We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$400
Hotels.comUS$398
PricelineUS$400
TravelocityUS$398
TripadvisorUS$398
ZenHotels.com
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (203)
Filter reviews
203 results
Traveller rating
173
19
8
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
173
19
8
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gourmet restaurant front desk loft suite extremely attentive staff swiss luxury panoramic view pool area wine list mountain hotel ski trip fireplace hosting balcony alps cran skiing michelin
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 203 reviews
Reviewed 16 January 2021

Arriving to this hotel, they call themselves 5 star hotel which I quite don't get. There's no doorman, no Valley Parking in an underground carpark, that is super tight if fully booked. No one comes to greet you in the car park and you're stumbling around to find the reception. Checking at 16.30 and get told "we are not sure if your room is ready". Normally when you check in to a hotel your room is ready by 15:30 the latest. That said, we got really nice and welcoming people at the front desk. The hotel does not have a bar but they are sharing a Bar with the 4 star next door which sort of resembles a very tired function room for your mum's 50th Birthday. On a good note though the rooms are outstanding and the bathrooms are too. The Guy Valentin working at the front desk is just 10/10. He is extremely service minded and listened to all our feedback. Coming back to bad things though, when we dined in the Brasserie (as the fine dining is not open due to Covid) we had a really bad experience with the Maitre D'. Totally arrogant and up himself, he definitely took the hotel (if it ever was) from 5 to 3 stars. He was sooo rude and we do understand that sometimes people have a bad day but it should never reflect this bad on paying customers. That being said the food was spectacular and congrats to the chef! We will never come back to this hotel because of this Maitre D' who was just super rude. As we asked for the bill he almost forced us to pay with Credit Card/ Cash because he thought in his arrogant mind that we stayed in the 4 star next door, owned by the same owner. As a matter of fact we have never stayed in a 4 star and never will. We will never stay here again and just wanted to make other people aware of that one person! Avoid at any cost cause he will ruin your holidays!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Flyer721781
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Séverine Bestenheider, Autre at Hostellerie du Pas de l'Ours, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2021

Dear Sir,

We thank you for your explicit review, and thank you for mentionning what you did like in our hotel, such as the efficience of the front desk staff, even though no one was there upon your arrival directly in the garage, which can park 15 cars, as the numbers of our rooms and suites, or the quality of the food served to you. Obviously, as you metionned, the Bar de l’Etrier is part of the same family owned property, and has this rustic and pastoral style, expected in authentic chalet, with a beautiful fireplace and breathtaking views with large windows right in front of the Valais Alps. The Hostellerie du Pas de l’Ours have reconciled contemporary and traditionnal influences in creating an elegant and refined setting. The atmosphere in the Relais and Châteaux properties is carefully coordinated to offer you the best of experience and we regret that you didn’t appreciate the style given to the service by our Maître d’Hôtel, who freely expresses himself to share his passion and guide you through your dinner. We believe, maybe innocently, that he gives a lot of personnality to our Bistrot and has a huge personal involvment in making our guest stay an unforgettable experience.

The team at Pas de l'Ours

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2020 via mobile

Was here with my wife and 4 year old boy. He loved the new pool! Staff were very friendly and supportive. Restaurant and breakfast were great. My family loved the room with the fireplace lit every night and the great view. Was expensive but we were looking for a cozy non crowded get away.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 999Ammar999
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 July 2020

The hotel design, décore is lovely and the new pool is very nice. The staff are very friendly. Nevertheless, it is not a 5 star experience in terms of service quality and the hotel is to expensive for what you get e.g carrying your suitcases to your room, offer/charges at breakfast not being explained, forgetting to serve us one course at dinner, a small gym with 50% equipment out of order etc.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Little_Laura1660
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 February 2020 via mobile

We arrived at this pretty hotel in a small Swiss ski village
Our room was ready and our room was attractive and had a lovely view
We had our dinner in the Michelin starred restaurant on the first night and the food while costly was tasty and then oops
The day we came back from skiing there was not even one bottle of water in the room . When we called they delivered the bottle of water one for two persons I guess we did not pay enough for our stay !
We had booked to eat our dinner at the hotel both nights in a row but due to an event that was being hosted in the hotel we were told that we could not eat at the hotel ( this happened a few months after we had reserved
What was most distressing was we were not given the option to cancel

We were given restaurant options and assured that the shuttle would take us .

On thé second evening we came down expecting to be taken to dinner with the shuttle .oh no ! There was a line up for the shuttle so there would be a significant wait while we stood in line for the single shuttle available

We were at this point seriously displeased and drove ourselves to the restaurant recommended by the hotel

It was so mediocre I could not believe this was the recommendation

The next morning we gladly departed . When we told the staff of our unhappiness all they could do was shrug their shoulders

This is a relais and Château property and in the old days they would have been sent on their way .

On an aside it is rare one visits a ski hotel where breakfast is not included .
Well this is the case with this establishment

Am I returning ?

I will let the reader conclude . Think long and hard before u chose this property is what I suggest .

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank 12345iamalive
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Pasdel0urs, Propriétaire at Hostellerie du Pas de l'Ours, Relais & Chateaux, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2020

Dear guest,

Our Property is a family hotel. It did not work for you indeed. Luckily, the other guests do get the spirit of the House.

Best regards,

Séverine Bestenheider-Reynaud (present upon your departure)
Owner - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2019 via mobile

Most incredible mountain hotel I’ve ever been before! I had a little trip with a friend of mine and we fell in love since the first step in. The building is so beautiful and cosy, they also have a lovely French restaurant in house and the staff was really kind and helpful, from Anaelle, Pierre, David and all the others. Great job guys! Really recommend for family, couples and friends! We also have seen the best sunrise ever from our room. See you soon, Crans-Montana!!!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank mia8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews