We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour of Southern Ireland”

A Rural Experience - Day Tours
Ranked #2 of 5 things to do in Gowran
Attraction details
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Our recent trip to Ireland was enhanced by Tom, our driver, His knowledge of Ireland made our trip so interesting. He was also a great companion and story teller.
We left him feeling we had made a friend in Ireland.

1  Thank aabonfante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishRuralTours, Owner at A Rural Experience - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2016

Thank you so much for your kind words and taking the time to write a review.

Tom said he had a wonderful tour with you all and hopes to see you all again in the near future.

Warm regards
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2016

Tom picked us up in the morning, he was great has a lot of fun stories and knowledge to share. He kept us on our toes through out the whole tour. They worked with our schedule and drove us over to Waterford at the end of the day!

Thank pnuts696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We really enjoyed our July 25th tour, provided by A Rural Experience Tours, of Kilkenny and the nearby towns in search of our family’s ancestral home in Tipperary County, Ireland. The convenience of having a driver/guide pick us up at our hotel in Dublin saved us from the anxiety of driving on narrow rural Irish roads looking for villages that we were unable to locate on a previous trip to Ireland. Tom, our driver/guide, was a local who was very knowledgeable of the area, and indeed of all of Ireland. In the future, we would use A Rural Experience Tours for any trip to Ireland.

Dick Carroll & Anne Brookes
Houston, Texas

Thank oudivesherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishRuralTours, Owner at A Rural Experience - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you Richard and Ann for your wonderful review.

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Our driver, Tom, was professional, courteous, and punctual for our 6 day tour.
We loved his stories and knowledge of Ireland's countryside. We discussed our itinerary daily and he would make suggestions based on the weather and time allotments.Tom's love for his country is evident in his explanations of the sites. We loved his "Tom-isms"--like "jammers". Tom made our first trip to Ireland very memorable and would highly recommend "A Rural Experience" as a great way to see Ireland's beautiful countryside.

Thank maryellenkenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishRuralTours, Owner at A Rural Experience - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you for such a wonderful review. Tom sang your praises.

Warm regards
Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

My daughters, granddaughter and sister flew into Dublin, the driver met us at the airport and we drove to Galway where we began the following fabulous tour of Ireland with an excellent driver/guide: Day 1: John Wayne Bridge, Klymore Abbey, Connemaro with overnight at Glenlo Abby.
Day 2: The Burrens, Cliffs of Moher, Bunratty Castle, Dunguaire Castle and tour of Galway.
Day 3: Drive to Killarney with stops at Toradare village, Killarney lakes, Ross castle, Carriage ride with Rosie the horse and Paddi through Killarney National Park with visit to Muckross Abbey and then overnight at Muckross Park Hotel.
Day 4: Upper ring of Kerry with stops at Torc Waterfall, Moll's Gap, Kenmare to walk around and have coffee/tea; then to Druid Statue, Bantry Bay, Kinsale, and Fort Charles before arriving at Blarney Castle for great visit and climb to top of Blarney Castle to kissed the Blarney Stone. Overnight at Hayfield Manor Hotel in Cork.
Day 5: We visited to Cobh Heritage which is an exhibition focuse on the Titanic which sailed from this site before colliding with the ice berg. A very interesting exhibit that also reviewed sailing ships that took many from Ireland to the USA during the famine years. We then went to Waterford Crystal and had lunch at the Thatched Roof restaurant and then to Kilkenny Castle and gift shops. Overnight in Lyrath Estate Hotel where they have Irish singers and dancers in an attached restaureant.
Day 6: Drove to Dublin and visited head Dublin Castle, Christ Church Cathedral, St Patrick's Cathedral, Guinness Brewery, St Vincent's Green, Book of Kells inside Trinity College.
Day 7: Flew home

Thank Fuller B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IrishRuralTours, Owner at A Rural Experience - Day Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2016

Thank you for your review.

Rebecca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A Rural Experience - Day Tours also viewed

 
Gowran, County Kilkenny
 

Been to A Rural Experience - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing