We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (187)
Filter reviews
187 results
Traveller rating
93
58
27
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
93
58
27
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful townboutique hotelcouldn't do enougha great place to stayespresso machinebreadcroissantsrecommend this hotelcold cutsexcellent hotelroom was cleansmall citycity centrebusiness tripparkingcheesehall
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 187 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2017

I have stayed in Hotel Scholl regularly over the last 10 years and have seen it grow, expand and keep up with trends. It has also been my go-to hotel in Schwabisch Hall. The last stay was disappointing though. Missed the great vibe and good reception. Breakfast is now from a menu (Euro 19 per breakfast if you forgot to included it in the booking) and I was the only client in the breakfast area.

Would like to see the Hotel Scholl from last year again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank stephanb582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2017

I see that we are your first review on TripAdvisor, which suggests that you really weren’t happy. Of course, we are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. We try to make the check-in as streamlined and simple as possible. However, we do want to explain the how the security door works and where to find everything. This can seem a bit intrusive if you are just in from a long voyage. Also, it looks like you came on a day when our reception bar was closed. The bar atmosphere sets the vibe for our hotel, and it might seem a bit off if it is closed. Our bar staff take off Sundays and Mondays. We have been working on improving our breakfast for the last several years. Honestly, no-one, not even five-star hotels, put on a breakfast the way we do. We import all of our charcuterie and cheese ourselves, directly from Italy and France. We serve only artisanal breads, and they are baked fresh every day in a wood-fired oven. Every single thing we serve is top quality. We don’t make eggs until a customer orders them, so they are as fresh as can be. Also, we discovered that some things just don’t do well on a buffet. Bircher Muesli, a specialty of our, looks like wallpaper glue when you just dump it in a bowl and put it out to dry on a buffet. Instead, we make this dish to order so that what you eat is the absolute best that it can be. The same goes for fruit salad, and so on. Fresh is fresh, and we don’t want to claim it if we cannot deliver it. Our Schweicker rooms have been upgraded with new espresso machines from Sweden, new sheets in 100% linen and new towels from Bellora in Milano, new cosmetics from Clarins Paris, and new guest amenities. Yes, we have a menu in the breakfast room. Our prices range from 1,40 to 8,40 euros. There is one all-you-can-eat option that costs about twenty euros. That means you can order ten cappuccinos and 75 scrambled eggs, if that is what you really want. Finally, we think it makes more sense to give you a fairly priced room and a fairly priced breakfast instead of hiding the so-called “free breakfast” in the cost of the room. This is absolutely a fairer approach for our guests. Finally, our business customers tend to take breakfast early. On weekdays we hold the dining room open until eleven for travelers who want to sleep in. Of course, we don’t control who comes when. Thank you for remarking on our path of improvement. We are committed to keeping our hotel the number one in town. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

The room is very modern and nice. The bed is amazingly soft. Our room is on the streetside. The noise of the street is very loud and therefore you cannot watch tv while having the window open. The location is amazing! In the middle of the center. Parking is easy but not for free.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mareen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you very much for the positive review. Our hotel is made up from four antique houses knit together internally. The eldest of the four buildings is more than 550 years old. Of course, the advantage of medieval architecture in the middle of a thousand-year-old town is that it is authentic and charming. The slight disadvantage is that rooms either face the front or the back, there is no in-between. Rooms that face the back are extremely quiet, though they don’t have any views. Rooms that face the front have nice views of the forest and the church (depending on the room). However, those rooms can be a bit noisier in the summer. We could solve this with air-conditioning, but this is not possible because the houses are protected national monuments and the arts commission won’t allow us to place machines that will be visible from the outside. Our staff is always happy to help our guests choose the best room for their needs. No two of our rooms are alike, and there really is an excellent choice. Finally, parking is likewise a function of our location and the nature of antique houses. There is parking directly in front of the building, and the cost is quite low. Otherwise there are two parking garages with more than 800 covered spaces at less than five minutes walking distance from the front door. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we will have the honor of hosting you again in the future. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Me and my family was here fir a long weekend in this nice and small city. We book this hotel for 3 days . It was clean and the waiter were very kind. Very good breakfast included in my formula. If i will come back i choose this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Stevei9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are proud of our family hotel, now in it’s fourth generation. Especially the breakfast is a passion project of ours. We import our own charcuterie and cheeses from Italy and France. Our bread comes fresh everyday from an artisinal baker who bakes in a wood-fired oven. Our eggs come from a farm in nearby Bibersfeld, and we prepare them to order. It’s a bit harder, and it takes a bit longer to do things this way, but we believe our guests deserve the best and can taste the difference. It would be an honor to host you again. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Fantastic little hotel in the centre of town, 2 min walk to the square. Rooms well appointed, comfy beds and great staff. An italian chap booked us in ( I can't remember his name ) but he was fantastic- couldn't do enough to help us and make us welcome.
Definitely a great place to stay.
Only glitch ( and a tip for other travellers). Breakfast was great, but no decent coffee or hot food. We arrived in the breakfast room and there were no staff at all. We even went looking for some. We helped ourselves to what was there and my wife remembered there was a menu in our room. I went and got it, and there was a selection of hot food but no way of ordering it, nor coffee. So we made do. The people on the next table went and queued up at the front desk with the guests booking out, to ask about hot food. This prompted a girl to appear and ask if we wanted hot food or coffee. It was too late for us as we had nearly finished.
If you're staying here, take your emu down with you and get coffee and hot food from the front desk when you arrive then you won't go without, like we did.
Would have given 5 stars if there was breakfast staff to get coffee, juice and hot food. They just need to sort this and it will be a great find.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nachooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your generous review. I am terribly sorry about your adventure with our breakfast. As you might imagine, your experience is far from how we intend for it to work. If we are lucky enough to have your repeat business I will personally make sure that nothing like this happens again. We would, indeed, like to earn an extra star. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The only remark I have is that the breakfast, meaning the taste of the cold cut and bread wasn't as I expected. Maybe in this region this is the way they do it. The orange juice was fresh pressed and very good, You shouldn't be in hurry to enjoy this juice, because production takes some time.
All the rest was very good.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephen_sheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review. We’d be disappointed if the tastes of our charcuterie and bread are anything like what one experiences in hotel buffets. All of our meats are directly imported from Italy, where we have sought out the very best makers. We buy Porchetta from Treviso. This delicacy is cured with Juniper berries and minimal use of conservatives. Our cooked ham comes from the area around Parma and Piacenza. We serve only the “heart” of the ham, which is considered to be the tastiest and most delicate part. Our sopressa comes from Lovison in Spilimbergo Friuli; a family concern that has been making some of the best salami in northern Italy for 104 years. As far as bread is concerned, ours is traditionally made by an old-fashioned baker who uses a wood-fired oven. Our farmers breads, rolls, laugen (pretzels and pretzel rolls), and other specialties are delivered fresh at around 7am every morning. Our patisserie breads are prepared in house and are as fresh and flaky as can be. Likewise, we squeeze every single glass of juice to order (orange, apple, grapefruit, carrot, and others depending upon the season). It would be easier to squeeze juices a liter at a time. The compromise for instant service is lower quality. Our choice is to serve food that we would want to eat and drink ourselves. We realize that this takes a bit longer. Hotels don’t serve the kind of breakfast that we do because the raw materials are extremely expensive. Fresh and organic foods taste differently, and that may seem out of place if one gets used to what is generically served. I would bet the hotel on the quality of the food that we serve our guests every morning. Once again, thank you for the positive review. I hope you will find the chance to visit us again sometime soon. We would be happy to welcome you. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews