We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent location”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Gowran, County Kilkenny

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kingston1...
Middlesbrough, Cleveland, England
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 4 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Great 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom farmhouse in a really quiet, picturesque location. Owners Canice and John are rightly proud of this refurbished home. They gave us a detailed overview on arrival and welcomed us with provisions of tea, coffee, milk, apple pie etc as well as towels, loo rolls, hand wash, dishwasher tablets, in fact the house was really well equipped. The family live in separate houses on the farm and are keen to let you know that nothing is too much trouble if you need them for anything. There is a gas BBQ available for a bit of outdoor dining if the weather is nice, as it was during our stay. Prince, the family's horse enjoys the odd apple or carrot, and expect visit's from their lovely puppy, Holly too. All in all, a great week in a great house, in a lovely location with plenty of space for 3 couples, run by a really genuine couple.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
priestley...
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“A brilliant place to stay.”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The farmhouse is lovely and clean and as all you could need for a enjoyable and relaxing holiday. The owners John & Canice are both very freindly and helpful they also listen if you have any comments that will help them improve what is on offer. we had a party member who has reduced mobility and the fact there are no steps on the groung floor and a wet room which is fully equipped was great and meant they had a stress free holiday. The house would be ideal for all ages and has plenty of space for young families to have freedom to play and comfy seats for the not so young to relax in comfort. On top of all this it is a great base for touring south east Ireland.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beech Lane Farmhouse”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Beech Lane Farmhouse was a perfect place for a family of 4. Plenty of space, comfortable beds and well equipped kitchen. Free Wifi and basic TV selection available. Our hosts John and Canice welcomed us warmly and left us with plenty of information about the area and property. And we enjoyed giving the horse Prince in the adjoining field an apple or two!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
positron5...
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Idyllic location to visit south-east Ireland and beyond”
Reviewed 2 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We choose this cottage for its good transport links to Dublin and the coast. The cottage is well furnished and offered sufficient room so that each of our 3 children had their own space. We were all made to feel at home by the owners and our Springer Spaniel was no exception. The owners were great ambassadors for Ireland. Prior to arrival an offer of tracking us down was given, should we get lost, this was not needed as clear directions and GPS coordinates were provided. In addition to the fair sized garden there is a good-sized driveway, which was also used by our children. The house was clean throughout. We were blessed with such good weather (one day of rain) during our fortnight stay that we were in the cottage a lot less than we had expected. As a family we would thoroughly recommend the cottage to our friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of property and 3 bathrooms
Liked least: Difficult to identify any significant faults
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asl22015
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overall an enjoyable stay, but there were a few niggles”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The owners were friendly and helpful & provided tea, milk sugar & an apple pie on arrival. Good views of the surrounding countryside & it was nice to look out & see the cows. The horse in the field behind the house likes apples! Plenty of useful leaflets about local attractions. You have to pay a cash deposit of 50 euro for the gate remote. There was a wooden cot, high chair & stair gates available. Bring your own waterproof sheet & baby bedding. The house was very cold when we arrived & took a couple of days to warm up properly. Heating is by electric heaters (electricity not included in rental price). Hot water is from an immersion tank & it ran out quite quickly. The pump to the water tank was quite noisy, esp at night. Bedrooms are not a bad size and 2 of them have en suite facilities, but the double beds were not especially comfy. All beds had electric blankets. Towels & a haidryer were provided. The bathrooms could have been cleaner. The wet room had visible dust on the white plastic grab handles, there was quite bad mildew on both showers, and there was what looked very much like a pubic hair stuck under the clear mat in the downstairs bath! One of the basins was loose & one of the heaters was coming off the wall. Some of the kitchen equipment was scratched and /or dirty - the frying pan and kitchen knives in particular. Plastic plates & beakers provided for little ones. Nearest supermarket is in Kilkenny, 8km away. Is a dishwasher, washing machine & tumble dryer - bring your own powder / tablets for them.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$49
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing