We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel El Bambu(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
US$109
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada Andrea Cristina(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Heliconia Island Bed & Breakfast(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cinco Ceibas Reserve(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Mirador Prendas(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Selva Biological Station(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Tropical Paradise(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Villas Club Las Palmas(Puerto Viejo de Sarapiqui)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (759)
Filter reviews
761 results
Traveller rating
337
287
92
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
337
287
92
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverhowler monkeysitalian restaurantcosta ricaprimary forestcovered walkwayair conditioningbuffet styleroad noisenight walkgrand toursuspension bridgelunch and dinnerla selva biological stationdining areaceiling fanlong walk
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 761 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2017

Stayed here for one night as part of Thomson Grand Tour of Costa Rica. The room we had was very basic no A\C and wooden shutters on the windows. It was though very appropriate for its location in the middle of the rain forest. Food was traditional Costa Rica. The best part was the view of all the wildlife and birds you could see feeding whilst eating your food. Whilst here we went on a tour with a guide in to the rainforest and crossed the river on a dodgy old hanging bridge that was being upgraded. If you love the wildlife of Costa Rica this pla e is heaven

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tajsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

Super friendly and helpful front desk and bar/restaurant staff. The room we booked was too close to the road so we asked to change to something a little quieter...they gave us an incredible riverside room! Thanks, Gustavo! Guided hikes with Ivan and Alfredo were amazing (we did the night and morning hikes). Very professional and clearly enthusiastic about what they do. The a la carte Italian restaurant was really good. Good drinks...thanks to Eduardo. The riverside room and the guided hikes really made this the #1 experience of our trip. Thanks, Gustavo, Ivan, Alfredo, Eduardo and everyone else at Selva Verde Lodge! It should be noted that the grounds are in the middle of the rainforest so i think it's impossible for it to be "clean", which is why I rated it a 3. The room itself was nice and clean.

Room Tip: The rooms near the river are quiet and peaceful..."noise" comes in the form of birds, monkeys, crickets and flowing water.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcw21j2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2017

Brought a university group of 16 to Selva Verde Lodge in October and we got to experience a truly unique rainforest experience. Everyone at the lodge was super friendly, especially Gustavus and we felt welcome the whole time. We went on a few guided walks with exceptional guides, Ivan, Alex, Ron, and we got to see so much wildlife both day and night. Crossing the bridge to the more remote forest was a highlight for most in our group, others preferred the comfort of the gardens. In all it was a great place to stay and experience Costa Rican nature and we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LittleDove218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017

This hotel was my favorite in Costa Rica - Loved the wildlife and the vegetation. The rooms are okay but you can sleep right outside in the hammock if you want to - and that I loved. Had a really fun time at the lounge area and the breakfast area has beautiful views. White water rafting is close by.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank kmberle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

My daughter, her 4 year old son and myself (Grandma) spent 2 days at Selva Verde Lodge in Sarapiqui. It is a lovely place in the rainforest with long covered trails and lots of wildlife. We saw basilis lizards, iguanas, poisonous frogs, green tree frogs, toucans, monkeys, cotamondi, hummingbirds, and many other beautiful birds. The staff are exceptional and go out of their way to make sure you have a good visit. Our 4 year old loved seeing his friend, Juan is and always got excited when he saw him. We met the grandsons of the owner at the pool and enjoyed their company. They also gave us some insider information which was very helpful. There was plenty of things to do at the lodge which was really nice since we did not have a car.

The accommodations were great and even though the room was not air conditioned, we had a nice breeze and slept well with the rain falling at night.

We did a boat ride and hired a guide, Ivan for a short hike the last day. Both were enjoyable. The guide had a spotting scope which allowed us to see the animals up close and get good pics. Even though we had seen a lot before he was able to show us much more and was great with our child.

I would recommend this place to anyone who wanted a unique and rustic experience without roughing it. It was great!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Marilyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews