We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
16
6
0
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
16
6
0
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bumpy hike treehouse toucans tours nature rainforest lodge
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2016

I had not re-read reviews before we arrived at Mirador Prendas. When our GPS first told us to go over a creaky bridge, I thought that we had the coordinates wrong, until I saw a faded sign with "Mirador Prendas". We continued on over another creaky bridge and about 30 minutes of very bumpy roads---four wheel drive a must. When we arrived, we saw a beautiful and big lodge ahead of us! The lodge has big banquet rooms and seemed the perfect setting for a remote wedding or gathering, yet the place was practically empty. The family was warm and helpful. The food was delicious, although there was no set menu. It was truly as if we were the first ones to come and be interested in food. The owner shared some of his home made wine with us. We had the family bungalow which had 13 bunk beds and a big swinging double bed that my kids fought over. The room was rustic, and you want to bring your own sleep sheet or sleeping bag. There was really no issue with mosquitoes this high up, but the room was open air up high and there were bats swooping around the top of the room which we loved! The place is filled with art and sculptures, mostly wood carvings. The pool is a beautiful wading pool which the kids also loved. I was told that they were constructing more which is why they were pretty empty. This truly is a magical place if you don't mind being way remote from everything. Wonderful for a family. They offer horse back riding, a hike to a waterfall and ziplining. I did not feel comfortable with the ziplining, as I was unsure what regulations there are in Costa Rica, and I did not know how often the zipline was used. This really was a fun highlight for us, as we felt like we got "off the beaten path". My kids are ages 12, 9 and 7.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Abigail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2015 via mobile

What can I say about this place ? No words can describe what we've lived there. The whole family made us feel at home, great food, great people, great view. The most generous people we've met in Costa Rica.
Thank you so much for everything. And a special thank you to Alvaro who took us at 5.30 AM to watch birds and take a walk in the beautiful forest.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MagG108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

Cannot recommend this place enough. It is a truly magical, almost surreal retreat. The amount of effort put into the treehouse is unbelievable and the attention to detail is evident round every corner.

The owners are a wonderful family who made every effort to make us feel welcome, and Nay in particular went above and beyond! Between his efforts and Google translate, we had the best time. He took us on a trek to a waterfall giving up the best part of his day and asked nothing for it.

The final bill was very reasonable for this magical experience and we throughly enjoyed our time here. Not for the faint hearted but absolutely worth it.

You will need a 4x4 to get there, we attempted it in a city cab (best taxi driver ever) and eventually had to be rescued by someone from the hotel! Well worth the effort though.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Giselle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2015 via mobile

If you want to visit the Costa Rican rainforests come here. The accommodation is nestled harmoniously in the surrounding jungle with sounds of nature all around. Nay looked after us amazingly well and went out of his way to ensure our stay was a memorable one. His local knowledge was incredible and the trek to the waterfall is an experience I will always remember. A tip for travellers visiting, you will need a 4x4 for the last leg of the journey, not a taxi (as we attempted). Mirador came and picked us up, but we were unaware we'd need to arrange this.

If the San Jose taxi driver happens to read this, you are an absolute legend and I can't thank you enough for trying to get us there

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank ca7ah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews