We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Huge and Perfect”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gaer Hall

The approach to Gaer Hall.  Footpaths start at the end of our drive and you can walk to the 2 pubs.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The approach to Gaer Hall.  Footpaths start at the end of our drive and you can walk to the 2 pubs.
The driveway at Gaer Hall with uninterrupted views over the Breidden Hills and Rodney's Pillar Gaer Hall in all its' glory!  Croeso!  Welcome!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
The approach to Gaer Hall.  Footpaths start at the end of our drive and you can walk to the 2 pubs.
The driveway at Gaer Hall with uninterrupted views over the Breidden Hills and Rodney's Pillar
Gaer Hall in all its' glory!  Croeso!  Welcome!
Breakfast al fresco, lunch al fresco - bbq later? Perfect for a small wedding party
Our well equipped kitchen comes with a Rayburn and double electric oven and dishwasher
Our glorious kitchen.There's a table and chairs for kids' tea as well as the dining room itself.
The kitchen again, bags of room for the cooks and helpers! There's two fridges and freezers as well.
The ground floor lounge/diner with TV,woodburnerwith view to the hall where we have the pool table.
Ground floor double shown with 2 extra singles to make a family room with cot.
Ground floor single/small double with ensuite, ideal for those with mobility needs.
Ensuite bathroom with shower,part of the ground floor single/small double bedroom.  Bed converts.
Ground floor hall with pool table, cloaks with WC,laundry room and ensuite single/small double room
The Library bathed in sunlight July 2014.  No need for logs for the 2 woodburners this weather!
First floor Master bedroom,ensuite with cast iron roll top bath and shower.  Room for a cot, too.
First floor single/twin bedded room with cloaks - WC and wash hand basin- opposite.
Bunk beds!  Like the single/twin room next door it shares the cloaks, WC and wash hand basin
Second floor double bedroom with views over open countryside.  Can take an extra bed .
Same room from the opposite angle.Snug as a bug. Full oil central heating throughout the Hall..
Second floor double bedroom with fantastic views over Gaer Fawr. Can take an extra bed/cot.
Second floor family bathroom with bath, shower, WC, and wash hand basin.
View from across our hay meadows to Gaer Hall with Gaer Fawr behind.
If we haven't won you over already, maybe the sports area will clinch it!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
7 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Guilsfield, Welshpool, Powys, Wales

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
bushynose...
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Huge and Perfect”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fantastic place for our family/friends get-together. Everyone had loads of space. Big kitchen where we could all chat over breakfast, massive dining room for dinner and games, and that fantastic, huge living room upstairs. Comfy bedrooms and lots to see nearby. A really nice place for a short break.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
juliecros...
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Love it!”
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is the 3rd time my friends and I have stayed at Gaer Hall. We will definitely be booking again soon. It's a beautiful lived in home which is full of character. Margaret is great, we know we can move beds around to suit and nothing is too much trouble. The welcome gift is always a nice touch too. If you want a relaxing retreat with lovely scenery then book Gaer Hall! We can't wait to come back.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andygreen...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place in a great location”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This is the second time I have stayed in the hall and it was fantastic on both occasions. We were a stag party and the venue was ideal. House accomodated 10 of us comfortably and had plenty of beds spare. Room quality overal is great and huge communal areas which are perfect for a group. There's a small village in walking distance with two good pubs, both serving reasonable food, together with good cycling and running nearby and Shrewsbury is close enough for shopping or a night out.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Standard of the house
Liked least: Could do with an extra bathroom, it has two showers
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
Thanks Andy, I'm so pleased you had another a great time on your second stay with us at Gaer Hall for the Stag Weekend. Hopefully we'll see you and your friends again soon. And for future reference .... we love having families with children to stay. We have at least 2 cots!!! Kind regards, Margaret
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claire w
1 review
“Amazing and huge!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our group stayed at the cottage for 4 nights, midweek, we were greeted with welsh cakes and wine which was fab. The place is amazing and huge, plenty of space for everyone so you are not on top of each other all the time, and is decorated to a high standard with good facilities. Had a great time and we will definately be booking again, Marg the owner is really helpful, but not in your face and over the top with rules and regs like some cottages can be.

Fantastic place!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick O
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent facilities for a large group”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Stayed at Gaer Hall for a family party nearby. Excellent facilities for a large group with so much space to utilise. Outdoor space for children would be great in the summer and plenty of games to play.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and location
Liked least: Bathroom facailities
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing