - it makes us happy to get good feedback like this. Just happy we could get your ear sorted and keep you in the water! We really appreciate you taking the time to do this amazing review - Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

I booked everything last minute with ADC through Clare&Danielle via email, and they were very patient answering all my questions and giving me tips of how to travel and what to expect.

The lodging is clean, spacious and Close to the beach.

The dives we went on were some of the best I’ve ever experienced; saw many different sharks, some turtles, a few whales and lots of beautiful fish. Basie, Michael, Keith, Charlie and Shawl were great ( especially Michael, very polite and helpful ).

Will return when possible. Highly recommend any dives with ADC , you won’t be disappointed.

Thank T K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BasieAckermann, Owner at Aliwal Dive Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Hi Tina - only a pleasure!! Appreciate you writing a great review even after all the joking!
Happy you've enjoyed your stay and dives here and seeing that you get staff airfares we will see you again soon I hope? Keep well!!
P.S - Don't worry to much about the spelling of Charl.. :-) :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aliwal Dive Centre also viewed

 
Umkomaas, KwaZulu-Natal
Umkomaas, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Aliwal Dive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing