We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway”
Review of Mirador Prendas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mirador Prendas
Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

We spend one night at the mirador and it was like the hotel was for us... no other customers...
The road to "climb" to Mirador is really an adventure but it worth it !
The hotel is really well done, the handwork is impressive and the rooms are magical ! The view is also so relaxing.
Our room was really big surrounded by trees. The paintings and the decoration in the room was perfect. We had a terrace with a private bar then we have to climb few stairs to arrive to our perfect room : big bed, really clean bathroom. To fall asleep with the sound of the jungle is so PURA VIDA!
We did the canopy and we had really great time! Zipping between the monkeys and toucans...
A special thanks to Miguel our guide (included in the room rate) who met up in Horquetas and guide us until the mirador. Without him who would not have done the road ! So scary haha
He also took us for a little hike where we have seen a dozen of toucans! He explained us some plants and trees of Costa Rica and was always at our service ! Speaking really good English !
A must see if you're looking for Costa rican experience

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2016

I had not re-read reviews before we arrived at Mirador Prendas. When our GPS first told us to go over a creaky bridge, I thought that we had the coordinates wrong, until I saw a faded sign with "Mirador Prendas". We continued on over another creaky bridge and about 30 minutes of very bumpy roads---four wheel drive a must. When we arrived, we saw a beautiful and big lodge ahead of us! The lodge has big banquet rooms and seemed the perfect setting for a remote wedding or gathering, yet the place was practically empty. The family was warm and helpful. The food was delicious, although there was no set menu. It was truly as if we were the first ones to come and be interested in food. The owner shared some of his home made wine with us. We had the family bungalow which had 13 bunk beds and a big swinging double bed that my kids fought over. The room was rustic, and you want to bring your own sleep sheet or sleeping bag. There was really no issue with mosquitoes this high up, but the room was open air up high and there were bats swooping around the top of the room which we loved! The place is filled with art and sculptures, mostly wood carvings. The pool is a beautiful wading pool which the kids also loved. I was told that they were constructing more which is why they were pretty empty. This truly is a magical place if you don't mind being way remote from everything. Wonderful for a family. They offer horse back riding, a hike to a waterfall and ziplining. I did not feel comfortable with the ziplining, as I was unsure what regulations there are in Costa Rica, and I did not know how often the zipline was used. This really was a fun highlight for us, as we felt like we got "off the beaten path". My kids are ages 12, 9 and 7.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Abigail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

What can I say about this place ? No words can describe what we've lived there. The whole family made us feel at home, great food, great people, great view. The most generous people we've met in Costa Rica.
Thank you so much for everything. And a special thank you to Alvaro who took us at 5.30 AM to watch birds and take a walk in the beautiful forest.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mag G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

Cannot recommend this place enough. It is a truly magical, almost surreal retreat. The amount of effort put into the treehouse is unbelievable and the attention to detail is evident round every corner.

The owners are a wonderful family who made every effort to make us feel welcome, and Nay in particular went above and beyond! Between his efforts and Google translate, we had the best time. He took us on a trek to a waterfall giving up the best part of his day and asked nothing for it.

The final bill was very reasonable for this magical experience and we throughly enjoyed our time here. Not for the faint hearted but absolutely worth it.

You will need a 4x4 to get there, we attempted it in a city cab (best taxi driver ever) and eventually had to be rescued by someone from the hotel! Well worth the effort though.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Giselle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

If you want to visit the Costa Rican rainforests come here. The accommodation is nestled harmoniously in the surrounding jungle with sounds of nature all around. Nay looked after us amazingly well and went out of his way to ensure our stay was a memorable one. His local knowledge was incredible and the trek to the waterfall is an experience I will always remember. A tip for travellers visiting, you will need a 4x4 for the last leg of the journey, not a taxi (as we attempted). Mirador came and picked us up, but we were unaware we'd need to arrange this.

If the San Jose taxi driver happens to read this, you are an absolute legend and I can't thank you enough for trying to get us there

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank ca7ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
4.6 km away
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
Hotel Hacienda Sueno Azul
#1 of 1 in Horquetas
204 reviews
15.5 km away
Hotel El Bambu
Hotel El Bambu
#2 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
155 reviews
18.2 km away
Tirimbina Lodge
Tirimbina Lodge
#1 of 1 in La Virgen
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.1 km away
Selva Verde Lodge
Selva Verde Lodge
#1 of 2 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
701 reviews
9 km away
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 5 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
147 reviews
32.4 km away
Cinco Ceibas Reserve
Cinco Ceibas Reserve
#2 of 7 in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirador Prendas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirador Prendas

Address: Horquetas de Sarapiqui | Horquetas de Sarapiqui, Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui 41003, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Heredia > Sarapiqui > Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui
Price Range: €41 - €51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mirador Prendas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mirador Prendas is a rural tourism project 100% Costa Rican located in Horquetas of Sarapiqui. We have multiple services and activities available for the whole family we have a unique architecture. We operate canopy, rappelling, river safari, paintball, guided walks and more. We also offer shared, private and The Tree House Room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Mirador Prendas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing