We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
53
7
2
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
53
7
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrushing riverunique settinggolf carthot tubbeautiful placehuilo huilofireplaceforestwoodspa
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

We recently stayed at the Nawelpi Lodge for 2 nights. The accommodations are lovely as you can see from the pictures from the website. The restaurant was also very good, food is locally sourced and their chef is skilled at making elegant preparations. I did explore some of the property and used their spa. Outside of the Nawelpi Lodge the other hotels and the property itself appears to be suffering the effects of being situated in a jungle like environment. Most of the buildings are made of wood, and the rain and humidity has taken its toll on all of it. Maintaining a property of this magnitude takes a lot of time and money, and it appears that they have fallen behind in keeping up. That being said, it is still quite beautiful and certainly a unique setting. My spa service was disappointing, but not surprising. I don't believe the individual who provided me with a deep tissue massage is an any way a certified massage therapist. While the session was relaxing the therapist had no knowledge massage technique. I enjoyed my stay and feel it is certainly a unique place that is worth seeing once, but I would not return.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gumdoc45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 January 2018
Google Translation

Estimado pasajero,
Nos alegra saber que disfrutó de su estadía junto a nosotros y en especial, de nuestra gastronomía. Lamentamos leer que sintió que la técnica de nuestro masajista no era la óptima. Aprovechamos de comentarle que nos esforzamos constantemente por contar con personal calificado.
Lo esperamos en una próxima oportunidad.
Saludos cordiales,
Equipo Huilo Huilo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

Really a beautiful place, must go.
Good service, good food, relaxing place, exuberant vegetation. Really good trekking. Many activities to do, canopy, trekking, rafting, riding horses.
And the best service, people are very focus in providing a quality service

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sergio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

In a recent trip to the south of Chile, colleagues and I had one day to visit Huilo Huilo National Park before heading back to the US. We rented a car in Valdivia, drove 2.5 hours to Huilo Huilo and stayed in Nawelpi Lodge. It's perfect for 2 people, even 3 or more (they may give you a cot). Nawelpi is located a few min walk from the main Nothofagus Hotel. It has its own dinning restaurant or "club" as they call it. The service is excellent in Nawelpi. We got a guide/host that arranged our excursions (sunset view at the volcano, zip lining and hiking). Everyone in Huilo Huilo National Park are so attentive, but the staff in Nawelpi were amazing. Breakfast and dinner were included if you stay at Nawelpi. Food was amazing as well. Each lodge has its own hot tub. It's so relaxing and being so close to nature is calming. You can see/hear the river from your lodge and they turn the fireplace if you like to be warm and toasty at night. Please stay here, it's worth it! I will definitely come back and stay longer!

Room Tip: All the lodge in Nawelpi is close by. Number 7-10 are closer to the "club" or dining area
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ylim0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

The place is absolutely unique - beautiful architecture. Frankly, I had never ssen something quite like this. The Nawelpi lodge is beautiful- large windows, a whirlpool and you can hear the river. The best of Nawelpi, however, is the private restaurant. Every evening, you get a multi-course menu inspired by the area and prepared with lots of attention. Now to the "buts". Given the very (too) expensive price, you could expect a bit more attention to details. The phone in the cabin did not work and the maids refused to wash clothes because the laundry was overwhelmed. However, they had the laundry bag and price list in the cabin. Finally, there are too many people around this place in general, especially day guests that walk by to see the waterfall. In general, the place has grown too big and services just not picked up. For this exclusive price, I would expect slightly more exclusivity. What I liked a lot is that as a Nawelpi guest, you can use a free golf chart to drive around. The spa is far too expensive, especially the general admission. In general, even though it is a fantastic place and has a unique setting and arquitecture, the place still has some things to improve to be a true luxury resort that can compete to similar places in other countries, where this kind of high-end nature tourism is better developed. However, if everything was at the standard of the Nawelpi restaurant, I would never want to leave this place again. :-). A final comment - when we brought up some issues, an executive met with us to hear our "complaint" - an ununual sign that they really want to get better - which is much appreciated.

Room Tip: Choose Nawelpi, for more privacy and access to restaurant. The main hotels are big with lost of people.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sebastian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huilo Huilo R, Anfitriona y Gestora de Calidad at Huilo Huilo Nawelpi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your visit and your time to tell us your experience in Huilo Huilo Biological Reserve , thanks for your feedbacks to help us improve our processes and so ensure a great experience for our guests.

We reiterate our thanks and hope in a next visit with your beautiful family .

Sincerely ,

Ximena Miranda Urzúa
Anfitriona y Gestora de Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights with my wife to end our trip down south.
Hotel is pretty funky. Beautifully placed inside forest. Great hospitality.
Yet our room the faucet was loose, and there was no toilet paper holder.
Many excursions offered.
It's a great place to end a trip, thou somewhat pricey.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank corbovitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huilo Huilo R, Anfitriona y Gestora de Calidad at Huilo Huilo Nawelpi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting Huilo Huilo Biological Reserve thanks for your comments and your time for telling us about your experience.
For us it is very important your opinion to know if we are giving a satisfactory service.

Very grateful and hope you have had a good return to your home.

Sincerely ,

Ximena Miranda Urzúa
Anfitriona y Gestora de Calidad

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews