We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
57
31
7
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
31
7
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews residential area large room great location schloss neuschwanstein minute drive hotel is located euro breakfast balcony view
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Lovely room with view of lake. Great location. Very short drive to castles and several restaurants as well as the larger town of Fussen. Nice breakfast, second day found out that they would prepare eggs however we wanted them. Great spa facility that didn't seem to get used by many people. They did charge when we asked for bathrobes to use in the spa. Not a big deal. Really charming. All of the staff very pleasant.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of lake or castles.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anita8882016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

We spent one magical evening in Schwangau, Germany, to visit the castles. We toured LInderhof, Hohenschwangau, and Neuschwanstein! We were most fortunate to select Hotel Maximilian for our stay. We had a lovely two-bedroom accomodation with a balcony that had a view of Neuschwanstein. The very large room had a sitting area that allowed us to relax after a couple of busy days of touring. Barbara greeted us upon our arrival and was SO helpful in suggesting arrangements so that we could fit everything in to our limited time in Schwangau. The breakfast buffet was the delicious. We were on a month long trek through Europe, and the breakfast was the most incredible that we encountered during that time. Thanks to Barbara and her entire staff for making our stay so special! We look forward to returning!!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on the top floor with a balcony that you could view Neuschwanstein!
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trailsend007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The hotel is located in a residential area, just a few minutes walk away from the lake shore where you can eat in terrace while watching the sunset, and just a few minutes drive from the castels. The rooms are nicely decorated with a balcony but the view was limited (from ground floor). Staff speaks english and french.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on upper floor if possible
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruno J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

My wife and I were traveling with two young children, and lodging options for such families are somewhat limit. Hotel Maximlian had the perfect setup for us, with a two room suite at very reasonable rates and a nice and quiet location. The hotel was clean and the service was very friendly. Breakfast was delicious, and I only wish we had time to take advantage of the spa. My favorite part was that the staff went above and beyond and packed us brunch in brown bags for us to take with us when we left, since we checked out before breakfast was served. It was a very personal touch and made the trip to the airport much easier (and tastier!). I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adsilb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Charming cosy hotel close to the lake,10 minutes drive from the castles.
The staff was extremely friendly and thoughtful (thanks Barbara for the great service).
Nice and spacious rooms, our was on ground floor but still had a balcony, cosy bar area and small but nice SPA. Free WiFi. Free parking.
Top quality breakfast!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Yogibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews