We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (806)
Filter reviews
806 results
Traveller rating
356
266
120
43
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
356
266
120
43
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneptune's staircasecaledonian canalben nevissuperior roomlovely hotelnew wingbar mealstwo night staylovely roomthe jacobite steam trainno liftbiscuitsfort williamspent two nightsdining roomstayed for one nightfull scottish breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 806 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2018

We stayed for three nights in June this year, before we booked we asked if they could cater for a gluten free diet as my wife is a Coeliacs. However we are now not sure they fully understood what a gluten free diet is. We had the same meal.. marked as gluten free on the menu, however our meals came out differently after we reminded them we needed a gluten free meal. Leaving us wondering what we would have been given if we hadn,t reminded them. And on our last morning there was no gluten free cereal or bread available.

The seating arrangements in the restaurant were very odd and residents aren’t looked after particularly well. You have to book a table each night and tell them exactly which table you want, or are seated at a table with no view or near the toilets.

We have stayed in several different hotels during our trip, this was the only one we had significant problems with catering for a gluten free diet.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 320oceanside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights and found the view of Ben Nevis and Neptune's Staircase stunning.
The staff were were friendly, helpful and hard-working.
The breakfast was very good and just the right portion size to set up the day for exploring. We ate in the bistro one night and enjoyed the food.
The room was a good size and was spotlessly clean and had the views mentioned above.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank CB_Saint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

Great hotel. Fantastic staff. Gorgeous view of Ben Nevis right from your hotel window.
Rooms are very nice. Clean. Restaurant and bar with delicious food. Snack bar with frozen yogurt, Watch the ships go through the locks in front of the hotel. Bike paths and walking paths. Pet friendly. The gateway tot he Highlands!! Good central location.

Room Tip: Book early and get a great view of Ben Nevis!!
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ChristineL661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

I have stayed here twice and like the hotel very much. The atmosphere is relaxed and the location adjacent to Neptune's Staircase on the Caledonian Canal is stunning. Unfortunately on this occasion the service was poor. There appear to be staff issues which is placing extra stress on those trying to deliver a service. I understand that the hotel may be changing hands, which could resolve the matter. Despite these comments I would still return if I am in Fort William.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

The Moorings hotel is in a good location being next to the canal locks. And as mentioned in other reviews , there is a new cafe extension and also some new rooms . Unfortunately we were in the old part which we felt was quite dated . There is no lift which would have been handy as had to carry our cases up the stairs, the only time we use a lift. The tiles on the bathroom floor looked old with dirty grouting. The bar and breakfast dining room in the old part are dated and depressing in our view. The food at breakfast and dinner was good, except the breakfast fruit salad was mostly apple and there was a lack of vegetables in the main courses. We booked directly with the hotel but £150 per night (3 nights ) for a standard room B and B plus dinner too expensive .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Josyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews