We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view of the environment and extremly friendly hosts”
Review of Mulvarra House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mulvarra House
Ranked #1 of 1 St Mullins B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

For various unavoidable reasons we arrived at Mulvarra House only at 22:15 h in the evening, but although the ordinary check-in time is between 16-19 h, the owner Tim warmly welcomed us and showed full understanding. The next morning we were able to enjoy the awesome view from the balconies of our rooms. It is absolutely fantastic!
For breakfast we had the choice between various offers. Everything was freshly prepared and served by Linda, Tim's wife, who was extremly attentive, polite and friendly.
We enjoyed the stay at Mulvarra House very much and will surely return, if we plan another trip to Ireland.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Katrin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, Owner at Mulvarra House, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thanks for staying with us, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay! We will hopefully see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2017

Linda and Tim greeted my family upon arrival. They were very warm, hospitable and welcoming. Room was ensuite and very clean. Plenty of hot water, clean towels. The view from the room (with small porch/deck off room) was gorgeous overlooking the River Barrow. Great sightseeing, cafe down by river and pub up on top. Mulvarra is about 40 minutes outside beautiful Kilkenny. It's a perfect location. Spend your day in Kilkenny then get away from the tourist hordes in St. Mullins. Highly recommended. If we could we'd go back yearly! Linda and Tim, best of luck this Fall and our warmest regards, Joe, Dee and Gabby Healy

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, Owner at Mulvarra House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

It was lovely having you stay with us! And do please come back if you can, we would love to hear more about Portland (we can't rely on Portlandia now can we?)
Tim and Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We spent two days in Mulvarra House and Linda the new owner and host made it special. We enjoyed every minute. Great breakfast and dinners. From the room we had great view on the river and the valley below. We hope to come back one day. Thanks Linda!

Room Tip: All rooms upstairs has same view on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JacekB_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda H, Owner at Mulvarra House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Hi Jacek and Monika, apologies for the late response! I hope to see you back some day so you can meet Tim and we can have a lovely meal together.
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed for two nights. Excellent stay. Spectacular views over the river barrow. Breakfast was faultless. Wonderful hospitality. Handy for visiting local sights. Great walks along the quayside and river.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank johnston615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

We arrived late but the Owner was there to greet us and when she realized we were hungry produced cheese and crackers. The rooms were substantial, comfortable and warm. The views from my friends balconie were amazing looking down on the river Barrow. The whole atmosphere was one of relaxation with undulating lawns.
The Irish Breakfast was fresh and delicious. We were sorry to leave.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annacarlow, Owner at Mulvarra House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

Thank you for your wonderful review. So glad that you all enjoyed your stay at Mulvarra House. It was a pleasure to meet you and have you to stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Mulvarra House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulvarra House

Address: St Mullins, St Mullins, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > St Mullins
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in St Mullins
Price Range: €65 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mulvarra House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mulvarra House is owned and managed by Tim Dawson and his wife Linda Huskes. We offer both Bed & Breakfast accommodation, and body treatment facilities in the heart of beautiful and picturesque Ireland. We have a luxurious guest accommodation including a sitting room to relax in which includes a wide selection of books, board games, television, video and DVD. Tea and coffee facilities available. Wifi available to our guests. Mulvarra House is a beautiful private residence surrounded by mature gardens overlooking the River Barrow, situated in St. Mullins, Co. Carlow in the South East of Ireland. There are a number of local walks available including the towpath to Graiguenamanagh. This is the ideal base for touring the South East of Ireland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mulvarra House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing