We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
FindHotel
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
57
62
37
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
57
62
37
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews star standard needs renovation swimming pool min walk great stay slopes skiing view passes summer
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for two nights at the Etrier hotel in early September, for short and relaxing vacation in the Alps.
Upon checking in, the friendly but highly inexperienced staff gave us an old and dark room with two tiny single beds.. Any professional and seasoned front office person would ask a couple if they prefer a single bed?
We moved subsequently to another room, facing south which was slightly better and had one large bed.
However there was no air conditioning and the temperature in the afternoon with full sunshine must have been 45° in the room...
The rooms are old-fashioned in a very old building and the beds have headboards, caution if you are a tall (I am 196 cm tall, or 6’5’”).

The garden with lounge chairs and the indoor outdoor pool all very nice.
Pull together however we would not return to this hotel, given its old and aged and dusty feeling... The hospitality industry is changing and improving in this hotel is frozen in time.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Henri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 May 2017 via mobile

Come here for my son's graduation at the hospitality school nearby. First night I got a small twin bed room facing back towards the street so I upgrade myself for a Queen size bedroom with mountain & pool view which is 200x better!!! The receptionists are very helpful & friendly, unfortunately restaurant only serves breakfast during low season. Cran Montana town centre is just 5 min walk away with restaurants, cafe, shops & even luxury brand shops. Good location, highly recommended.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank MaryN1689
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This year is my 5th year staying at Hotel de l'Etrier, combining a high level medical meeting, great food, and spectacular skiing and views. The hotel staff are very friendly and eager to help with anything you need. The room I usually get is spacious and clean, and the bathroom is high end. Meals served at the hotel are wonderful and there are also great restaurants nearby. Love this place !!!

Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StuM238
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2016

This hotel is a very traditional Swiss hotel, and we had a nice time there, but I am extremely disappointed by the poor hygiene standards of their pool and spa.

It is old and dirty... You can see spider webs, dust, grease spots, dark spots all around the seans in the sauna and the hammam. I hope they do something about this because it is disgusting.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frogimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 January 2016 via mobile

No hotel transfers from the funicular.... For such a large hotel in a competitive market it is something I have come to expect.
As we are here for a celebration we booked a small room as we will be skiing and going out and using the room for the minimum. However expected it to be a cosy jwell designed room... The first room ... Sorry to say stank, was dirty and frankly pushed shaggy chic to the limit. The second room is much better but not a touch of taste or cosiness. The beds are 2 singles despite having confirmed that it would be a double.
Luckily we are going out, but we were only told on arrival that the restaurants of the hotel both of them are closed for private functions both nights of our stay.
Not impressed.

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AuntieIzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews