We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveller rating
71
83
36
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
83
36
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuspension bridgechocolate tourhanging bridgesprivate reservenon profitcosta ricanight tourlunch and dinnerfer de lanceeasy accesspoison dart frogsnice gift shopsarapiqui riverresearch stationacross the riverself guided touramazing chocolate
Filter
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We are from Australia and we are wildlife photographers. We have been fortunate enough to visit Tirimbina before, but this time we made sure we stayed longer! The guides at Tirimbina are some of the best in the country. Their knowledge and passion is outstanding (and we have been out with tonnes of guides). I love Tirimbina because you could spend a week here without leaving the property. Do every tour you can and pay a little extra to do private night walks and day walks, as you can stop and enjoy every single thing when you are on your own with your guide. The trails (for walking on your own in the day) are well marked and easy to navigate. Do more than one night walk if you can. IT IS WORTH EVERY CENT! Of course, wildlife is wild, so there are no guarantees, but we saw 10 species of mammal in two nights including a sloth, kinkajou, mexican porupine and woolly opossum. LOTS of frogs including the Strawberry Poison frog and many reptiles, including a boa constrictor. I highly recommend the bat and frog tour. Now, FOOD! The food here is AMAZING. I would at least have dinner and breakfast here, but the lunch is also great value and completely delicious. It depends on whether you will be out walking all day or not. Pre-book dinners and breakfasts and let them know about lunch when you get there. Spend a MINIMUM of three days here (seriously) ... I stayed five and it wasn't enough!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sharon_Wildlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This lodge was a gem of a find. We were looking for a good place to stay while birding in the area. Tirimbina offers wonderful accommodations with access to its own private section of the nearby rainforest. Trails are well marked and laid out to access multiple types of habitat. The guided bird walk was quite affordable and led by an experienced and knowledgeable guide (Christhian). The accommodations are clean and well maintained. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are quite affordable compared to other options. Food was OK but a bit expensive - we opted for the free breakfast and only paid for dinner. Don't stay in one of the "lodges" in Puerto Viejo and drive to the forest... take a short taxi ride ($15) to this place and wake up to the birds outside your window.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vktroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here for our first 2 nights in January. Saw more wildlife here than anywhere else in Costa Rica. The food was plentiful & good. The trails into the rainforest were well maintained and exciting to explore on one's own, but you see much more with a guide. I would urge you at least take the chocolate tour. The birdlife around the lodge itself is very impressive, and it is delightful to sit on your back porch while watching. In the guava orchard in back of the lodge there were many Oropendolas. We were only a few feet from a large group of howler monkeys approaching us on the cables of the suspension bridge at the beginning of the 3PM chocolate tour. We also took a night walk into the rainforest and saw a Fer-de-Lance as well as a multitude of frogs & insects. For what you get I thought it was an excellent value. Just avoid being there on New Year's Eve as most of the employees go home early to spend the time with their families.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haveboozewilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Nice guide Micheal, funny and entertaining.
The philosophy behind this organisation deserves the price. It's a little too much for the value of the tour.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

This was the high point of our trip to this area. My husband was reluctant to go, but we talked him into it. And he had a great time. The guide walks you back into the rainforest to an abandoned cacao plantation. There you sit and watch while you are shown the entire process of making chocolate - the original way without sugar ! And it was fantastic. They have designed a program that is enlightening, entertaining and hands on. You get to try chocolate at every stage of the process. If you are looking for a couple of hours of educational fun, you cannot go wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Loretta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews