We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveller rating
10
13
7
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
13
7
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 30 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2015

We are expats in Switzerland for many years and still cannot get enough of mountain chalet style. We loved Ecureuil for traditional décor, for spacious rooms, for peace and quiet despite central location. Train/bus station , mountain train, shops and restaurants are a few steps away.
Perfect for skiing and for summer hiking as well. Our friends had a room with well equipped kitchen corner and dining area seating 6 people.
Free internet, convenient ski room

Room Tip: For a longer stay it is nice to have a room with the kitchen-home cooking is healthy and allows for savings :-)
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tiklaima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We arrived on a Friday afternoon for a 1 night stay. Having checked on tripadv and booking.com review scores, decided on this hotel. However, it is too over priced for what is on offer.
The room is out of date but if the olden style is your thing...then that is ok. Carpet was a kind of rough synthetic material more often found in older office buildings and I had difficulty breathing through the night and found the room to be too dusty. The size of the room was big with a table and seating area.I could feel the springs in the bed and the bedding left a lot to be desired.

The owners were very friendly and breakfast was simple but charming. Not a huge selection, but sufficient enough.

We paid 200 CHF for a double room for the night, and I have stayed in much more modern and luxurious places both in the Alps and other European cities, so for this reason, I am disappointed and would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swiss_voyager83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Having stayed at the Chalet RoyalAlp earlier in the ski season (only because we got a good deal), we recognized that Ecureuil was going to be a bit of a step down. That having said, it was quite a step. Overall, it's a bit of a mixed bag. I can see why people would stay here, but I'm not sure that we'd stay here again.

On the plus side, the price is good and so is the English of the owners. THere are also fridges in the rooms so you can store food and (if you want) avoid having to pay an arm and a leg at the local restaurants. Also, although it's a bit further out than some of the other hotels, it's literally only about a 5-7 minute walk (in ski boots with gear) to the train. So that's quite respectable. The breakfast isn't fancy but there are plenty of carbs if that's what you are in the mood for (not bad for skiing, not good for dieters).

On the not so nice side, it is a little bijou and right out of the 1970s. There are signs on the TV that warn you not to turn up the volume lest you disturb your neighbors. Guess the engineers hadn't heard of soundproofing. Also, there are only twin beds in the hotel. However, if you ask for the "big sheets for the big bed", this somehow magically translates into them doing something to bring the beds together. Shame that we didn't find out about that until our last night and they didn't even offer it to us as an option. Also, we had friends staying with us who had a young child; and we were't exactly sure how thrilled the management was to experience that.

While I'm not sure we'll choose Ecureuil if we go back to Villars, but it's not bad as a baseline. I just have a sneaking suspicion that Fluerie and Golf might be a pinch better. But it might also depend upon the price and the time of year.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank sd_in_switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This is an excellent place for simple and traditional Swiss accomodation in the wonderful town on Villars. Well placed for a the ski train up the mountain ( genuinely a three minute stroll) the accomodation was generous, clean, charming owner, simple breakfasts and great value in the face of the Swiss Franc v GB Pound onslaught. Dont go if want to be sat up in the hotel bar ( there isnt one) but do go if want well placed decent stay. I travelled with my 10 year old son

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alderleywedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

Been several times in the past year.
Charming family owned hotel.....great value for money....great location....free parking, super friendly staff....no brainer....you can go there with your eyes closed as the French say
Pretty simple- so dont expect fancy stuff- but they are good where it matters- the bed, the shower (water pressure), breakfast, location, quiet and price AND the owner is a charming fellow.....if you are a high maintenance customer, I'd say pay 5 times more and try somewhere else...if not....you'll be happy here.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeDude13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews