We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveller rating
15
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
1
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 17 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We stayed at Pilleth Oaks B&B 18th -21st Feb 2017 as a base for touring around Presteigne and Knighton area. Stayed based on other good reviews and the place did not disappoint. Heather and Peter are good hosts and are very knowledgable about local places of interest and history. The site of one of Owain Glyndwr's battles is within spitting distance. The accommodation is superb - clean, very comfortable, traditional but modern. The house is only 17 years old but looks as if it's been there for years longer. Good breakfasts to start the day. There is great walking in the area but the highlight is the daily visits by the many birds that flock to the feeder on the terrace that overlooks the superb countryside. In half an hour we saw blue tits, long-tailed tits, coal tits, great tits, greenfinches, chaffinches, siskins, greater spotted woodpeckers, nuthatches, mallards, Canada geese, dunnocks, moorhens, buzzards etc.
Previous visitors include Dan and John Snow who were there a few years ago making a documentary about local history.
Will be back to stay again. Thanks to Heather and Peter.

Stayed: February 2017
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2016

The rooms were very comfortable - nice touches like binoculars to make the most of the views. Breakfast was excellent - ingredients were fresh and tasty and the muesli was the best I've had.
The setting is amazing - we were able to walk straight out of the door into the beautiful Welsh countryside and listening to the sheep as you lie in bed in the morning was so relaxing.
The problems getting a signal to watch TV were balanced by watching a woodpecker just outside the conservatory window as we ate breakfast!

Room Tip: The room at the back has wonderful views
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janey173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Clean, warm and tidy rooms which was great but the lady owner didn't seem to like the fact that we were working in Knighton when the work could have gone to 'locals'. She made that quite clear as we left ! The breakfast was great but no WIFI as the line was down and there was no mobile network due to the property being in a valley. Value for money just as long you aren't working in the area and being out of towners !!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rus d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We stayed at the Pilleth Oaks as we were attending a wedding in the area. Heather kindly agreed to let us check in early so we had somewhere to change. The house from the outside is beautiful and when you walk in it just feels homely. We stayed in the Blue room which was gorgeous and the view from our balcony was breath taking. I only wish we'd had more time to really appreciate the surrounding. Breakfast the next morning was delicious. A perfect place as a base to explore the surrounding areas. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vicxantrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2015

This is our third visit to this fantastic bed and breakfast accommodation set on a beautiful hillside with fantastic views across the lake. Heather and Peter make you very welcome, and all the rooms are nicely decorated and have all the things you need. The breakfast was lovely with plenty of choices to set you up for the day. we will be returning very soon.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank charleyfarleyAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews