We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$724
Expedia.comUS$683
PricelineUS$804
Orbitz.comUS$683
TravelocityUS$683
eDreamsUS$724
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
178 results
Traveller rating
143
21
5
3
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
143
21
5
3
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mr gore tapas plunge pool lunch and dinner rum punch watch the sunset nespresso machine shirley heights nonsuch bay fish sister resort other guests wardrobe space set the tone late checkout pool area is small location is beautiful
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 178 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2021

This hotel was overall great, very clean and took COVID very seriously while trying to provide the best experience for their guests.

Recommendations for couples: Get the bayside view rooms (its worth the price!), Rent a car it will save you A LOT of money on taxi's (like $300-400 worth), don't assume that the staff have had a chance to talk to one another to relay your requests - be patient and explain your request to each staff member that you meet at the front desk as they are juggling a lot of guests,

Pros: great gourmet food, great restaurant service (Maxine, Carl and Niasha were amazing and took care of us from DAY 1!), supportive/helpful staff, clean hotel

Cons: drinks were inconsistent - tasted very different every time you ordered the same drink, you have to wait out in the sun for your COVID test, expensive taxis that were inconsistent in price vs. distance costs (get a rental car!), staff is not forthcoming with recommendations - if we didn't ask about things in detail, we didn't get the full picture of things and missed out on some opportunities/decisions.

Room tip: Book the bayview, totally worth it!
Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyuzma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tameka Ferris, Guest Services / Front Office at Escape at Nonsuch Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2021

Hello ladyuzma,

Thanks for your 4 star review and for noting that your overall visit was great!

We are happy that you were able to feel safe while holidaying with us and would also like to thank you for adhering to our covid protocols during your visit. Also, we have noted your cons and will seek to address.


Thanks again for your review. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Tameka
Front of House Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2021 via mobile

I don’t know where to start!! Everything about this resort is amazing! The rooms with a private plunge pool and soaking tub on your deck are so romantic! The food - bfast, lunch, pool bites, and dinner - was so delicious and had several options to choose from. We were there 6 nights and never saw the same food on the menus. You picked your times for lunch and dinner and never once did we not get our choice. Drinks are served with meals and also at the pool bar. None of this amazingness would matter though if the service wasn’t good, and let me just say it was 5 ++++ Stars!!! It didn’t seem like they knew the word no. Some went above and beyond (which is so much higher than the standard) but ALL the staff was exceptional. Everyone seemed pleased that you were there and happy to get you whatever you needed. We have traveled the world and the service and the feeling of being pampered was the best I have had to date!!
Now let me talk about the amenities....
Keep in mind this is during Covid, so some things were different than normal times. The Escape side has a main pool, including plenty of lounge chairs, a bar and seating area, and it’s connected to the restaurant where you eat your meals. The pool area is very pretty and while we were there, never had more than 3 couples at a time hanging around. Very easy to space out. There was never a “line” to wait for ordering or getting drinks. We got drinks several times to go - for the beach, other side of the resort, and room. The restaurant is spacious and never seemed crowded - again very easy to space out and feel safe. There are three private docks with lounge seats below the restaurant where we sat several times with drinks to watch the sunset, just to have a different view than the amazing ones from our pool in our room. You can also set up a free boat ride over to Green Island with the receptionist - usually offered 2-3 times a day. We ended up going twice on our 6 night stay. Plan ahead though bc the driver is not there every day. We hung out on one side where all the yachts were parked one day and snorkeled on the other side the other day. I could have easily gone every day! It’s very peaceful and beautiful. We also went over to the other main side of the resort two days. During Covid this all seems almost completely shut down, with hardly anyone around. It had our favorite infinity edge pool overlooking a bigger more open bay. There was no service going on so we brought our own towels and cups filled with drinks from the Escape side. The beach did have a lot of seaweed at the time we were there but it seemed like they were in the process of cleaning it up. We still enjoyed lounging in the ample beach chairs with gorgeous palms swaying above us. We were the only ones there.
The receptionist has limited tours to offer, ones that are certified to still be open during Covid. Keep in mind, if they do not offer hotel pick up/ drop off, it can be an extra $80 for a cab round trip. This was really the only negative we found during our entire stay. We heard a few other guests doing the swim with the stingrays that was nearby and they seemed to really enjoy it. No extra costs for a cab. We opted to rent a car for the day for $120 and we planned our own excursion. They drive on the left and you do have to dodge some potholes to avoid a flat tire, but we had a wonderful 9 hours of driving completely around the island, stopping at several beaches.
You are not on the ocean when you stay at NonSuch Bay Escape, and we did wonder if maybe we had missed out by that. But after touring the island and comparing the romance, amenities, and service at NonSuch Bay Escape - we decided we had made the right choice!
Another tip - you can get a short cab ride over to Half Moon Bay for a beautiful ocean view and nearly secluded beach.
We highly recommend coming here! I cannot imagine any reason not to!!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank T6352BQchristophers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tameka Ferris, Guest Services / Front Office at Escape at Nonsuch Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2021

Hello T6352BQchristophers,

Thanks for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 6 night visit with us. Lovely to see you were able to enjoy the resort and a bit of the island too!

It was a pleasure looking after you both and we grateful for your high recommendation. Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

Best,

Tameka
Front of House Team Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021

We really enjoyed our time at Nonsuch Bay! The rooms are beautiful and the staff is super friendly. There was not one meal that we did not enjoy!! For Covid testing back to the US it is important to note that these are only free from the hotel on Mondays and Thursdays. We were not made aware of this, so unfortunately we had to pay $175/pp, but the hotel made it right with us, which really made us value the management. This is an all inclusive hotel, but not 24/7 and room service is an extra charge. Overall we had a wonderful trip and we would go back!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 799baileyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2021 via mobile

Sadly a few things.
The mini fridge only has 2 waters and didnt get refilled for our next night.
There was no hot water, which meant a cold bath or slightly warm shower.
The pool being in the shade all day doesn't get very warm unfortunately.
The main pool area is neglected and deck chair cushions are always off chairs, towels a mess in the corner and only one floating bed for the pool.
No service at all around the pool. You need to go get your own drinks at the bar.
Service was lacking, we ordered drinks a few times at meal times and after waiting 25 minutes or more we went and got our own drinks at the bar.
Kyakas are missing the seats, so not very comfortable. Also only one double kayak so if anyone else wants to go they would have to wait.
We were informed it was all Inclusive, but I had 2 extra charges I was not informed about.
The printer in the reception ran out of ink, so they couldn't print the receipt for me, which is fine, but extra charges where not informed.
The bar is also a bit small for the resort and the tiny 1 use plastic cups for drinks are a bit pathetic, I recommend a cooler or bigger hard plastic glasses they can reuse.
Rooms at the bottom only have garden view, I would recommend this be put on the website. Not all rooms have sea views.

The positives are the room was beautiful and the food was great.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Neal Richards, General Manager at Escape at Nonsuch Bay Antigua, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2021

Hello Kate,

Thank you for sharing valuable feedback. We are terribly sorry to hear that we did not meet all of your expectations during your visit. It's gratifying to know that you found the room to be beautiful and the food great. Guest satisfaction is of paramount importance at The Escape, hence we are honestly committed to ensuring that we continue to get better in the areas where we might have "fallen short".

Once again, we sincerely apologize. Please do consider visiting with us again in the future.

Respectfully,

O'Neal
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2021 via mobile

We absolutely loved our romantic vacation at Escape. Our room had a stupendous view of the bay with amazing sunsets nightly. Who wouldn’t love the mini pool on our private terrace..... perfect for skinny dipping! The waitstaff was very friendly and attentive. My boyfriend & I love walking which we were able to do ..... 10 minute walk to the beach. Then we would kayak daily...... total fun with a breathtaking view. My sweetheart gave me this fabulous vacation as a gift.... he rocks!!! Also, I highly recommend taking the free 15 minute boat ride to Green Island. Snorkeling with sea turtles is always a pleasure. You won’t be disappointed with the cuisine at the only restaurant..... delicious! Plus, if your vacillating between which entree to order, they will serve you BOTH! The bartender makes pina colada’s that are phenomenal! I even took one “ to go” for the ride back to the airport! The resort is meticulous. I’ve traveled to 77 countries..... you will not be disappointed with this lovely destination! Perfect for the pandemic!!!

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 238oscarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews