We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveller rating
29
51
33
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
51
33
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wilder mann single room the river other hotels in town free wifi great restaurant business trip english cheese castle
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 137 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2016

ROOM: single room - interior and setup standard but modern & clean, maintenance very good,. 1 mini flat screen tv,
-Bed: OK, blankets/cushions ok
-bathroom: standard
RESTAURANT: traditional & a bit dark
-breakfast: in relation to the price very good - buffet
-Service: ok- mostly selfservice
BAR: very ancient
RECEPTION: ok
PUBLIC AREAS: very ancient
SUMMARY:
ROI ok

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfhtraveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2016

Stayed in both: the Wilder Mann as well as in the sister hotel across the street. Both times we had very nice rooms and in both cases the staff was superb: friendly, accommodating, and supportive. We arrived on our bikes after a whole day in the rain and without a reservation. The staff was incredible helpful, called all over town but every room was booked. While they made the phone calls for us a cancelation for one of the rooms came in and we had a place to stay! We'll always remember Aschaffenburg in a positive way thanks to the people and the 'Wild Man". Oh, and the breakfast was delicious to boot!

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dundr2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWilderMann, Assistant Manager at Hotel Wilder Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Dear Sirs,
thank you very much for your rating and your great feedback.
It makes us really happy that you enjoyed your stay so much and we would be glad to welcome you once again in one of our hotels.

Thanks a lot
Kind regards
Your team of Hotel Wilder Mann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2015

This hotel is excellent. An old building parts of it 250 years ad older but well modernised to high standards.. Very near the river Main and the old town with some pleasant walks. Parking available and easy access to Autobahn.
Rooms are large and comfortable. Restaurant is excellent as is the breakfast buffet.
Not expensive - very good value for money.
The old town area is beautiful and very easy to explore. The central area is heavily pedestrianised with many interesting sites to see. The castle dominating the town on the riverside deserves special attention.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ernest C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWilderMann, Assistant Manager at Hotel Wilder Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2016

Dear Ernest C,
thank you very much for your rating and your great feedback.
It makes us happy that you enjoyed your stay in our historic hotel "Wilder Mann".
We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels.

Kind regards
Your team of hotel Wilder Mann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2015

The rooms facing the street ARE loud. They provide earplugs but even with earplugs I woke up by the vibrations produced by passing trucks. The SAUNA is very nice and the breakfast wonderful! Take care which room you pick! If yu have the chance to pick!

Room Tip: Take care which room you pick! If you have the chance to pick!
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Renate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015 via mobile

Booked this hotel last night the 11th August 15 we had room number 12 it was there sister hotel named the Goldener Karpfen
Straight across the road from the Wilder Mann,when we arrived at the room on the first floor it was very stuffy and hot,on first inspection it looked clean although it was the first hotel we have ever stayed in that issued ear plugs later that night we understood why,the whole block we stayed in including the room looked very tired and for 80€ per night was disgraceful,there was no air con so we had to sleep with the windows open to our disappointment,the road below our window was very busy and incredibly noisy as a consequence of this we had no sleep what so ever,we complained to the hotel owner and she was very unsympathetic saying what do we expect,we had spent two Months traveling through Bavaria and we have always found the hotels good and priced very reasonably this was not the case here,so if you need a peaceful and good sleep we suggest not booking this hotel,you have been warned.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hempenstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelWilderMann, Inhaber at Hotel Wilder Mann, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2015
Google Translation

Geschätzter Gast,

Bezug nehmend auf Ihren Aufenthalt in unserem Haus bedauern wir sehr, dass Sie nicht zufrieden waren und möchten gerne zu Ihre negativen Bewertung Stellung nehmen.

Unsere beiden historischen Hotels stehen nun mal NICHT auf der grünen Wiese, sondern unmittelbar an einer Geschäftsstraße, so wie Millionen andere Hotels auf dieser Welt. (Daraus haben wir auch nie ein Geheimnis gemacht.) Übrigens beherbergt der Goldene Karpfen seit anno 1548 Gäste und steht auch unter Denkmalschutz!

Schon bereits während Ihres Aufenthaltes haben Sie in einem anderen Portal eine Bewertung mit sachlich vollkommen falschen Inhalt abgegeben. Diese haben Sie dann, nachdem Sie von unserer Empfangschefin darauf angesprochen wurden, in einem aufwendigen telefonischen Procedere von etwa 30 Minuten wieder stornieren lassen – nach Ihrer Aussage war es dann doch ein Missverständnis...

Am Abreisetag haben Sie, nachdem die Check-Out-Zeit auch schon mehrere Stunden abgelaufen war, erst am Nachmittag den Zimmerschlüssel im Hotel abgegeben. Hier wurde logischerweise die Abrechnungsart angesprochen: „Wie möchten Sie zahlen?“. Daraufhin haben Sie gefragt „Warum denn bezahlen, ich war nicht zufrieden..!?“. Dies wurde sofortig mit der Frage ergänzt, ob wir denn bei tripadvisor gelistet wären.

Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass irgendwann auch mal die Unterwürfigkeit ein Ende hat, schließlich war unsere Empfangschefin insgesamt über eine Stunden mit diesem Procedere beschäftigt. Und gezahlt wurden für das Doppelzimmer letztlich 55,-- €!! Bei einem derartigen Verhalten hört eben die Gastfreundschaft auch mal auf. Wir leben von zufrieden Gästen - das ist unser Geschäft - man muss sich jedoch auch nicht alles gefallen lassen.

Peter Gemeinhardt / Inhaber

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews