We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
14
54
56
25
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
54
56
25
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tram stop tea and coffee plenty of parking old style motel location was perfect airport west don t expect down the road public transport city melbourne toaster twin claustrophobic pressure conditioner tariff
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Clean and has everything you need for a short or overnight stay. Nothing special but more than adequate and we always get a good sleep here. Highly recommend if you are not hung up on fancy places to stay but prefer value.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank GraemeB759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

I booked this room purely on location and price, nothing more than that.
This is an old school motel, the rooms and bathrooms are dated and in need of update.
It was winter in Melbourne, and I found the heater provided barely adequate heat for the room. It was ok once in bed and warm, but the room never really felt warm
The staff were not very welcoming, and a little officious I felt.
There are places around nearby to eat, and public transport is at the door, so location wise it would suit many people.
I wouldnt think I would stay again.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

This hotel is one of very few in Essendon and was very close to family so location was perfect. It is very close to public transport (trains and trams), a foodwork's supermarket and excellent coffee shops. Cost of apartment was very reasonable. We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment which was quite spacious but apartment was in need of some work, we had problems with light switches, toilet flushing and outside noise. Kitchen had all facilities we needed as well as a dining table so we could have family meals together. A laundry was also provided so we could wash some clothes which is invaluable for a young family.

Even with a few issues we will be staying again due to location and size of apartment at both of these were very hard to find.

Room tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter as the front is on main rd. They also have noisy functions under rooms at front of hotel.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ben P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

Convenient for it's closeness to the city & convenient public transport facilities virtually on your doorstep. The motel is showing it's considerable age & lack of modern facilities. Reception staff were welcoming but somewhat reserved in nature generally and did not make any attempt to inform me of the Wi-Fi access on check-in.
During our 3 night stay the bed linen was NOT changed at all, nor was the coffee or sugar replenished. The bathroom ceiling had visible mold. The room carpet could have done with a decent shampoo sometime in the last decade. Very poor soundproofing meant you could hear everything next door or in the room above. Checking of rooms from previous users appears non-existent as we found a packet of condoms stowed away in the closet next to the iron. There is no cable TV (Foxtel) & the TV was a small dated LCD Sanyo 32 inch model. A kettle & toaster with a small bar fridge is provided but no microwave although there is a communal one available at the rear of the motel in a small room. Blankets, extra pillows an ironing board & iron are also available in the room. Bed was comfortable & adequate & a/c was effective.

Room tip: Avoid lower floor rooms or near main road.due to poor soundproofing.
Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexanderMotorInn, Manager at Alexander Motor Inn & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2018

Thanks for taking time to put this review. Unfortunately we don't change bed linens everyday due to consistently provide budget accommodation for our guests, otherwise it will cost you more than just hundred dollar per night. We did replenish amenities every day so I appreciate if you could contact me to let me know which room did you stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

The positives: my bed was clean and comfortable
The negatives: my traveling companion's bed/room was not clean, not even made up; the rooms are tired and not as clean as they could be; the onsite restaurant is closed and there is no room service; the closest eateries are a fair walk away; not a very professional operation at all. If you want basic, it serves the purpose, but be aware of limitations, especially re meals.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews