We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Alpasion Lodge(Los Sauces)
US$339
US$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$461
US$410
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Finca Ogawa(Los Sauces)
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fuente Mayor(Vista Flores)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 04/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$181
US$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Alquimia(Los Sauces)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Hotel Tunuyan(Tunuyan)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (235)
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
197
26
6
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
197
26
6
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssiete fuegosvines resortfrancis mallmannfire pitwine tastingliving roomhorseback rideuco valleybreathtaking viewsstunning hotelhotel is locatedmendoza airportworld classwonderful staffprivate vineyardacres and acresfive star hotel
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile





The location, the views, the rooms and the Wine of Mendoza vineyard are spectacular. We thoroughly enjoyed 4 nights of the relaxed environment and tranquility, interjected by the frog chorus! Lorenzo at the vineyard is superb and educated and fascinated us with his knowledge about wine.



However, in our opinion, this is not a Resort or Spa and the service levels are not five star, in comparison to what you experience in Europe and Asia, and expect at these prices. There are very few staff here (one waitress to serve everyone at dinner - who is fabulous) and most are inexperienced. We have met the manager once, but he is not visible.



If they want to attract international guests then they need to decide what they are and what they offer. Its a very long way to come to just taste wine and relax in your room, when we can do that at amazing places in Europe.



The Vines is really a Club House for the vine owners. We had the pleasure of sharing the Siete Fuegos with several owners and learnt much from them. The impression that the hotel gives is that they are the priority. Expertly put together wine tasting programes and anything they want is arranged for them in advance. Some of them were quite shocked that the experience is very different for guests with no affiliation to The Vines.



On arrival, after the 20 hour journey from the UK, we were welcomed and swiftly taken to our villa. There is no information in the villa at all. No details about meal times, activities, room service. We called reception and after several conversations it was clear that the staff on duty had assumed we would come back to reception to get a drink and food and they would explain everything to us then. This is typical of the service we have experienced over the past few days. We have had to request, ask and pull information from the front of house team, who are all very friendly and always willingly do as they are asked but don't have the knowledge to advise

We tried to arrange a programme of activities before our arrival and took the advice our agents passed on from the hotel, to make arrangements upon arrival. We quickly established that we had not been put on the list for the Siete Fuegos. Had our agent not alerted us that we had a dinner, a massage and a wine tasting included in our booking, then it is unlikely the hotel would have mentioned it. We asked for details of all the wine tours (a print out of the web site) and went away to do our own research. Luckily, we choose to do a wine blending session at The Vines winery first, which was excellent and Lorenzo made the suggestions as to other wineries to visit and where to eat.

the underground Spa, that is mentioned in some web sites, and was due to open in 2015 has never been built- the half built remains can be seen near to the gym. There are limited treatments offered in one of the villas that has been converted and is now referred to as the “spa”. Similarly, the pictures on the Vines web site showing yoga outdoors are misleading. They could have arranged something for us in our room but at USD80 per person per session, it was of no interest. They did, however, provide yoga mats which was helpful.



The Vines is a spectacular place for a couple of nights to visit the wine region and there are large US tour groups doing exactly that, where the hotel is part of a wine tour package. They need to be honest that this is not a place yet for people who are looking to combine wine with a spa and wellbeing programme.



We have had a lovely time, we are relaxed and have great memories, but we would not recommend friends to make the long journey from the UK, unless they are coming specifically for the wine. This is a very special location, so we do hope that the hotel continues to invest and becomes all that it promises to be - but it really isn't there at the moment.





Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

I enjoyed my stay. Contemporary elegance in lobby, bar and casitas. Mountain views and food outstanding. I hope that management takes the rest of this review was my sincere attempt at constructive criticism because I really found all the staff, drivers and guides to be very engaged and sincerely wanting to help. I really liked everyone! My general feeling is that while the staff possesses the proper attitude, they don't seem particularly well trained. Arranging activities both before our arrival, upon arrival and during our was quite unclear. Information about the nature of our activities and outside restaurant reservations was sparse. Language differences a possibility. The bar personnel were exceptionally pleasant, but particularly slow. Our beautiful suite had cobwebs in the corners of the shower. The shower design resulted in a lot of water splashing out onto the floor of the bathroom. The fragrances of the bathroom toiletries were very strong. I am a little sensitive to fragrances and I sneezed a lot while in the room.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to fragrances, ask for alternate toiletries. Also in that regard, the cowhide furniture had my wife sneezing.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ItsAllGood_49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017

One of the those resorts to visit, relax, eat well and drink great wine. The view of the Andes and the hotel's surroundings is magical. Rooms are large, with nice rustic decor and yet cozy. Next time will book the room next to the pond with large balcony with fireplace and hot tub. Worth the stay especially as a couple or with friends.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017

I'm conscious that most visitors seem to have a great time here, so our rather negative experiences may not be typical. We also went out of season (spring) and perhaps we'd have had a better time later in the year.

Let's start however with a positive: the villas are great. Luxurious, well equipped, comfortable, with great views on the right days. No complaints, beyond a few light bulbs not replaced.

Sadly, that's the only positive. The most important negative is the discrepancy between the reality of staying four nights here and the impression given by the website. Or by television programmes such as that featuring the John Torode visit.

As others have reported, you're only going to experience the Siete Fuegos asado if you come on a Saturday or possibly a Wednesday - and only then if there are enough other guests to make it worthwhile. Otherwise you just get a pretty standard restaurant. See my review under Siete Fuegos.

Beware of coming out of season, too, because you may find many facilities unavailable. No swimming pool, for example. We weren't told this during the six months we planned this trip through emails with the Vines concierge. We weren't told either about the frogs that take over the site in spring and that jump into outside tubs and that leave frog spawn In the water.

You may even find that you're told that no breakfast buffet has been prepared because there aren't enough guests to justify it. But they'll prepare anything you like. Except English tea, because that's run out. And so has fruit other than tangerines, oranges or kiwi.

And then there's the service, from a team of staff most of whom have barely been there any time and who are struggling. Struggling so much that three members of staff approached me individually to talk about their problems. One asked me to complain, because he couldn't get the local management to listen. One told me that when they had started they had been warned that they would have to cope with unhappy guests.

There's a lot more I could say. About six months of emails emphasising the wine trips we'd like to undertake and the need for us to have tours in English (which are readily available at most wineries) only to be sent to a Spanish tour. But then this is a food ad wine destination where they don't have a single champagne stopper on site. Where they don't know the difference between an expresso and a cappuccino (I am not joking).

Whatever else this may be it's not a destination for food and wine lovers.

I give up at this point, as we did after several email and phone conversations with the manager and the owner we did get some compensation and a written apology but frankly it wasn't enough.

Very sad. We built our trip around this destination and at the price it should have been a great experience. Instead, we are left wondering why we had such a bad experience compared to others who have been.

A final note: whilst I accept that, wherever posted, reviews of The Vines are generally very positive, note that there are at least three Trip Advisor sites covering this destination.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank MontrachetJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2017

Probably one of the finest hotels in South America. Expect a luxury resort where rooms are private villas with Andes mountains views right in front. Top facilities, fine decoration, cozy bathrooms... all is great.
Common areas: a must-visit restaurant, managed by celebrity chef Francis Mallmann, where you can taste fine Argentinian meats and wines. Great bar, and amazing outdoor pool. This place is simply a destination itself, somewhere to disappear and to enjoy every single moment in it. Totally recommendable when visiting Argentina.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews