We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
41
57
17
3
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
57
17
3
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2015

Average accommodation but very good breakfast. Not impressed that restaurant closed when we arrived (Thursday is a quiet day apparently!). Also rude welcome from host as apparently we didn't let him know that we arriving an hour after our estimated time of 7pm. What happens to the customer is always right saying!

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Climber570508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2015

Parking is limited but possible at this family feel hotel. It's not the most smart, stylish or modern but everything was clean and comfortable. It's the sort of place where they should get new towels but the bathroom is large and the shower works well so what the heck. Unusually in our experience of southern Germany, it also had a tea and coffee tray which was welcome. The bar and restaurant were good value and had a brilliant atmosphere with a selection of home cooked local dishes. Not sure English is spoken so be aware if you don't speak German.
The best thing is the location off the main road in Schwangau (so quiet) but still affording an excellent view of Schloss Neuschwanstein. The castle is probably walkable if you fancy a 45 minute stroll. It was 5 minutes in the car.

Room Tip: Request a castle view
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank judith h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

Thank you so much for your lovely comments about our guesthouse. It is lovely to hear you enjoyed your meals in our restaurant and the spectacular views of Neuschwanstein Castle and the Bavarian Alps that can be seen from our first floor terrace and our rooms with castle views. Most of our staff speak English, so I am sorry that only German was spoken to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2015

We had 3 nights in this lovely hotel. We really enjoyed our stay but it wasn't perfect, nothing ever is. Firstly, we loved the position of the hotel, just one block off the main road in the centre of town, because of the position there is no road noise. You can easily walk to the castles and the cable car as it is only a 2km flat walk. The lake is also only a 15 minute walk. The rooms are large and the staff who make up the rooms are very friendly and leave gummy bears on your bed each day. The buffet breakfast was really good value, you couldn't ask for more. There are printing facilities available for free. There is a terrace off the first floor where you can take drinks, it has an amazing view of the castles.

Now what we didn't like, I am 5'10" and my husband 6' and we were on the 2nd floor which has a head clearance of about 6'3" or maybe 6'4" so if you are very tall it would be uncomfortable. In the shower the top of my head skimmed the ceiling which made it difficult to wash my hair. Although we asked for a double room we got two single beds pushed together which I am not a fan of, they were very soft and saggy so we didn't sleep particularly well but other guests may find soft beds comfy. The walls are quite thin so you heard a lot of noise from the rooms on either side but we quickly got used to this and it didn't bother us. Also we were sent an email asking if we would like the hotel to book our castle tour tickets for us, we emailed back that we would and heard no more. When we enquired about our tickets at the hotel we were told it takes two days and the person who orders them was on holidays anyway so we would have to get them ourselves. Can't understand why they asked if we wanted tickets in the first place and as it takes 2 days for them to come to the hotel, if you are staying only one or two nights you will have to get them yourself anyway. The line up for tickets at the castles is around 2 hours plus wait during the day so be sure to get to the ticket office at 9am or wait until later in the afternoon.

We ate two evenings in the restaurant downstairs and the food is incredible, real home style Bavarian, couldn't recommend it enough. The restaurant closes early though, one night we came back for desert at 8.15pm and it was already shut but there is another hotel on the main road which stays open later.

Despite the little things that weren't that great, we really enjoyed our stay at Hanselewirt.

Room Tip: If you are tall ask for a room on the first floor which has more head clearance than the second floor.
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Maggie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed most things about your stay. The room you booked is described as "Small Double Room with Low Ceiling". And it is exactly that. Both you and your husband are quite tall, so I can imagine our small room with low ceiling probably wasn't best suited to you. We do recommend taller guests not to book this category for the reasons you mentioned. We have seven other oom categories on the first floor which suit all our guests. You did in fact have a double bed, the Bavarian style is 2 single mattresses as opposed to one double mattress. This style also has two single duvet covers as opposed to one large cover. It is a double bed though! I am sorry to hear about the quality of the mattress and can assure you that we will address this. I apologise also for the problem with the castle tickets. The weekend you stayed was still very busy. I wrote you a mail a week before your arrived asking if you would like us to book tickets. We only heard back from you the day you arrived, so we had presumed you didn't need this service. I did respond to your mail, but you wrote you were travelling from Prague so probably didn't read the mail before your arrival. Our ticket service is very popular saving a lot of queuing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2015

We were a family of 4 and received a nice area to ourselves, including a spacious bathroom, spacious living area space in bedroom and another separate bedroom.
Nice, clean and cozy. Rooms decorated nicely.
The only drawback of the rooms were because it was hot, we had to leave windows open and neighbours were loud partying away till late at night.
We also used their restaurant for dining and breakfast.
Nice waiters but slow kitchen, very very slow as we were told only one chef and the restaurant was 80% full.
Breakfast buffet was adequate but slight slow refills.
Definitely would like to come back.
Recommended for its closeness to Neuschwanstein, Fussen, Oberammergau.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Crazyfeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2015

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The family room you stayed in is new this zear and very popular with our guests because of its size and comfort. I am very sorry that our neighbours were so loud. It is not normal for this to happen. We were extremely busy in our restaurant when you were staying with us and we were waiting on new staff to arrive, so again I apologise for this inconvenience which was rectified a couple of days later. We would be delighted to welcome you back to Schwangau.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015

Booked the night before while in Italy during a two month journey. When we got off the train in Innsbruck, we discovered that train, road, bus, taxi, everything had been stopped into the Garmish area due to the G7 Summit as a security precaution. We had booked a non-refundable room here, but though we would still go ahead and explain our situation in the faint hope that they would be understanding. We didn't hold out much hope for a refund, but neither did we expect the rudeness we were subjected to by the woman on the phone. "What do you want me to do about it? This has been going on for days now, you should have known about it", and similar nasty comments spewed forth. Why be so nasty? Certainly glad that not everyone in Germany showed the poor character this woman possessed, we were treated so well by the wonderful folks in Mittenwald, where we were stranded, she could learn some class from them.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank shellz61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rschweiger, Manager at Hotel Hanselewirt, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2015

Thank you for taking time out to fill out comments on our hotel, even though you never stayed here. I am genuinely sorry that we couldn't cancel your booking free of charge at 6pm on the day of your reservation as you requested, quite insistently. I don't think we were rude, we just couldn't comply with what you were requesting on the phone. You booked a non-refundable room at a greatly discounted price. Check-in is between 3 and 6 pm and you called at 6pm to "cancel" a non-refundable room for circumstances outside of our control, as you were travelling from the town where the G7 was on. I am genuinely sorry for your predicament, but how were we to know that you were trying to travel from the town where the G7 was on and you only realised at check-in time that you couldn't make it. I wish you all the best for future travels and would recommend googling your chosen destination in advance for holidays and other special occasions that could affect travel. We would have happily provided you with this information had we known where you were travelling from.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews