We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOME FROM HOME”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Setter Townhouse B&B
Ranked #2 of 11 Carlow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2011

I arrived at the guest house and was warmly welcomed by Gavin Feeney the owner. I was shown to my room which was spacious, comfortable and well furnished with a double bed. The room had tea and coffee making facilities. A comfortable armchair in my room made working on my laptop a pleasant task with free WiFi.
The breakfast offered a good choice of cerals, fruit and juices as well as a full Irish breakfast. My work appointment wa not until 1230 and I was able to spend the morning working in a comfortable sitting room and Gavin kindly brought me coffee (no charge) at 11. Why pay almost twice as much for a hotel and not get the home comforts.

The guest house is right in the centre of Carlow and has a large enclosed car park which is free.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irvine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

97 - 101 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2010

We stayed one night, without reservation. The room was very big and clean. Good sleep without a noise, and the car was in the private parking of the guesthouse. Big breakfast in the morning and nice talk with the owner who gave us a lot of suggestions regarding what to do&see on our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

My wife and I originally intended staying overnight in Kilkenny during a 14 day private tour by car of Ireland, but on arriving there decided to drive on to Carlow. The town is a delight with excellent shops, and everything within walking distance. The friendly lady and the Tourist Information office (next to the cathedral) suggested we stay at the Red Setter, and it was one of the best recommendations ever!
The Red Setter House rates as one of the two very best B&B's we stayed in during our tour of Ireland. Unfortunately the WiFi did not work, which was a disappointment, but a lovely meal in the Teach Dolmain pub made up for it - they serve the best Irish Stew in all of Ireland!
Red Setter House is centrally situated with safe parking behind, and the host Gavin is friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Great location with secure parking for my car. Also had free wifi which is rare these days.
Husband and wife team were very friendly & helpful and breakfast was top class.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank APJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2010

I stayed just one night but after a delayed flight and travel problems I phoned to explain my delay and Gavin gave me advice and bus information that meant I could arrive at the Red Setter that night - albeit very late.

I chose the RedSetter from the internet without any review and was really pleased once I arrived to see how bright and airy and well decorated it was with interesting pieces and pictures dotted about.

In the morning breakfast served and really relaxed friendly atmosphere. Could not fault. I will be back for a longer stay with family.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrpGloucesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlow hotels
2.9 km away
Woodford Dolmen Hotel
0.2 km away
Dinn Ri Hotel
Dinn Ri Hotel
#4 of 5 in Carlow
117 reviews
0.4 km away
Seven Oaks Hotel
Seven Oaks Hotel
#3 of 5 in Carlow
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Talbot Hotel Carlow
0.1 km away
The Clink Boutique Hotel
1.1 km away
Avlon House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Setter Townhouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Setter Townhouse B&B

Address: Red Setter House 14 Dublin Street | Carlow, Carlow, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Carlow > Carlow
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Carlow
Price Range: €73 - €83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Setter Townhouse B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Setter Town House B&B offers town centre affordable accommodation in Carlow. Based in an unrivalled central position we provide FREE lock-up car parking to all guests.We are next to a large selection of services: shops, restaurants, pubs, attractions. We cater for all types of guests: business, weddings, birthdays, families etc. A warm friendly welcome and a memorable stay await you. We invite guests to enjoy absolute comfort and privacy with immediate access to the heart of the town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Setter Townhouse B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing