We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful meal”
Review of L'Ambrosia

L'Ambrosia
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Pezens
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$61
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

Visited this restaurant for lunch en route to Toulouse airport. We all had the set lunch for €25. Excellent quality, beautifully cooked and incredible value considering the menu includes amuse bouches, a pre-starter and mignardises with coffee. A good selection of wines and attentive service with English spoken. A lovely touch that the Chef Sebastian came out and spoke to every table. Cannot hesitate to recommend. We shall certainly be back.

Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at L'Ambrosia, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Mary,
Just thank you for this comment!
See you,
Valérie and Sébastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

My companions and I had a extremely enjoyable lunch at L'Ambrosia - the ambience was great; the service near perfect; the food delicious. I cannot personally comment on the wine but my wife assured me that the one she was recommended was excellent. The explanation for my use of the phase 'near perfect' is because the main course served to one of my companions was not cooked to his stated requirement. However, the error was quickly rectified. I have not visited this venue for many years as neither my wife nor I was enamoured of the previous owner's cuisine and I was delighted to hear that the restaurant was now under new ownership when it was highly recommended to me by neighbours who had dined there a couple of weeks ago. The fact that the Chef took time to speak to all the diners at the end of service was much appreciated. I would certainly recommend this restaurant as one to visit but would suggest that making a reservation is very advisable

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 0707David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at L'Ambrosia, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions tres sincerement pour votre avis, et votre passage chez nous!
A tres bientot!
Cordialement,
Valerie et Sébastien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Our family group of six arrived late-ish on bicycles, off a boat, after a hard day's negotiating (grid) locks on the Canal du Midi. We were welcomed into the attractive dining room, and waited upon by attentive, polite and pleasant staff. The food was brilliant with many little extras. We can recommend the speciality of the house, cannelloni stuffed with crevettes, also the duck and lamb were excellent, the lamb particularly tender and delicious. In fact we all ended up sampling each other's food! Puddings similarly seriously good. Not cheap, but Michelin starred dining rarely is: service and quality speak volumes about value for money on a special occasion.

1  Thank mesamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

First a few key points.

Easy to find, alongside a busy main road. Large car park.

This restaurant has a great terrace where the distance between tables is sufficient for smoke not to be a problem.

We stopped here as we were undertaking an Airport run. This restaurant is around 15 mins away.

We can manage a little French but struggle with the finer detail. No problem, this restaurant has a waiter who speaks very good English and can describe how the meal you are about to have is prepared.

We live on the island of Jersey and are fortunate to have four Michelin Starred Restaurants within 15 kms. This restaurant is of a similar standard. We particularly enjoyed the Lamb and Langoustine dishes.

We will visit again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bwyd2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at L'Ambrosia, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup d'avoir pris le temps de laisser cet avis, a tres bientot.
Cordialement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

We had read about this restaurant which was local to where we were staying in France for a summer holiday. It was also the first restaurant our B&B host recommended when we arrived so we knew we would be in for a treat.
We were very excited for the dinner seeing as the team are aiming for Michelin-stardom and had been open a relatively young 10 months.
We had the Carte Blanche/Chef's choice tasting menu for a relatively reasonable price in comparison to Michelin-starred restaurants and were treated to culinary delights including a fantastic twist on a tomato, mozzarella and basil salad for starter! Even the crystallised sugar sticks for the after-dinner coffees were a great little suprise alongside the homemade petit fours.
The staff were all incredibly friendly and polite and put up with our attempts at speaking French and fortunately had a front of house staff who spoke very good English.
The wine choice recommended by our waiter in accordance with our preferred tastes was delicious and one which we would not have normally chosen.

In summary, a great evening and cannot recommend highly enough!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Arjybhaji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valérie D, Gérant at L'Ambrosia, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2017
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup pour votre visite à l'ambrosia, peut être aurons nous l'occasion de nous revoir lors d'un prochain passage dans notre belle région!
Cordialement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed L'Ambrosia also viewed

Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne
Roullens, Carcassonne
 
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne
 
Villemoustaussou, Carcassonne
Carcassonne Center, Carcassonne
 

Been to L'Ambrosia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing