We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal apartment for all Fort William attractions”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mountain View

The Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living Room
Mountain View The Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The Living Room
Mountain View
The Main Bedroom
The Kitchen
The Caledonian Canal
The Hall
The Dining Room
Mountain View in winter
The Wee Bedroom
The Bathroom
The Canal Towpath
Neptune's Staircase bounds the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Banavie, Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Roger2196
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ideal apartment for all Fort William attractions”
Reviewed 18 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first trip to Scotland, and this property came up trumps with the location, cleanliness, facilities/equipment, furnishings, dog friendly, and above all the view of Ben Nevis from the window. Tom and Julie the owners were friendly, helpful and efficient from the time of the original booking enquiry until the end of the holiday. Tom popped round to welcome us to the apartment and Scotland. He gave us lots of information and advice on what to do and see in the whole of the highland region. The flat was very clean and comfy, with all the equipment you need especially in the kitchen. There is a large entrance lobby on the ground floor to store all your outdoor clothing, footwear, baggage and cycles etc. The main double bedroom was spacious and comfortable. The location on the banks of Neptune's Staircase was brilliant, and was a 5 minute drive from the centre of Fort William.We really enjoyed our stay and will definitely consider a return visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Although there was a modem in the kitchen we were unable to make a successful wi-fi connection
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spence8
Northumberland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely and warm, perfectly located”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Had a lovely week at Mountain View, Banavie is a perfect location from which to explore The Highlands and to have the Caledonian Canal at the bottom of the garden - superb. Lovely and warm, (though the weather wasn't) ample room for 3 of us and a dog. When my friends headed home after a couple of nights, I felt perfectly happy staying on my own. Will definitely be back and they thoroughly enjoyed the mini break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadairman
Dolgellau, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Relaxing , warm , tidy accomadation.”
Reviewed 25 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Big thanks to John for a great stay. Ideal cheap no fuss accommodation with everything you need for a holiday in the highlands. We stayed for a weeks walking and this as a base was ideal. No drying room but the place is so warm that wet cloths and boots dried quickly. Good 3g on orange. Good view of the Ben and the canal is a great setting to the rear of the property. Really recommend the place and will be back next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home, warm and great bed.
Liked least: Needs to have a Orange dongle for faster speed. ditch that 3 thing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raz_13887
England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely flat, homely and warm, with great views and canal walk”
Reviewed 16 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

This was a great location and a lovely flat at a reasonable price with friendly and helpful owners. We had a fabulous time for our first stay in the Highlands with a 7 year old, who also felt very at home there. Our only small hitch was a problem with wireless connectivity, which meant we had to get a drink a the next-door bar (which has free internet access) in order to go online - a minor inconvenience in an otherwise perfect week. We certainly hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The homely feel and the views
Liked least: If pushed, I would say the lack of a seated view of the mountaints: I suggest that the 3 conifers be felled (I know it's not PC), and fold-away table and chairs be provided in kitchen so the beautiful view on Ben Nevis can be enjoyed at leisure.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAW1
Cheshire, UK
1 review
“Relax after a long day in the hills!”
Reviewed 25 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Mountain View is beautifully laid out and very cosy. It is ideally located for days out in the hills; walking, climbing and skiing; as well as offering great opportunities to explore the Caledonian canal. The owners are very accommodating and provide lots of extras, such as a buggy, child carrier, cot and high chair which make travelling with a young family far easier. A very pleasant stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing