We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Can't recommend enough”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Chez Nous Berjou

Beautiful area which is sunny in the mornings, perfect for breakfast!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful area which is sunny in the mornings, perfect for breakfast!
View from the road
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Beautiful area which is sunny in the mornings, perfect for breakfast!
View from the road
Roof of the outhouse and BBQ area
View from groundfloor bedroom window
Quiet spot against neighbour's old barn
Window to upstairs bedroom
The outhouse, secure and plenty of space to store bikes, kayaks and more!
Kitchen
Dining room
Lounge and fireplace
Wardrobe in downstairs bedroom
3rd bedroom upstairs with 2 single beds and a small toddler bed
2nd bedroom upstairs, you can see the curtain divide between the rooms and stairs
2nd bedroom upstairs
The stairs
View from one of the living room windows; blue hydrangeas abound in Normandy!
Roche de Oetre, a short drive/ride away
Sunset from bois de Berjou, a lovely 15 minute walk from the house
Great place to cycle, this was taken half a mile from Berjou.  Lots of lanes to explore
View of Pont Erambourg, Berjou is just the otherside of that hill
Old viaduct a few miles away
Sunset across fields in Berjou
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Pont-d'Ouilly, Calvados, Basse-Normandie, Normandy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
ChrisA511...
1 review
“Can't recommend enough”
Reviewed 28 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked this lovely little House in Berjou as a base for our holiday in Normandy.
2 families equalling 6 people in total and we had no issues with comfort. Always plenty of hot water, and the garden was large with a brick built BBQ we utilised most nights.
It's situated in Swiss Normandy and is approx 50 minutes to an hour away from all of the WW2 stuff.
A pleasant surprise was the village museum,telling the story of the liberation by the 43rd Wessex brigade. Staffed by enthusiastic volunteers, it's only open Sundays, unless it's the anniversary weekend.

There is so much to see and do locally if you're not history buffs like we are. Lovely walks, water sports, kayaking, climbing etc.

One of the delights was a visit to a goat farm approximately 30 minutes away and we spent two and a half hours there which flew by.

I can't recommend this house enough, Ollie the owner is very responsive to emails and answers within an hour or two. They also have an English speaking contact in the village for any issues.
Parking spaces for 2 cars comfortably but could put 3 at a push.

Would definitely go back again.
5 *****.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colinm811
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Le bijou de BERJOU - a small but very fine jewel”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Perfectly located to explore all that evergreen Normandy has to offer, from the historical North beaches to the Southern Basse Normandie fields and gentle hills, Chez Nous in BERJOU is a delight. An oasis of calm in a tranquil village. Well appointed and welcoming all amenities are to hand, from off road parking to al fresco dining. The bedrooms are comfortable and the main areas benefit from wood-burning fires for the chillier evenings. The kitchen is more than adequate and the dining area suits 4 rather better than 6. Larger families should perhaps also be prepared for the fact that there is only one bathroom (bath with shower) though the hot water supply is voluminous and readily available. Many thoughtful additions make for quiet, calm luxury. The windows with their built-in shutters are a particular example. All in all very high marks. If ever you needed a reason to (re)acquaint yourself with Normandy you have now found the perfect solution. Grab it before someone else does. Huge thanks to Julian & Harriet.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2017
Many thanks, Colin, we're delighted you, Lucy and your friends had an enjoyable stay and hope you will come again!

Kind regards, Julian, Harriet, Kate & Ollie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
401nick
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely location”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The village is such a lovely quiet location and the house is very nice - it worked well for us. All clean and tidy with everything you would need. The garden and bbq were enjoyed. It is worth mentioning that one bedroom upstairs is off the other bedroom but there is a large bedroom downstairs so plenty of room. All good I would recommend a stay here.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2016
Many thanks, Nick; we're delighted you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate L
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday!”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Just a wonderful picturesque & peaceful place to holiday. I slept so well!

Close to lots of fabulous walks, attractions, cycle routes & of course food & wine.

It's a beautiful old French Gite, with lots of space & a lovely big garden with space to bbq & sunbath!

Loved it, I will be coming back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
We are delighted you had a good stay at our gîte, looking forward to welcoming you all back. You were the perfect guests. Please pass on my regards to your family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JPVB
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Deilghtful Gite in Swiss Normandy”
Reviewed 13 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed at Cheznousberjou in early April this year. Booking was easy and it was easy to find the house with the directions provided. The house is very attractive and comfortable, nicely furnished and equipped with many amenities. The village is very quiet with an excellent bakery and shop where we bought the most delicious fresh croissants and baguettes. The area is very scenic with lots to see and do and there are many delightful restaurants and brasseries nearby. Overall we enjoyed a great stay and will definitely be coming back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Attractive & very comfortable
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing