We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (667)
Filter reviews
667 results
Traveller rating
326
198
82
38
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
198
82
38
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry tickets auckland city north shore ferry service washing machine harbour bridge continental breakfast was included separate bedroom short drive quiet location cooked breakfast harbour view room new zealand full kitchen the ground floor yogurt sunset lounge
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 667 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

It took 10 minutes before we were served to be checked in because the guy on front desk was on a phone call. When we went to the counter again because we had somewhere to be, only then did he decide to ask for someone else to come and check us in. Worst check in experience I have ever had.

The cooked breakfast is crap and they didn't open at the expected time of 7, which is late by other hotel's standards. When you're on a business trip it's important that you actually get to work on time.

The hotel room was big, but not clean in certain areas There is what looks like blood on the curtains and the shower is gross. The grouting needs redoing and there's a broken tile where the the shower tap is.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank amycara_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear amycara_w,

Thank you for your feedback. We unreservedly apologize for the inconvenience caused to you with the delay upon your check-in, as well with the status of your room.
Your feedback is highly valued and will be used constructively to maintain and improve, where necessary, our standards of service and facilities. We will now be implementing new policy and training for staff where they seem to be lacking. I have forwarded your issues with the room, Shower, and curtains to our executive housekeeper and this will be handled promptly.

Please don't hesitate to contact the team at VR Takapuna if we can be of any further assistance and I hope we will have another opportunity to serve you at our hotel in the future.

Warm regards,
VR Takapuna Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

This hotel was a difficult one to review!! So let me start with the positives. The room and bathroom were clean with plenty of hot water as well as a heat pump for cold nights. Perfectly reasonable for the tariff. The hotel has amazing views of Sky City and the Harbour Bridge however the location is a ten minute drive to Takapuna so transport is a must. The reason why i mention the difficulty in reviewing is all down to customer service and communication as first impressions speak volumes. There were no pleasantries or convesation when checking in, i actually felt uncomfortable standing there like a spare part. During our stay i went to ask reception a question to find the person behind the desk taking what was obviously a personal call on their mobile, i waited for a few minutes until i was asked if i was checking out whilst they were still taking their call!! The hotel has a restaurant which we chose not to dine in as a result of our intial interactions, first impressions count.This hotel has huge potential if it was welcoming and offered its guests an experience to remember.

Room tip: Ask for city views
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2018

Dear Jo C,

Thank you for your feedback and bring our attention to numerous factors. We are glad to read you like the beautiful Bayswater location and enjoyed our spacious room with outstanding Harbour view.

Mostly, our team receives great feedback from many of our guests & we take pride in ensuring our customers' satisfaction, but this time it wasn’t the case for you. We are very disappointed to note your review and we sincerely apologize that your stay on this occasion fell short of your expectations. From this review we are unable to investigate further, I would appreciate if you are able to provide more detail with regards to your booking & staff by emailing me on ato.dutymanager@vrhotels.co.nz

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and we hope you give us another opportunity to welcome you to rectify your experience.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Comfortable, relaxing and value for money was tops. Staff so respectful and treated you with kindness. Facilities were excellent. Dinner at sunset lounge Restaurant was enjoyable and excellent price for of us. Food was awesome and catered for all our need. And also cooked breakfast was fabulous and enjoyed the continental as well.
Stayed in harbour view room it was clean & comfortable. Great layout with all needed and wanted amenities. The quality of rooms was good. and one more things i would like to say the Charge back service is available from sunset lounge restaurant to make life easy.
make sure we will be back again and thanks VR takapuna.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank addamjohn54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear addamjohn54,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at VR Takapuna. We were so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly in our spacious & comfortable room. A positive guest experience is something our team takes great pride in and we value your feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you again on future travel.

Kind Regards,
Hotel Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

We stayed 4 nights. Our room had a separate lounge kitchen and bathroom. It was quite nice. We were 10 minute walk to the ferry to go into Auckland. Also included was a continental breakfast which was more than adequate. Loved the area and would stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Algester4115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear Algester4115,

Thank you for your review of our hotel following your recent stay with us. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here in our hotel, the room your breakfast and our close proximity to the bayswater ferry terminal.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again on your next visit to Auckland.

Warm regards,
VR Takapuna Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

It is a very nice hotel, the location is great, you can see the distant view of the Auckland, the view is beautiful, especially at the night, and the food and beverage are great, the room is clean and tidy.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank jasonfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, Front Office Manager at VR Takapuna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2018

Dear jasonfg,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us particularly the meal in our in-house restaurant and the location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again.

Warm regards,
VR Takapuna Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews