We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
43
3
2
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
43
3
2
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews eco village warm welcome interesting village pa bakery riot rye django
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2020

I stayed in Django’s for 9 nights and couldn’t have asked for a nicer stay. Pa was welcoming & approachable and had the place sparkling clean on arrival and throughout my whole stay. I felt comfortable & safe despite the strange times we’re in. It was clear how hard he works to keep the place running smoothly.
Breakfast was simple but delicious, the coffee was lovely & the sourdough bread from riot rye bakery was amazing. The level of attention to detail for the price of my stay made it really great value. Would recommend it to anyone wanting a lovely break in cloughjordan!

Bonus was getting to meet Django the dog for the odd belly scratch!

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Boochie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa Finucane, Owner at Django's EcoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Boochie, My apologies in getting around to replying to your generous review.
I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Django also sends his greetings.
Pa & Django

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2020

I had the great pleasure of spending a weekend at Django’s. The hostel itself was clean, good-value and comfortable. Pa was a courteous, humorous and attentive host. He was forthcoming with information and anecdotes about the eco-village and its various sustainability/environmental projects. Official tours of the village had not yet resumed post-covid, but we were lucky enough to be staying at the same time as a guest who knew the site well. Between her and Pa’s guidance I felt we were able to get a good sense of the project. It’s an interesting village to stroll through, guided or not, filled with allotments, orchards, and unique architecture.

Django’s straddles the eco-village and original village of Cloughjordan (they are right next to each other), making it easy to pick up supplies. Though many businesses were closed because of Covid-19, there were still grocery stores, day-time cafes, and a takeaway restaurant, which was more than enough to meet our needs.

I visited with an aunt whose mobility is limited and another who was traveling with a small dog. With notice, both were given suitable rooms. I was very happy with my room on the second floor, which was comfortable with a nice view. The room rates were very good value.

Covid-19 guidelines such as social distancing and increased cleaning were being observed for the entirety of our stay. Pa seems committed to maintaining safe practices and is adapting his business as needed.

Overall I was very happy with my two nights at Django’s and would recommend a visit! I look forward to checking out the sensory garden, woodland, and nearby bogland the next time I’m over, which I missed this time.

Date of stay: August 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank conorh836
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa Finucane, Owner at Django's EcoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Hi Conor,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give this comprehensive and generous review.
I'm delighted that you were pleased with your visit to our ecovillage and that you were happy with your stay.
I very much look forward to accommodating you and your family group again sometime in the future.

Best wishes,

Pa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2020

Really enjoyed the stay at Django's...very family friendly, casual and comfy. Felt just fine doing our self catering in the ample kitchen. Felt safe and secure, even with the wind blowing a gale outside (well, it is January! haha) Pa Finucane is a fine host. The people at Cloughjordan are so welcoming...the work they are doing (living in intentional community) is important.

Date of stay: January 2020
Thank cloudbird9
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa F, Owner at Django's EcoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2020

Thank you so much for your review and taking the trouble to make it.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and in the ecovillage.
I hope we can look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2019

Django's Hostel (named for the lovely hostel dog, Django, himself called after the jazzer Django Reinhardt) is set in Cloughjordan Eco-Village, an intentional community of people who have built their homes on the land of an old Anglo-Irish estate to live in a green and earth-friendly way.
The hostel is super-clean, with a catering-style steel kitchen supplied with sturdy white crockery, plenty of good pots and pans and a couple of electric cookers. The rooms vary in size - we shared a family room, with a double bed and bunks and a nice ensuite shower and facilities; that was €80 each for three days. You can also sleep in a dormitory, or in single rooms.
In the kitchen, a fridge has common supplies on the top shelf (left by the very nice Django proprietor Pa or contributed by departing guests), and lower shelves where guests can store their own food while they're staying. There are plenty of wooden tables and chairs where you can eat looking out at the beautiful fruit trees and flowers of the village. Ingredients like olive oil, soya sauce, etc, which you normally remember, cursing, are available.
There's a pleasant living room to relax in, with squashy chairs and couch, and pictures - nice abstracts and a couple of pictures of Django Reinhardt, natch.
Cloughjordan town has a couple of excellent cafés - The Middle Country, spacious and crafty with lots of cakes and salads, and Sheelagh na Gig, a bookshop-cum-cafe which also sells fresh local farm eggs.
Cloughjordan Eco-Village has brought a cosmopolitan feel to the sleepy little town, and many languages and accents can be heard and a multicultural feel is central. Ninety-seven per cent of the children ride their bicycles to school, and eco-villagers have a right to an allotment of their own, and can buy great organic produce from the village's farm.
The eco-villagers recently built an amphitheatre for plays and music; their homes are surrounded by 200 apple trees from 75 native Irish varieties.
The local bakery, multi-award-winning Riot Rye, is run by a family who have been making and selling organic food for two generations; their sourdough breads in several delicious varieties are for sale in the Centra shop at one end of town. Riot Rye's proprietors also run an extremely popular bakery school.
There are many wonderful walking trails and nice cycles near the town, including Knocknacree Wood, dedicated to poet, teacher and revolutionary Thomas MacDonagh, born and raised in the town (his statue looks benignly down the main street).
The town is a centre for amateur drama - to the extent that two to three nights every week in winter, the drama society is filled with rehearsing people from town and eco-village. There is even a weekly course in circus skills for local children - it's to be expected that the next generation of Irish actors and musicians will come from here.
I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Django's Hostel. We were warmly welcomed by Pa (and Django, who normally lives quietly upstairs but came down to greet us on his way to walks). I would certainly stay here again.

Room tip: Ask Pa when booking and he'll advise you
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucille R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa F, Owner at Django's EcoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2019

Hi Lucille,
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to write such a generous review and particularly for expanding it to describe in detail our ecovillage, the local town and the wonderful mix of talents and people living locally.

Pa & a woof woof from Django

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019

I had a private room with ensuite. Clean, all the basics and great hospitality. The Eco villiage is a blended villiage with eco and standard housing. Has great events.

Django's was clean, quiet and in a beautiful location. Pa the host was friendly and excellent.

Kitchen was clean and a nice warm lounge area.

Basics all there :)

Room tip: I had a corner ensuite, but gues said even the dorms were nice...
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LiamZone
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa F, Owner at Django's EcoHostel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2019

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your kind review.
I'm very happy that you guys enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that we will see you again sometime in the future.
Pa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews