We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our old standby at the lake, but...”
Review of Shore Acres Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Big Bear Lake
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Shore Acres Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Reviewed 23 August 2016

We've been guests of Shore Acres for a couple of decades now and I believe the same couch and chair are in the Sunrise cabin as 20 years ago. There are so few "affordable" lakefront places to stay in Big Bear, at $500 a night Shore Acres is a bargain believe it or not.
But please Big Bear Vacations - update these old girls! Keep the lovely old knotty pine and the funky old art work - but how about some new furniture every 10 years or so???
As always, the cabin was clean, the towels were fresh and the view was amazing. The 1960's fiberglass hot tub is always has a cool factor - but for those of us that would like to take a dip after dinner, stay open later than 7pm at least on weekends!
We'll be back. We always are. Surprise us with some upgrades!

Room Tip: Sunrise cabin is lakefront with a wonderful deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtDogBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Lakefront cabins are clean and have kitchens stocked with all you need to make a home cooked meal. You can catch your dinner on the lake, which is a minute's walk from your doorstep, and bbq in the picnic area. The pool is perfect for the whole family. The people at Big Bear Vacations are really helpful and the onsite managers are friendly and go out of their way to take care of you. Can't wait to go back next month.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
Thank MayonnaiseAndBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Came here with a group of 16 adults for a co-ed bachelor/bachelorette party, and this place was perfect! Small 1-2 bedroom cabins but perfect size, and some were right on the lake! I know there are a lot of bad reviews but they are OLD - the new owner/management have totally updated the place and they are completely clean with excellent quality linens, towels, and amenities. Onsite management couldn't have been nicer and took great care of us. Everyone who came thought this would be a perfect spot to come back to year after year. We used all of the amenities - boat dock, volleyball, horse shoes, pink pong, pool/spa and all were great! Loved it here!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kimberi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Came across an awesome deal on Groupon and booked a weekend stay at Shore Acres Lodge (Cabin Lakeview #109). My family and I have been to Big Bear Lake a couple times, and each time we have stayed in different areas around the lake. I think we finally found a place that we would actually book again! The cabin was very clean, cozy, and had all the basic amenities needed for our stay (e.g. towels, dish soap, etc). They also have onsight trash bins which was a big help so we wouldn't have to schlep trash bags down the road. The best part of our trip? The awesome view of the lake, which was literally 20-30 steps from the cabin! I would highly recommend this place for a nice little getaway! We will be back soon!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My review is not intended to be malicious, but I think you should know what you are in store for if you get Cabin #100 at this location. The cabin is very rustic, and while it has charm there were several drawbacks: MOUSE DROPPINGS in dishes, moldy shower curtain, trash in room from previous guests, toilet wobbling and detaching from floor, clogged shower drain (the staff was very prompt to remove, but proceeded to parade the hair and other bodily fluids that were stuck in front of us, the guests, through the bedroom dripping not the floor, out to the deck), TV/Cable was not functioning properly, chipped flooring (major tripping hazard), doors that did not lock, no front entry as it was through the back gate that was propped up with a 2X4, stove had to be lit with a match eat time (which we were not provided with), dirty walls, doors were filthy, pool table had debris all over it, couch looked like someone peed on it, bathroom fans not working and only the kitchen window opened, where we looked out on to some trash left on the overhang (laziness), the floor was disgusting, wiped up a spill and towel was black with dirt, overused bedding, the list goes on…BRING YOUR OWN COOKING EQUIPMENT and PAPER TOWELS, SOAP, etc. We also had some nice visits while sitting in the rec room, when some MICE RAN ACROSS THE FLOOR (we are in the woods, I know there are rodents, but these suckers were brave). The pool can be used by any other guests staying at Big Bear vacations, which equals a dirty and often crowded pool. The staff though, was attentive, friendly and seemed to do the best they could. This was a family excursion my Dad planned for their 40th wedding anniversary and I can say the accommodations were not up to par. Not certain how much was paid per night, but it should have been the cost of a tent site, not a cabin. We made the best of it and still had a great time, despite the accommodations.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Alyson F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Bear Lake
1 km away
Big Bear Frontier
Big Bear Frontier
#3 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
427 reviews
1.1 km away
Cozy Hollow Lodge
Cozy Hollow Lodge
#3 of 19 in Big Bear Region
137 reviews
4.3 km away
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
Best Western Big Bear Chateau
#1 of 19 in Big Bear Region
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The Lodge at Big Bear Lake, a Holiday Inn Resort
0.1 km away
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
Noon Lodge at Mallard Bay
#4 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
45 reviews
1.5 km away
Robinhood Resort
Robinhood Resort
#5 of 7 in Big Bear Lake
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Acres Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Acres Lodge

Address: 40090 Lakeview Drive, Big Bear Lake, CA 92314
Region: United States > California > Big Bear Region > Big Bear Lake
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Big Bear Lake
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Shore Acres Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing