We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy, Cozy and Delicious!”
Review of Ballard Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ballard Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Ballard B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2011

My wife and I had a great opportunity to spend 3 nights mid-week at “Ballard Inn”. The Inn is very warm and inviting with roomy public areas and comfortable rooms. Our accommodation was roomy and the bed was very comfortable, but all the rooms have only a wardrobe cabinet instead of a closet, and personally I found the single in-room washstand uncomfortable to use. The staff is warm and friendly and very accommodating. Each evening from 4:30 to 5:30 a selection of 3 wines is served, accompanied by an assortment of cheese, crackers, tasty tidbits and assorted fresh fruit. A nice cooked breakfast with at least 2 “specials” is offered each morning. Pancakes were delicious! The only food negative was that the fruit bowl was prepared too far in advance and it lacked the freshness and the crispness of the fruit served at the previous evening’s wine tasting. This happened all three mornings. The fruit looked like “leftovers” from the night before. Peets coffee and Pellegrino water are available 24/7. The Inn is very quiet on Monday and Tuesday nights when the restaurant is closed, but it can be quite different on the weekends when the wine tasting crowds descend on the area. The restaurant serves dinner Tuesday through Sunday and prices run to the high side. Definitely a “special occasion” restaurant for us! The menu is limited but the dishes are expertly prepared and served. I can personally attest to a small but delicious seared foie gras appetizer and an outstanding rack of lamb. The wine list is filled with interesting selections but also run to the high side in price. The restaurant does accommodate guests with their own wine, and corkage is $15/btl. All-in-all, a great place to stay if you want to avoid the hotel/motel scene in Solvang and enjoy the quiet ambiance of a small inn.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, select a room away from the street which can get early morning traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Oceanbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (184)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 135 of 184 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2011

The rooms are cozy, the staff is amazing, and the food (both breakfast and dinners at the on-site restaurant) is unparalleled.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrison6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

There was only one thing that I didn't like about this B&B: They have all of these wonderful services......the front desk clerk physically shows you to your room and offers to carry your bags, they have wine and cheese in the evenings, nighttime turn down service, etc. However, they DON'T tell you up front that you will be paying a 10% automatic gratuity to all of these people when you check out! That was an extra $38 surprise (it is not optional)! I don't like surprises like that. Seems a little sneaky and I have never experienced such a charge before. Otherwise, it is a beautiful place and we were very happy with the facilities.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Marcia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
achrisyth, General Manager at Ballard Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2011

Thank you for your input regarding your recent stay. I apologize that the service charge was not made clear to you at the time of booking the reservation. The inn has made an effort to clearly express the charge verbally at the time of making the reservation or if made online, it is stated on the payment page before agreeing to the charges. As a followup, all reservations receive a confirmation letter that states the charge there as well. I value your input and will use it to better enhance my reservation system for the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We spent four days at The Ballard Inn and had a wonderful experience. The staff seems to anticipate your every need: There is ice water with lemon on the porch for hot afternoons, coffee in the lounge mornings and evenings, cookies on your pillow at bedtime and delicious breakfasts! I loved sitting in the rocking chairs on the front porch and just relaxing. The restaurant was open on two of the evenings we were there and we had absolutely delicious meals. The reputation of the chef is well-deserved and you shouldn't miss an opportunity to eat there. I look forward to returning!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ehlsocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Perfect downtime inn, and a great getaway from civilization. The staff manages to be on top of things, without being "there" to interrupt the overall tranquility (minus the occasional loud truck on what passes for a "busy" street in Ballard) of the venue. Excellent breakfasts, a dinner menu that doesn't change often enough for my liking, and little touches like gratis bottled San Pellegrino in the room, unobtrusive turndown service, and lazy rockers on the porch make this a repeatable respite from the office. Located midway between Los Olivos and Solvang (try Cecco for dinner), it's a very leisurely 35-minutes from Santa Barbara, yet seemingly miles away into a former, much quieter rural environment. It was packed--only 15 or 16 rooms--on the weekend we were there, and I imagine that's the case from Thursdays through Sundays. But, it can probably seem like your own home the other nights.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballard
4.1 km away
Santa Ynez Inn
Santa Ynez Inn
#1 of 3 in Santa Ynez
423 reviews
5.1 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
281 reviews
5.2 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
5.3 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
929 reviews
4 km away
Chumash Casino Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballard Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballard Inn

Address: 2436 Baseline Ave, Ballard, CA 93463-9711
Region: United States > California > Ballard
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ballard
Price Range: €202 - €378 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ballard Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Ballard Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballard Hotel Ballard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing