We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Gold Canyon Inn & Suites
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
GreenLeadersSilver level
albuquerque
1 review
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Stayed here for friend's wedding. Nice place. Clean room. Standard breakfast. Staff was helpful with minor emergency we had.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mainaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    64
    20
    19
    20
See reviews for
67
64
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2008

My husband and I travel widely in the USA Canada and never have we encountered such rude people at the Front Desk as at the Best Western Gold Canyon We stayed there twice in the last two months. Both times the women at the Check-in Desk were on the phone when we walked up. They didn't acknowledge our presence by glancing up or recognizing us in any way.

Our last stay was March 11, 2008. We returned late after a long day of visiting. The night clerk was very pleasant, unlike the unfriendly check-in clerk we encountered earlier in the day. The next morning when we went down to the complimentary breakfast at 9.10 a.m. the lady who was also working the front desk was in the breakfast room. She rudely told us that breakfast was over at 9 a.m. When I mentioned that we were sorry but we thought the time was 10 a.m. she barked that it has always been 9 a.m. and we would never have been told otherwise. The six guests still eating looked embarrassed.
We had overlooked the lack of cleanliness at this property because of its convenient location to our family however the Best Western Gold Canyon management may be assured that their lack of customer relations, unfriendliness, rudeness will assure that we will never stay at the property again.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank Mayolanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2007

Hubby & I wanted to visit Boyce Thompson Arboretum in Superior, AZ, and decided this was a good bet. It was. Only 15 miles west of it. The other Best Western in Apache Junction takes about twice as far to drive to it. This place has Southwestern architecture and decor, is clean and kept up nicely, including nice foliage and flowers. Free breakfast included hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, all the usual stuff like cereals, breads and juices, and one waffle-making machine (premixed batter provided). We finally learned the red "on" light meant "ready to go," not "cooking," but still, I imagine that if the good-sized breakfast room were really crowded, you'd have to wait awhile to make a waffle with only ONE machine. The most attractive view is over the clean-looking pool, outdoor whirlpool and courtyard area, where we could see a bit of the Superstition Mountains from our 2nd floor tiny balcony. However, even in September we still felt like we were in a closed-in hot box with half of one side open...not much air, day or night. (And we're used to AZ heat, living in Tucson!) I'd recommend a 1st floor patio room instead. The parking lot has a row of shaded carports. Rooms come with cable TV, small refrigerator, coffee maker & supplies, and internet access.

Not a lot of stores or restaurants in the immediate area: The Inn has the "Rodeo Lounge" with "happy hour" from 3 to 6 pm, also serving pizza, appetizers, and "blue plate specials." Thursday through Saturday the lounge has free entertainment. We ate in the decent, very reasonably-priced, casual Red Sage Restaurant, - the walking distance of 2 parking lots away, serving breakfast through dinner, with food "to go." (Their menu was in our room.) Across the little side street is a Chinese restaurant, and a Walgreen's, where we picked up inexpensive snack foods. There's also a coffee cafe, and more stores going into that new small commercial strip. This Inn is very close to the Renaissance Festival site. It we were going to that Festival, and staying overnight, we'd definitely stay at this place again.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank CactusLizCowboyKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2007

We stayed here for four nights and it was a nice hotel. The hotel staff was nice and very helpful. They printed our boarding passes for our flight the day before we left. The room was clean and comfortable. Bedding, furniture and carpeting was all in good condition. We did not get to use the pool because we were so busy sightseeing but the pool area looked clean and inviting. Only thing I think they could improve upon would be their breakfast. They offered Cereal, toast, bagels and waffles with milk, juice and coffee, but I would have like to have seen some type of danish or sweet rolls. We would stay there again.

  • Liked — Bed was in a seperate room
  • Disliked — view of parking lot
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rsohn65820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2007

We stay here every year in Feb when attending the Arizona Renaissance Festival just up the road. We are always treated very well, the rooms are nice, clean, good value. Nice pool & spa. Decent free breakfast.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank OH2CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gold Canyon
21.8 km away
Best Western Superstition Springs Inn
21.6 km away
Best Western Legacy Inn & Suites
21.8 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix/Gilbert
27.0 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Phoenix - Gilbert
37.4 km away
GreenTree Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Gold Canyon Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Gold Canyon Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Gold Canyon Inn & Suites
Address: 8333 E Sunrise Sky Dr, Gold Canyon, AZ 85118-2992
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Gold Canyon
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Gold Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Gold Canyon Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Gold Canyon Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Apache Junction
Apache Junction Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing