We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Top of Coom Ireland's Highest Pub
Open today: 12:00 - 00:00
Review Highlights
Top food at Top of Coom

We have just come from Top of Coom and will definitely be returning. It was very quite when we... read more

Reviewed 29 July 2023
minnihandbag
,
Macroom, Ireland
via mobile
Top class experience

Had a meal here with family and it really lived up to all the good things we had heard about this... read more

Reviewed 8 July 2023
Theiss111
Read all 43 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Reviews (43)
Filter reviews
43 results
Traveller rating
32
6
1
0
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
32
6
1
0
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 43 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2017

This is a pub I've always seen signs for and just never got around to visiting. But I finally took the plunge yesterday and took a 10min detour from my usual Cork - Kerry route.

The pub is very easy to find, and plenty of parking.

At 5:30pm on a Tuesday it was still fairly quiet (only one local, and one passing tourist). The pub is split into two, a lounge and a bar, both are very well done and are nice and modern looking. The lounge is very spacious even with a section with a pool table and dart board.

I had a pint of Guinness which was lovely, and had a good chat in the bar with the others there.

I'd love to see it a bit busier and next time will probably call in on a weekend for that reason.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank irishmysteryshopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

Having read all the reviews on here i can now see we were not the only ones who were attracted by a road sign advertising Ireland's highest pub claiming it was open.
Well, after a long and nice drive (at least the scenery was really good) we found the pub was closed. We stopped and got out of the car. As no soul was to be seen anywhere and the whole place looked totally abandoned we assumed they had closed down for good.
But from what they say online they are not???! Who knows. Wouldn't bother to make a detour of 25km again to find out if they are closed or not.
Very very strange!

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank ChMaAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Wonderful pub in a fab location with friendly, welcoming staff that are happy to give local knowledge of the area to tourists such as myself. It seemed to be either a new build or recently renovated as it was a nice clean modern building but with the traditional Irish feel to it. We stopped off after cycling the ginormous mountain and it was such a delight to come across. Would recommend to all other ring of Kerry go-ers!

Date of experience: April 2017
Thank CK811
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

When we saw the sign for the "highest pub in Ireland " how could we resist!!!
The only reason I did not give it a 5 is that we were looking to have a bite and at present they have no restaurant
The owner explained that they had a fire and had to rebuild everything , her hope is to have a full kitchen again in the near future
Edith was lovely and we had nice chat while enjoying a quick beverage before heading on to Killarney

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank Traveller_Teej
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2016

When traveling between Cork and Kilarney (or vice versa), the Top of Coom is a fairly lengthy, twisty, but well worth it diversion from the main road. The Publican is a very charming fellow (as is his young son) who was more than happy to draw us a pint and to give us the local history.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank JWD1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews