We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful country retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gwern Borter Country Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gwern Borter Country Manor
Ranked #3 of 4 Rowen B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful country retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

We had the pleasure of staying at Gwern Borter in the summer and enjoyed it enormously. The house is lovely, beautifully decorated; our room was perfect;the breakfast was plentiful and very good, and the service was second to none. Thank you for making our stay such a pleasant one.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    27
    8
    10
    5
See reviews for
31
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Myself and hubby stayed for 3 nights in August and we truly enjoyed the whole stay. The location is beautiful and peaceful yet close to Conwy and plenty of things to do. The host and hostess Gary and Jo were very friendly and welcoming and made us feel like we were staying with family. Watching the childrens' faces in the morning while they were feeding the horses, ducks, geese and billy goat was a joy. Breakfast was delicious and you can help yourself to a well stocked fridge of wine, beer and soft drinks and pay on leaving. Our room had a mural on one wall which made a welcome change from dull hotel rooms and the manor is full of interesting antiques and artefacts. I would highly recommend this holiday to anyone looking for a fantastic retreat with great hosts! Thank you Gary and Jo.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

It is idyllic where it is. It is lovely and peaceful and we enjoyed our stay there. Accomodation and food was good and the owner was very helpful. It is five minutes from Conwy which was perfect for us.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nursebetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed here last minute as it was my birthday and as the weather was warm and sunny we decided to spend the day in Llandudno and booked in here for one night. On arrival there was no-one about, and it took some ringing of bell and knocking on doors for 10 miutes until the owner appeared. We had the superior triple room which had nice views from the two windows and satinwood furniture, and the bed was clean and comfortable. It was very quiet at night and pitch black - something we are not used to living with street lights! As it was a warm night we had the windows open but as dawn broke we were woken by a cockerel crowing!

We chose the cooked breakfast, but didn't have 'starters'. It was OK, but could have been hotter.. Other guests staying were having tomato and herb omellette, which looked nice.

Although we have read comments regarding the owner's manner with guests, he was pleasant and helpful to us,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3goaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwern, Owner at Gwern Borter Country Manor, responded to this review, 29 October 2011
Our check in opens at 3pm If you wish to arrive early just let us know. Im afrain you will hear cockerels in farm areas all over the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed at 3 different B and B's in our trip to Northern Wales, July 10 - 15th, Gwern Borter Manor was by far the best. Owner was very helpful and friendly. House, rooms, grounds were spotless. Beds were very comfortable and it was so quiet there. VERY short drive south of Conwy Castle. A gem!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freefromwisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rowen
1.0 km away
Tir y Coed Country House
7.5 km away
Maenan Abbey Hotel
Maenan Abbey Hotel
#3 of 3 in Llanrwst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
4.9 km away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Conwy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
The Clontarf Hotel
The Clontarf Hotel
#6 of 60 in Llandudno
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
7.2 km away
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa
#12 of 60 in Llandudno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
19.3 km away
Chateau Rhianfa
Chateau Rhianfa
#1 of 5 in Menai Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gwern Borter Country Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gwern Borter Country Manor

Property: Gwern Borter Country Manor
Address: Gwern Borter Manor Barker's Lane | Rowen, Rowen, Snowdonia National Park LL32 8YL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Rowen
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Rowen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the foothills of the Snowdonia mountains in the beautiful Conwy Valley, close to the sea, there is a special place well known for it's peace and tranquillity. A place to relax and unwind or enjoy the many wonderful facilities that are found within the grounds and in the Snowdonia area. Gwern Borter Manor is a 4 star Country Manor House offering B&B the accommodation comprises of 3 double bedrooms including a Victorian 4 Poster. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Gwern Borter Country Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing