We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, traditional and refreshing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Les Sources des Alpes
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017

From the moment we entered the hotel we were made to feel like guests and not just paying customers. The manager was there to welcome us and we felt rather special. The room was lovely and had a large balcony with a pretty view of the alps. It could have benefitted from modernising and yet was very charming and very clean. The restaurant was a highlight, food and service was wonderful. The bar was disappointing as the cocktails were very expensive and some what watery. We stayed in May 2017 and the hotel was closing for some renovations so I would be very excited to revisit and see what they have done with the place. If you want a refreshing weekend away with a lovely pool and great food this is the place for you. The manager and his team deserve a big thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Relais & Chateaux
Thank 902jillianv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourcesdesAlpes, Manager at Hotel Les Sources des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your detailed comment. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Les Sources des Alpes.
We will of course check the negative point with our bar team in order to prevent this kind of disappointment in the future.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards,
Andrea&Antoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We booked on the morning of our stay and arrived 3 hours later. We were warmly welcomed, with cool towels and the paperwork already prepared. My partner had been stung by a wasp and a bag of ice was quickly brought, plus directions to the pharmacy. The room (south facing deluxe) was very nice, with separate bathroom (bath, shower, 2 sinks) and toilet, plus a small balcony with a stunning view down the valley. The bed was a super king and luxurious. There was a handwritten personal greeting and bowl of fruit. Spa treatments were excellent and the outside pool is great - including hidden massage jets at different heights.

All great so far, then we went for dinner!

There are 2 restaurant choices, a degustazione restaurant and an a la carte place. It turns out that these two restaurants are actually different zones in the same large room, partially separated by wall. The lighter, airier, better view part was the degustazione. The a la carte diners are relegated to the dark corners. We are vegetarian and the degustazione was not really an option looking at the menu. When we arrived in the restaurant there were several nice tables free in the degustazione area but we were not allowed to sit there (we were told we could switch, but only if we took the more expensive option). We sat at the 'cheap' table but it was really a dingy corner with no atmosphere. After ordering we changed our order to room service so we ended up with a really nice meal and a fabulous view down the valley. This is a much better option, highly recommended. I have to say that we were disappointed in the attitude of the waiter, even though he was also Italian.


Breakfast was very nice, a mix of good buffet and ordered hot plates. Unfortunately the list of ingredients for the omelette neglected to list the pancetta, which was copious. A 'slate' of honey straight from the hive was a highlight.

So all in all a fabulous stay, almost ruined by the restaurant experience.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Frostietheboarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourcesdesAlpes, Manager at Hotel Les Sources des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your very detailed comment. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and are very sorry for the disappointment in the Restaurant regarding the table situation.

We hope to welcome you back soon again and send you Indian summer greetings from Leukerbad.

Andrea&Antoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

We have visited this hotel September 2017. All staff were very polite and friendly at all times. The room was nice and a good size with the balcony overlooking the town. Handwritten note from the management made us feel even more welcomed.
The indoor spa was a bit dated ( in need of refurbishment) but all the staff were more than friendly. It was nice to find such large spectrum of cosmetic treatments. Facials, massages, wraps not talking about manicures and waxing. The lady called Anna was super efficient and knowledgeable, she recommended me some skincare products.

Every room has a free spa voucher per person but don't forget to mention it when you book the treatment ( otherwise you will loose it ! ).
This hotel has a good size gym. Outdoor pool, jacuzzi, steam room, sauna. The temperature in the pools is +36+38 C.

The dinner was a little disappointing. My scallop starter was just a snack ( with one scallop ( see the picture) and some fruits).
I had a crab for my main course and the portion was again very small. In this case the quality was good but the quantity let them down.

Another recommendation to the hotel. There must be at least one member of staff present at all times during the dinner.
Hotel has a good selection of Swiss wine but we were waiting for 15 minutes to try it ! The staff would come in all together 4 or 5 of them, serve the dishes and then disappear for 10 minutes. This is what happened all evening.

Another thing no kettle in the room ( and this is 5* hotel ). We asked for a kettle and the kettle arrived without tea or coffee.

This is a good 4 star hotel. We would definitely come back there for another relaxing weekend. I hope that management will read this and will make some improvements.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Annyta19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourcesdesAlpes, Manager at Hotel Les Sources des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Thank you very much for having taken the time to write down your experience in our hotel. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we will definitely work on the points you mentioned in your comment in order to totally satisfy our guests.

Best regards from sunny Leukerbad
Andrea&Antoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

The Spa, the food, the service and friendliness and not to mention.. the room: epic hotel. From the moment you step through the front door until check-out you feel like a valued guest, bathing in luxury. Every detail has been taken care of, lots of amenities. Would certainly recommend it to people that feel like indulging a bit or have a special occasion to celebrate.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DKoevoets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourcesdesAlpes, Manager at Hotel Les Sources des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your special day with us and hope to see you back soon again.

Andrea & Antoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Location: Great location for the start of the hike to the gorge, and only a 10-15mins walk to either of the cable cars and the town centre where there are more restaurants and services.

Service: Very friendly and helpful service from hotel and restaurant staff. Andrea and Antoine worked hard to make you feel welcome and to ensure you had a relaxing stay. There was a valet and porter service when we arrived which was helpful for our luggage, and underground parking was free.

Hotel common areas and spa: The spa area was super clean. The pools were amazing (and I don't usually like pools but I went in everyday!). Because they only have 30 rooms, the pools were never too busy either which was really good. Your room included slippers and bath robe for use in the spa, as well as 15mins spa voucher to add to any treatment which you booked. There was a good gym available and also yoga/zumba offered on certain days (zumba was not being offered on our arrival day despite what was advertised on the website - maybe this should be updated?). The lounge area in the lobby was very comfortable and you could order teas and coffees there if you wanted to sit and relax. The hotel in general was well kept and very clean. There is water available from a dispenser in reception at all times.

Room: We had a superior south facing room which had a beautiful balcony overlooking the mountains. It was an ok size - not too small but not overly spacious either. The bed was large and very comfortable, and there were very good pillows provided as well as a fluffy duvet. I usually have to ask for extra pillows but these were enough on their own. There was enough lighting in the room. The bathroom was well appointed with a double sink, separate bath and shower (which had good pressure) and plenty of toiletries including shower cap and hair conditioner (something which isn't always included even in posh hotels!). The toilet and bidet was in a separate room - there was enough space to put in a vanity sink to wash your hands which would have been a good addition - maybe something the hotel may consider if they refurbished at some point. The decor in the toilet was 'interesting'!? The rest of the room's decor was decent but nothing special - it didn't have the wow factor but was still more than satisfactory. Housekeeping was very good, did a decent job making up the room everyday, and replaced toiletries every day without an issue. There was complimentary fruit and macarons on arrival, and then two bottles of complimentary water (one sparkling and one still) every day too which was very helpful. The television had a good range of local and foreign channels, and also had an HDMI port if you wanted to plug in your own device.

The downsides included no air conditioning - it was uncomfortably hot in the warm weather especially at night. It was a bit of a relief when it actually rained and cooled down. This would make me hesitant to visit in the height of summer. The design of the room meant the TV was not at a comfortable angle to watch from the bed. The floor space was a such that it would've been difficult to fit two large suitcases if we'd been staying for more than a few nights. There was plenty of cupboard space but if like me, you prefer to keep your clothes in your suitcase, then it got a little cramped. There was no pull out washing line across the bath so we had to dry our swimming costumes on the side of the bath which then dripped onto the floor. They were only little things but still nevertheless enough for me to give a four rather than a five star rating overall.

Food: Breakfast was exceptionally good. There was both buffet and a la carte included in the room price and the choice of foods was varied and they were tasty. They even had a fresh honeycomb from a hive which I've never seen offered before. The a la carte menu had a good range of choice and the chef was open to requests as well. Room-service was good as there was no tray charge. The brasserie menu was on the expensive side for a main course considering the portion size. The side dishes were much better value for money. All the food was tasty, and the service of all the waiting staff was excellent.

Overall value for money: This was still slightly on the expensive side even for Switzerland. While we really enjoyed our stay overall and thought the hotel was very, very nice, we would probably only consider staying again if there was an offer available on the room rate and during low season. That being said, I would not hesitate to recommend the hotel to other people.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giggles123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SourcesdesAlpes, Manager at Hotel Les Sources des Alpes, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Thank you very much for having taken the time to review your stay with us in detail. It is very important to us to receive those feedbacks in order to improve our services and to fix the small problems immediately. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be more than pleased to welcome you back very soon to beautiful and fresh Leukerbad.

Andrea & Antoine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leukerbad
0.5 km away
Hotel Le Bristol
Hotel Le Bristol
#6 of 26 in Leukerbad
471 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Waldhaus
Hotel Waldhaus
#2 of 26 in Leukerbad
146 reviews
0.2 km away
Therme 51° Hotel, Physio & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.8 km away
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
LeCrans Hotel & Spa
#1 of 41 in Crans-Montana
305 reviews
13.7 km away
The Cambrian
The Cambrian
#1 of 15 in Adelboden
881 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel dala
Hotel dala
#10 of 26 in Leukerbad
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Les Sources des Alpes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Les Sources des Alpes

Address: Tuftstrasse 17, Leukerbad 3954, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Leukerbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 Hotels in Leukerbad
Price Range: €268 - €643 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Les Sources des Alpes 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A revitalizing bath in the open air in the own thermal springs of the Hotel Les Sources des Alpes is one of these simply unforgettable experiences. At the foot of the impressive cliffs of the Gemmi, you will find harmony and pleasure of living, in a prestigious hotel and its 30 spacious rooms, junior suites and suites, its Spa and its excellent gourmet restaurant La Malvoisie. Here, the routine is quickly forgotten and the stress kept at a distance: it is time to think about you. Whatever the program of your day is, enjoy the moment to its fullest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Les Sources des Alpes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing