We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Old Farmhouse

The Old Farmhouse is an 18 century stone cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Farmhouse is an 18 century stone cottage
The Old Farmhouse Lawned garden with seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
The Old Farmhouse is an 18 century stone cottage
The Old Farmhouse
Lawned garden with seating
Lounge with log burner
Modern Kitchen
Fully equipped kitchen
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Downstairs shower room
Up Stairs Washroom
Play Area/ Climbing Frame
Walks from the cottage
View of surrounding area from back of cottage
Our Free Range Chichens
Lambing Time
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Darley Moor, Matlock, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
vonne155
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed 3 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Had a lovely time in Derbyshire.The cottage was great lovely and warm and everything we needed.Lovely walks up back lane through the wood my 2 wee dogs loved it too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark G
Brandon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Would Visit again Tomorrow if I had the Chance”
Reviewed 27 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Can only say good things about the old farmhouse, very old fashioned but still has most of the mod cons and essentials you need (and more than your average holiday let) Dog friendly was a bonus for us too.
Shelley, the owner, very friendly and helpful. The location is superb, very peaceful and some great walks (Yes I did go down to the Brook and my legs still hurt!, but it was worth it)
Wifi was a bit iffy but sure this will be resolved as owner did explain. It was actually quite nice to be cut off from wifi for a change to be honest, phone signal not great but did actualy get 4G.
Will certainly be going back one day I hope, thankyou for making us feel welcome

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: My car getting muddy
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
L000999
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“beautiful calm family stay”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great cosy character and functional cottage, in a lovely part of the country.
wonderful farmer owners, (Steve & Shelley) who were very helpful, but also allowed for privacy.
definitely recommend a stay at The Old Farmhouse.
My 8 yr old loved collecting fresh eggs with the owner shelley, and they tasted great! we even made cakes with them to share with the owners.
You are close to beautiful attractions,- Treak cavern at castletown, also matlock cable carts, and cave, monsal cycle trail near bakewell which was brilliant!, to mention a few.
Only slight down fall for us at the cottage was that the shower wasn't as powerful as we would have liked, but certainly shouldn't put anyone or any family staying at this tranquil holiday cottage.:)

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davidcull...
Manningtree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent.”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Excellent well equipped accomodation, very friendly and helpful owner,and delicious breakfasts. Good laundry and drying facilities in wet weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phllstph4
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Found this place on the last minute while looking for somewhere to take my wife for a romantic break with Ebony our dog!
We only could stay for one night and Shelly provided the most wonderful afternoon tea and breakfast.
The cottage is beautiful with all the mod cons but still retaining a lovely rustic feel.
It is in a magnificent location with country walks and stunning views.
Shelly is a fantastic host and is only next door if you need anything.
We will certainly be returning for a much longer stay.
Regards
Steve Lesley and Ebony.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing