We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful tours, lodging was below average”
Review of Tirimbina Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tirimbina Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Virgen
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I stayed here as part of a school group for two nights. First of all, the tours that we went on were great and all the guides are really fantastic. You must do the night hike! However, the lodging left a little to be desired. The first evening around nightfall my room became home to many flying insects I was later told were termites. They were literally everywhere. Then I was stepping into the shower and found a two huge spiders. Now, you are in the middle of a rainforest, so a few bugs are expected. They all appeared to be coming from the gap under the door, so the second night I stuffed a bath towel underneath it and walla! no bugs. That gap is something that could be easily fixed with a piece of plastic. Also, the bathroom seemed worn-out and hot water was very unpredictable. Overall, the tours and educational experiences here are must-do, but the lodging is not the greatest.

Room Tip: Stuff a bath towel under the door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keenebean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

Thanks for your comments! We will take care of the bug situation, but this region is full of life!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

We are from Australia and we are wildlife photographers. We have been fortunate enough to visit Tirimbina before, but this time we made sure we stayed longer! The guides at Tirimbina are some of the best in the country. Their knowledge and passion is outstanding (and we have been out with tonnes of guides). I love Tirimbina because you could spend a week here without leaving the property. Do every tour you can and pay a little extra to do private night walks and day walks, as you can stop and enjoy every single thing when you are on your own with your guide. The trails (for walking on your own in the day) are well marked and easy to navigate. Do more than one night walk if you can. IT IS WORTH EVERY CENT! Of course, wildlife is wild, so there are no guarantees, but we saw 10 species of mammal in two nights including a sloth, kinkajou, mexican porupine and woolly opossum. LOTS of frogs including the Strawberry Poison frog and many reptiles, including a boa constrictor. I highly recommend the bat and frog tour. Now, FOOD! The food here is AMAZING. I would at least have dinner and breakfast here, but the lunch is also great value and completely delicious. It depends on whether you will be out walking all day or not. Pre-book dinners and breakfasts and let them know about lunch when you get there. Spend a MINIMUM of three days here (seriously) ... I stayed five and it wasn't enough!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SharonForest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

This lodge was a gem of a find. We were looking for a good place to stay while birding in the area. Tirimbina offers wonderful accommodations with access to its own private section of the nearby rainforest. Trails are well marked and laid out to access multiple types of habitat. The guided bird walk was quite affordable and led by an experienced and knowledgeable guide (Christhian). The accommodations are clean and well maintained. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are quite affordable compared to other options. Food was OK but a bit expensive - we opted for the free breakfast and only paid for dinner. Don't stay in one of the "lodges" in Puerto Viejo and drive to the forest... take a short taxi ride ($15) to this place and wake up to the birds outside your window.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vktroyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Stayed here for our first 2 nights in January. Saw more wildlife here than anywhere else in Costa Rica. The food was plentiful & good. The trails into the rainforest were well maintained and exciting to explore on one's own, but you see much more with a guide. I would urge you at least take the chocolate tour. The birdlife around the lodge itself is very impressive, and it is delightful to sit on your back porch while watching. In the guava orchard in back of the lodge there were many Oropendolas. We were only a few feet from a large group of howler monkeys approaching us on the cables of the suspension bridge at the beginning of the 3PM chocolate tour. We also took a night walk into the rainforest and saw a Fer-de-Lance as well as a multitude of frogs & insects. For what you get I thought it was an excellent value. Just avoid being there on New Year's Eve as most of the employees go home early to spend the time with their families.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haveboozewilltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Nice guide Micheal, funny and entertaining.
The philosophy behind this organisation deserves the price. It's a little too much for the value of the tour.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MIZAWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Virgen
7.1 km away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sarapiqui
665 reviews
18.2 km away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
199 reviews
13.4 km away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#1 of 1 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.9 km away
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
Maquenque Eco-Lodge
#1 of 1 in Boca Tapada
459 reviews
0.2 km away
Sarapiquis Rainforest Lodge
17.1 km away
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tirimbina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tirimbina Lodge

Address: Tirimbina Biological Reserve, La Virgen 3069, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > La Virgen
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Virgen
Price Range: €50 - €87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tirimbina Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Sarapiqui region, the Tirimbina Rainforest Lodge along the Sarapiqui River, is contiguous to a Biological Reserve of 852.5 Acres.We offer 12 comfortable rooms with A/C, safe deposit box, hot water, WI-FI, and phone. Enjoy our welcoming atmosphere and discover the exciting tropical forest, walking along several trails and suspension bridges of tropical forest and river discoveries from our study trails and bridges.Services (Restaurant, laundry , 24h security, a be-lingual staff welcomes)Facilities (souvenir shop, parking lot, A/C conference room, library, internet access) Attractions: (More than 9km trails, chocolate tour, bird watching, bat program, self walking tour, guided tour, night walking tour, eco education programs, volunteer and research opportunities and more) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Tirimbina Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tirimbina Hotel La Virgen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing