We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$147
Agoda.comUS$147
Expedia.comUS$147
PricelineUS$147
eDreamsUS$147
TravelocityUS$147
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (512)
Filter reviews
512 results
Traveller rating
487
12
6
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
487
12
6
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower infinity pool costa rica howler monkeys yogurt excellent food a special place ham small hotel pollo every meal view of the ocean short drive his team san juanillo included breakfast swiss precision
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 512 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2021

We are travelling in Costa Rica and through our adventure, we have seen many different hotels. None of them was like Luna Azul. This place is magical and makes you feel like coming home the moment you park your car. The Hotel has few small bungalows and each of them has an amazing veranda with a view in the wild. We have chosen Room Pacifico because here you can enjoy the afternoon sun and sunset. The rooms are spotless and every morning after breakfast the cleaning employees already made the room. The highlight of the hotel is the Restaurant. This is none like usual hotel buffet-style type. Everything is made freshly. Fresh bred like we are only used to have in Switzerland. Did not see bread like that for a long time. For the dinner, you can choose between 4 starters and 4 main dishes. The small menu guarantees high-quality dishes. The cusine is famous in this region so it happens, that even people from outside reserve a table to enjoy the foods. You don't have to worry as a guest of Rolf you can be sure you will always have your table.
You don't have direct access to the ocean from here but the next beach is 5 min away by car. Rolf was an excellent host, he talked to us about nature and gave us a lot of value. He knows many locals and if you are planning a tour it is worthwhile to consult with Rolf first.
Unfortunately, we have to leave today but this hotel will stay in our memories. Thank you, Rolf, and to all the employees.

Date of stay: January 2021
Thank ValerieChristine95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021

An absolutely fabulous destination. Rolf and his team obviously invest immense attention and care to create a magical experience. The room is so immaculate and the open air bathroom and patio so thoughtfully designed to provide access to the outdoors and nature, but also privacy. The included breakfast exceeded all my expectations: freshly cut fruit, yogurt, granola, piping hot slices of homemade bread, omelette, gallo pinto, delicious hot cocoa. Everything served to perfection. The grounds staff maintain beautiful and lush vines, flowers, bushes and trees. With the beaches just a short drive away, I highly recommend Luna Azul.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelerLuke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2020

This was the third time I have been to Hotel Luna Azul - What a beautiful place. We had a chance to see the turtles on the beach laying eggs.
Great Trip
The food is also incredible. They serve breakfast and dinner - both were incredible and the breakfast is incredible!

I highly recommend this place and we will definitely be back here again soon

Date of stay: September 2020
1  Thank rogerrubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2020 via mobile

A wonderful fantastic great place to stay
Well worth it. Food, the place and the Hosts are the best. I would stay here anytime. The location, pool and meals are the best. Showering outside is the best. Birds and wildlife can be seen all around. One of the best places that I have ever stayed.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TuboKueper57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2020 via mobile

Hotel Luna Azule is a must stop for anyone who is adventuring in Costa Rica!

My sister and her family stayed here 5 years ago and loved it so much they still talk about their experience to everyone who is talking about going to Costa Rica, so we had to make it part our trip too!

Rolf and Andreas plus Staff make your stay 5 star from their beautiful gardens and infinity pool to their immaculate spacious and inviting bungalows! It truly is a little piece of heaven on earth. The indoor outdoor living Experience they provide allows you to enjoy nature at its finest by listenIng to the birds and the ocean and if you are lucky Enough visits from Howler Monkeys and other amazing wildlife!

Take advantage of Rolf’s vast knowledge of the area and book a turtle tour with a local guide... absolutely a must experience!

To top everything off the restaurant at Luna Azule is by far one of our favourites In Costa Rica. The breakfast that is included is to be enjoyed and savoured while enjoying a stunning view and includes home made bread and jam as a wonderful treat! Dinner is a fine dining experience in both atmosphere and the quality of food! The flavours, portions and wonderful presentation make any choice worth trying!!

We began our adventures in Costa Rica here and loved it so much we changed our plans to stay again at what was to be the end of our trip and now that we ended up staying in Costa Rica to weather the worlds storms of 2020 we will be returning again very soon!

I can guarantee that your choice to stay at Luna Azul will be a highlight of your Costa Rica adventure!

Jennifer Winsor
Ontario, Canada

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Tubostours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews