We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“six amazing senses”
Review of Six Senses Laamu

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Six Senses Laamu
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olhuveli Island
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed for 10 nights at the most gorgeous six senses. After our tour through India. It was so nice to come to the Maldives for its beauty and peacefulnes. We stayed in a beach villa or small house. It was so spacious so many areas to be upstairs, outside, inside on the beach you choose. I loved how we where given bikes as form of transport to get around the island which takes a round 10 mins to do one lap if you are keen. Our Gem he was so lovely any tiny request he would help you out so sweet. Breakfast in the morning was an adventure every day, the choice was amazing considering everything has to be bought in beautifully fresh. We met the head chief one night early in to our stay and mentioned to him I was vegetarian, well that a lucky encounter as from that moment on a got my own special 3 course dinner that I was shown the menu first in the morning to see if I liked it and of course it was amazing. How special is that. We enjoyed speaking to the staff who where so lovely and genuine people. The manager what a hoot Jonathan he had a couple of good stories to tell. What a beautiful location. My husband went out for a couple of surfs but we weren't really there at the right time of the year end of the season. July I understand to be better. I enjoyed snorkelling around the resort in sparklingly clear water. We where also lucky to have a Maldivian local star come and play his music "Shiuz" for a few night so very nice while you enjoy you afternoon bubbles. Thankyou to all the staff you made our stay a very special moment in our journey through life. Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sharonb000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,329)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

883 - 887 of 1,329 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

Six senses Laamu was our second experience in Maldives, after
Baros. We stayed for 6 unforgettable nights in an outstanding Beach villa ocean view. It had a private beach and the whole villa lay out was just amazing. Every single corner is made to feel comfortable for enjoying the wonderful views of the turquoise sea.
The concept of the resort it is "green" and "sustainable" without forgetting total confort and luxury.
The food is very good, especially in the Vietnamese restaurant. I really recommend the romantic beach lobster barbacue.
Breakfast was rich in choices. And the buffet at lunch time at the Cooking hut is also remarkable, with maldivan currys.
The trip to our private island for a day was fun but I expected a cleaner island plus be advised about the hundred mosquitos were sharing the picnic with us. I will recommend taking mosquito repelent.
The reef was good, with plenty of diversity but is located in the main areas and not beside rhe beach hut.
The service generally was outstanding and any request was quickly met with the minimum fuss.
Not cheap, but thats the maldives.
We highly recommend it. You won t be disappointed!

Room Tip: Beach villa 83, very private , away from the main area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Juliana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have recently honeymooned in Laamu and stayed in one of their luxurious and spacious water bungalows. It is one of the nicest resorts we have stayed at. Our GEM, Auzam was very pleasant and helpful as were all the staff. The food, chefs and catering staff were all exceptional. The produce was extremely fresh and tasty. Breakfast Buffet awesome. We did the beach BBQ on Sunday night and had the most wonderful lobster and seafood dinner, right on the beach. Prices for the wine, were to be honest, high, but one must understand everything needs to be shipped in. Wine selection was tremendous.

There was a small coral reef right outside our water bungalow which was teeming with several varieties of fish. The outdoor seating area and outdoor shower are unique. Glass panels in the toilet floor and glass bath with turquoise sea beneath is surreal.

Another plus for the service was their handling of our flight changes. We booked through Agoda and notified them of the flight changes. That information was not passed on to the hotel. When I called to verify that all the transfers were booked, they weren't. The Six Senses staff quickly made sure we would be met at Male International and we made it to the hotel with no problems.

A wonderful, romantic place to stay. We will for sure be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank szky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

Spent here six nights as an end to our journey that had started in India. This was my third trip to the Maldives, a place that I truly love. We've booked an overwater villa, lovely indeed, on the lagoon side. The sea here is just an immense pool, so very turqouise and clear. Villa has simple furnishings, eco- friendly style, the shower area is big and I also loved the glassbottomed tub, you could see the sea underneath. I loved the fact that you're given bicycles to explore the island, also an expression of their eco-friendliness. Our GEM's(Guest Experience Maker) name was Inthi. He was a really nice, helpful guy, but as far as I could see, all Gems were the same, as was the entire staff, including the managers. In terms of diving my husband said here were the best sites in the whole Maldives he had dived so far. All restaurants serve great food and have good service. My favourite one was the Leaf, best setting ( like a huge tree house on the beach), but also in terms of food (Vietnamese for lunch and Mediterranean for dinner). They have a great French chef at Leaf resaturant (Federic is his name) and they only use organic ingredients from their own garden. Lovely and so fresh!!! Massages... really, really great. Wonderful spa. I particularly loved the "Laamu bliss", which is Balinese massage combined with herbal wraps. Gym is also nice and big. Transfer to the island takes a bit longer(50 minutes by plane from Male to the domestic airport and then 20 minutes by speedboat). But because it is away from it all, this island has such clear waters and such beautiful marine life.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank obsessedbytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We have recently holidayed in Laamu and stayed in one of their luxurious and spacious water bungalows. It is one of the nicest resorts we have stayed at. We have just read a review on TA criticizing the food, but this was not our experience. We found the food, chefs, catering staff all to be exceptional. The produce was extremely fresh and tasty. Our GEM, Auzam was very pleasant and helpful as were all the staff. The Den (Kids Club) staff, particularly, Shelomi & Numa were great with our daughter.

There was a small coral reef right outside our water bungalow which was teeming with several varieties of fish. The outdoor seating area and outdoor shower are unique. Glass panels in the toilet floor and glass bath with turquoise sea beneath is surreal. Don't let the longish flight put you off because when you get there, it's absolutely worth it.

Six Senses Laamu is a delight! And we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelsavvy185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olhuveli Island
18.2 km away
Amra Palace Hotel & Spa
Amra Palace Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Gan Island
32 reviews
20.1 km away
Reveries Diving Village
Reveries Diving Village
#1 of 2 in Gan Island
94 reviews
17.6 km away
Nazaki Residences Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 km away
Pallazo Laamu
Pallazo Laamu
#2 of 4 in Gan Island
6 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Six Senses Laamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six Senses Laamu

Address: Laamu Atoll, 20015
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Laamu Atoll > Olhuveli Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Olhuveli Island
Price Range: €739 - €2,266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Six Senses Laamu 5*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphins spin all along the shores of Six Senses Laamu, located in the pristine Laamu Atoll. From Male’ Airport, it is just a forty minute flight along the beautiful Maldivian coastline followed by a short speed boat trip. Offering 97 villas, both overwater and on the beach, and an abundance of dining options, water sports, spa and other great activities. Service is second to none with your butler overseeing every need from arrival to departure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Agoda, Prestigia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Six Senses Laamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 Senses Laamu
Six Senses Laamu Hotel Olhuveli Island
Six Senses Laamu Laamu Atoll, Maldives

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing