We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
62
66
20
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
62
66
20
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews room was large first floor one night window boxes no elevator neuschwanstein castle bread enjoyed our stay bavarian hotel typical german breakfast clean bathroom three nights german hotels yogurt bavarian style the main road cold cuts
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2016

The room had a very good size and all the amenities that we needed. The bathroom was modern. We loved having a view of Neuschwanstein from our room. Breakfast was good. There is no elevator and I believe that all of the rooms are in the 2nd and 3rd floors. When we arrived, the restaurant was no longer serving food but there are a few restaurants nearby within walking distance; also the parking lot was full but they were able to find a spot for us by moving one of their cars. The castles are a few minutes away. Great budget hotel.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Luisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2016

The hotel is situated in a traditional village close to the castles. Our room had an amazing view of Neuschwanstein at night and it was very quiet. The decoration was antique but the room was very clean and tidy. However, the hotel has very poor phone reception and the internet is extremely expensive (charged by the mega). Totally avoid if you need any type of phone/internet connectivity. But it was a nice stay overall.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank colomeranna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2016

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I'm a little surprised to read other reviews saying the service isn't good because that was never our experience. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful and they gave us a lot of good advice during our stay. Our room had a view of Neuschwanstein which was a great bonus. Breakfast was good and the service there was also very nice. I would stay there again.

Room tip: Ask for a room with a view of the castle. Higher floors offer better views, but mind you there is no elevator (lift).
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PBJAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

After 11 miles walking this hotel has a very steep ascend.Dinner is served till 7.30pm when the kitchen closes. However the food is extremely well presented. As is the breakfast. The room has to tea/coffee facilities safe or minibar. The Wi-Fi is poor. The room had a big bathroom comfy beds and geraniums in the window boxes.. Pubs have a "Holy Hour". Therefore find cafes/restaurants e.g Wirtshaus in der Lechaue in Prem.

Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Looking for a hotel near Neuschwanstein and Hohenschwangau castles but not right at the noisy and crowded ticket center area? Don't want to be in busy Fussen either? Then tranquil Schwangau village is the best location. It is only a twenty minute bus ride or 10 minutes by taxi (11 Euros) from the Fussen Bahnhof. Schwangau is a picturesque Bavarian village within an easy bus ride to the castles. Or you can rent a bicycle and pedal there yourself. Gasthof Zur Post is an Alpine style hotel right in the middle of Schwangau. Across the street is the Tourist Information Center and the bus stop.
The hotel is tastefully decorated, well maintained and inviting. The rooms are of a good size, well appointed (mine had a recliner) with plenty of closet space (safe in the closet) and a small but modern bathroom. The stall shower was one of the best I had experienced on my trip through Germany. This was a single room so the foam bed was twin size.
The hotel provides a complimentary guest card that is good for free rides on the local buses. This makes going to and from Fussen and the castles a breeze. They can also make ticket reservations for tours of the castles right at the reception desk so you can avoid the long lines at the castle ticket center. Beware, tickets are for specific times and languages so give yourself enough time to get to the castles and find your way around.
The restaurant in Gasthof Zur Post is excellent with a wide variety of dishes and not overly expensive. The room comes with a buffet breakfast in the hotel breakfast room. This is quite good, a nice spread especially the cheeses, cold cuts, breads, pastries and fruit. There are several restaurants in Schwangau all within an easy walk from the hotel.
Everything worked in the room and there are ample electrical outlets. The WiFi worked well too but they charge 5 Euros for access. The room had a roomy balcony with views of the village. The hotel does not have an elevator. My room was on the third floor so I had to muscle my luggage up their elegant central stairs. The people there are friendly and helpful. They also speak English well so if your Deutsch is rudimentary, no worries. This hotel was one of the more affordable places in the area and less costly than Fussen or at the castles. I would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: No elevator so if you have difficulty with stairs ask for a room on the 2nd floor.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Brian_in_Reno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews