We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
174
19
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
174
19
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gourmet restaurant front desk loft suite extremely attentive staff swiss luxury panoramic view pool area wine list mountain hotel ski trip fireplace hosting balcony alps cran skiing michelin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2021

Really great hotel in a nice quiet location at the edge of the village. Its small and very friendly. Staff were absolutely amazing, friendly polite helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The lady on the front desk recommended a brilliant hike which we very much enjoyed and it was absolutely brilliant and a real experience, the hike of a lifetime around 4 hours and challenging, which was exactly what we were looking for. Ate in the restaurant and had the tasting menu - absolutely superb with great service.

I had some massages and used the gym and pool which were all lovely, the gym is small but perfectly formed for a quick workout whilst on holiday to work off all that amazing food. Pool is a big size and there is a steam room and sauna, pool area has plenty of space for sunbathing.

We had one of the basic rooms which was small but beautiful inside with clever storage, it is a old hotel and it was depicted correctly on the pictures as a small room so no issue there.

There is no air conditioning as expected in a older property, my only recommendation would be to have some fans available in the rooms in the summer. It was super hot when we were there and even with the window open it didn't provide much relief, the front desk kindly arranged a fan but would be good to have these readily available.

The hotel arranged golf for my husband and it was all organized perfectly.

We live only 3 hours away and would definitely go back a huge thank you to the really wonderful and friendly staff who made our stay so memorable.

Date of stay: September 2020
2  Thank Sara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Séverine Bestenheider, Autre at Hostellerie du Pas de l'Ours, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Dear Sara_Mitchell159,

Thank you for your accurate review about our Hotel. We were glad we helped you to have a wonderful experience in Crans Montana. Our swimmimng pool, renovated last year is dedicated to relaxation and we are delighted to read that you enjoyed the whole spa area and the gym.
The heaters work well in winter, and fans are available when it starts to be hot.
Crans Montana is one of the best resorts with its 160 kms of paths and walks, with beautiful clear water lakes and breathtaking views over the mountains.
We hope to welcome you here another time.

The team Pas de l’Ours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2021 via mobile

Second visit in the month, we are already looking forward to coming back.
The relais & château hotel offers very cozy and comfy rooms, where everything is put together to be simple and functional, but with utmost attention to detail and quality.
Staff is super friendly, and we love that the hotel is connected to a second hotel, which opens a lot more possibilities for dining! Especially in these circumstances. Please see our second review on the Bistro de l’Ours

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank I5171KRwilliamv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Séverine Bestenheider, Autre at Hostellerie du Pas de l'Ours, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

You are right! It is such a chance to have the two hotels connecting : this allows you to choose the atmosphere you prefer for your next meal. Our Bistrot des Ours is managed by our Michelin star Chef Franck Reynaud and his talented staff, whereas our Fer à Cheval, the second restaurant is dedicated to mountain style food lovers, with a variety of meat and cheeses fondues and raclette, a not-to-be-missed during a holiday in Crans Montana.

Thank you for your reviews.

The team at Pas de l'Ours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021

Arriving to this hotel, they call themselves 5 star hotel which I quite don't get. There's no doorman, no Valley Parking in an underground carpark, that is super tight if fully booked. No one comes to greet you in the car park and you're stumbling around to find the reception. Checking at 16.30 and get told "we are not sure if your room is ready". Normally when you check in to a hotel your room is ready by 15:30 the latest. That said, we got really nice and welcoming people at the front desk. The hotel does not have a bar but they are sharing a Bar with the 4 star next door which sort of resembles a very tired function room for your mum's 50th Birthday. On a good note though the rooms are outstanding and the bathrooms are too. The Guy Valentin working at the front desk is just 10/10. He is extremely service minded and listened to all our feedback. Coming back to bad things though, when we dined in the Brasserie (as the fine dining is not open due to Covid) we had a really bad experience with the Maitre D'. Totally arrogant and up himself, he definitely took the hotel (if it ever was) from 5 to 3 stars. He was sooo rude and we do understand that sometimes people have a bad day but it should never reflect this bad on paying customers. That being said the food was spectacular and congrats to the chef! We will never come back to this hotel because of this Maitre D' who was just super rude. As we asked for the bill he almost forced us to pay with Credit Card/ Cash because he thought in his arrogant mind that we stayed in the 4 star next door, owned by the same owner. As a matter of fact we have never stayed in a 4 star and never will. We will never stay here again and just wanted to make other people aware of that one person! Avoid at any cost cause he will ruin your holidays!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Flyer721781
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Séverine Bestenheider, Autre at Hostellerie du Pas de l'Ours, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your explicit review, and thank you for mentionning what you did like in our hotel, such as the efficience of the front desk staff, even though no one was there upon your arrival directly in the garage, which can park 15 cars, as the numbers of our rooms and suites, or the quality of the food served to you. Obviously, as you metionned, the Bar de l’Etrier is part of the same family owned property, and has this rustic and pastoral style, expected in authentic chalet, with a beautiful fireplace and breathtaking views with large windows right in front of the Valais Alps. The Hostellerie du Pas de l’Ours have reconciled contemporary and traditionnal influences in creating an elegant and refined setting. The atmosphere in the Relais and Châteaux properties is carefully coordinated to offer you the best of experience and we regret that you didn’t appreciate the style given to the service by our Maître d’Hôtel, who freely expresses himself to share his passion and guide you through your dinner. We believe, maybe innocently, that he gives a lot of personnality to our Bistrot and has a huge personal involvment in making our guest stay an unforgettable experience.

The team at Pas de l'Ours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2020 via mobile

Was here with my wife and 4 year old boy. He loved the new pool! Staff were very friendly and supportive. Restaurant and breakfast were great. My family loved the room with the fireplace lit every night and the great view. Was expensive but we were looking for a cozy non crowded get away.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 999Ammar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 July 2020

The hotel design, décore is lovely and the new pool is very nice. The staff are very friendly. Nevertheless, it is not a 5 star experience in terms of service quality and the hotel is to expensive for what you get e.g carrying your suitcases to your room, offer/charges at breakfast not being explained, forgetting to serve us one course at dinner, a small gym with 50% equipment out of order etc.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Little_Laura1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews