We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Brilliant location for exploring the Highlands”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mountain View

The Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living Room
Mountain View The Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The Living Room
Mountain View
The Main Bedroom
The Kitchen
The Caledonian Canal
The Hall
The Dining Room
Mountain View in winter
The Wee Bedroom
The Bathroom
The Canal Towpath
Neptune's Staircase bounds the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Banavie, Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
fivevoss1
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant location for exploring the Highlands”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely week here with my husband, 16 year old son and small dog. Unfortunately it rained every day, but that did not spoil our time here. It was great to come home to a warm, welcoming, clean and cosy cottage, and then to be able to walk to the local pub for a good value cooked meal with the dog in tow. The location is perfect, right by the canal, a great place to walk the dog every morning, and watch the boats negotiate the numerous locks. Very central for many attractions, such as Ben Nevis, the Jacobite steam train, the Glenfinnan Viaduct, and the gondola lift up the mountain. Tom, the owner, was very helpful and welcoming, with lots of good advice, although there is plenty of information in the cottage. Everything you could possibly need is provided for you, a real home from home. A fantastic holiday, we look forward to returning in the sunshine perhaps. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel of the cottage, the decor and quality of furnishings.
Liked least: The internet access did not work.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
furtho
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mountain View indeed -- and a good base from which to explore around Ft William”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Good things:

Friendly welcome from the knowledgeable Tom
Good, clear communication from owners beforehand
Dog-friendly
Loads (and loads) of things to do within a relatively short distance
Stunning view of Ben Nevis from the kitchen
It's clean and obviously well cared-for

Not-so-good things:

Slightly insalubrious entrance round the back of the building
Back garden is shared with neighbours
Wooden floorboards are a bit slippery and uneven
Hot water generally is tricky, bath and shower look good but are impractical
Wifi is a bit unreliable
Wind started making a loud noise blowing through gaps in the living room window surround -- I drew this to the owners' attention and they quickly responded, saying they'd check it out

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location. Good base to explore the country around Ft William.
Liked least: Bath/shower. Looks modern and fancy but it's impractical and the hot water was a problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munc84
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
Reviewed 7 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We were welcomed by Tom , the owner ,he was affable and very knowledgeable about the area . For our first visit to Scotland it was a very comfortable stay, with the stunning view of Ben Nevis from the window a real bonus. We also enjoyed seeing the boats navigate the canal locks.The apartment is in a very convenient position with easy access to routes and the shops etc.It had everything we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the situation and space
Liked least: the shower[not thermostatic]
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will_M_18...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay near Fort William”
Reviewed 1 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely week staying at Mountain View just outside Fort William.

The flat has a lot of character and is beautifully decorated and furnished. It was nice and warm too which made the whole place feel very welcoming. It is only a short drive from Fort William so very convenient for shops but in a nice quiet location.

Tom, the owner, welcomed us on arrival and was very helpful. We'd love to come back to stay again some time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, cleanliness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adzg1978
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in a great location with a nice view of Ben Nevis”
Reviewed 16 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We have just returned from a week in Fort William and really enjoyed our stay at Mountain View.

The apartment was clean and tidy on arrival and nice and warm. The rooms are all very spacious and having a proper separate dining room was a nice touch. The kitchen was well equipped and we were able to cook proper meals every evening.

The view from the kitchen window is certainly a "Mountain View" with Ben Nevis, Carn Mor Dearg, Glen Nevis and Anoch Mor all on the horizon.

The apartment is located in Banavie which is approx 3 miles from Fort William. Neptunes Staircase is at the bottom of the garden.

Tom and Julie are very friendly and offered advice and suggestions on hiking in the area, Tom also left a selection of books and maps for reference.

All in all we had a great holiday and will certainly look to book Mountain View again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spacious and warm
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing