We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$203
eDreamsUS$203
Booking.comUS$203
TravelocityUS$203
Orbitz.comUS$203
Agoda.comUS$203
View all 9 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (509)
Filter reviews
509 results
Traveller rating
484
12
6
1
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
484
12
6
1
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor shower infinity pool costa rica howler monkeys yogurt eggs excellent food a special place boat trip ham small hotel every meal view of the ocean wonderful hotel surrounded by nature san juanillo local area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 509 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

When visiting this hotel you feel at home. All thanks to the super friendly owner Rolf. Everything is just perfect: the beautiful pool, the delicious food and the rooms with outside shower! Ask Rolf for some advice on what you can do. He’s happy to help you and gives some wonderful suggestions. We’re having the time of our live in Costa Rica and Luna Azul made partly sure of that!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sseptumss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2019 via mobile

Great hotel with a great owner. We had an amazing stay in this hotel, where we felt very welcome. The view from the pool is just stunning and the food is delicious. I would highly recommend to stay here!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Maarten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2019 via mobile

We came across this boutique hotel (8 bungalows) and were lucky enough to get a room. It was so enchanting, very clean and intimate. The restaurant which served a great breakfast also served dinner. It was like a 5 star dinner without the price tag. The staff couldn’t have been nicer. The owner Raulf, who is from Switzerland was so charming. The pool setting and dining area is a perfect size for this hotel. In the morning you are awaken by the howler monkeys and birds. We will be back. You do need a car so you can check out the local villages and beaches. It takes 2 hours to get there from Liberia.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RobynEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2019 via mobile

We stayed at Luna Azul for three nights. Rolf and his staff were so great. We had absolutely wonderful food and service. The banana room was amazing and we had howler monkeys and iguanas right outside all three nights. The pool is great. The location is just north of one of the most spectacular turtle laying and hatching events on the planet, so it is a huge deal to stay during that period. We stayed just after the hatching when it was a vit slower and it felt very tranquil and relaxing. Highly recommend staying at the Luna Azul! Thanks so much, Rolf!

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2019

My husband and I spent two nights and I wish we could have stayed longer. Rolf is such an excellent host. The location overlooking the jungle and the ocean is superb. Sunsets from the pool deck and the restaurant are spectacular. The food was fresh and delicious. All the waiters were so attentive and friendly. The cabins are spacious and lovely with an outdoor shower . We hope to return!

Room tip: All the cabins are well situated and some accommodate families.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews