We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room. Nice location.”
Review of Hotel Scholl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Scholl
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Schwabisch Hall
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2017 via mobile

The room is very modern and nice. The bed is amazingly soft. Our room is on the streetside. The noise of the street is very loud and therefore you cannot watch tv while having the window open. The location is amazing! In the middle of the center. Parking is easy but not for free.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mareen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2017

Thank you very much for the positive review. Our hotel is made up from four antique houses knit together internally. The eldest of the four buildings is more than 550 years old. Of course, the advantage of medieval architecture in the middle of a thousand-year-old town is that it is authentic and charming. The slight disadvantage is that rooms either face the front or the back, there is no in-between. Rooms that face the back are extremely quiet, though they don’t have any views. Rooms that face the front have nice views of the forest and the church (depending on the room). However, those rooms can be a bit noisier in the summer. We could solve this with air-conditioning, but this is not possible because the houses are protected national monuments and the arts commission won’t allow us to place machines that will be visible from the outside. Our staff is always happy to help our guests choose the best room for their needs. No two of our rooms are alike, and there really is an excellent choice. Finally, parking is likewise a function of our location and the nature of antique houses. There is parking directly in front of the building, and the cost is quite low. Otherwise there are two parking garages with more than 800 covered spaces at less than five minutes walking distance from the front door. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope that we will have the honor of hosting you again in the future. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017 via mobile

Me and my family was here fir a long weekend in this nice and small city. We book this hotel for 3 days . It was clean and the waiter were very kind. Very good breakfast included in my formula. If i will come back i choose this hotel again.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank Stevei9900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for your kind review. We are proud of our family hotel, now in it’s fourth generation. Especially the breakfast is a passion project of ours. We import our own charcuterie and cheeses from Italy and France. Our bread comes fresh everyday from an artisinal baker who bakes in a wood-fired oven. Our eggs come from a farm in nearby Bibersfeld, and we prepare them to order. It’s a bit harder, and it takes a bit longer to do things this way, but we believe our guests deserve the best and can taste the difference. It would be an honor to host you again. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

Fantastic little hotel in the centre of town, 2 min walk to the square. Rooms well appointed, comfy beds and great staff. An italian chap booked us in ( I can't remember his name ) but he was fantastic- couldn't do enough to help us and make us welcome.
Definitely a great place to stay.
Only glitch ( and a tip for other travellers). Breakfast was great, but no decent coffee or hot food. We arrived in the breakfast room and there were no staff at all. We even went looking for some. We helped ourselves to what was there and my wife remembered there was a menu in our room. I went and got it, and there was a selection of hot food but no way of ordering it, nor coffee. So we made do. The people on the next table went and queued up at the front desk with the guests booking out, to ask about hot food. This prompted a girl to appear and ask if we wanted hot food or coffee. It was too late for us as we had nearly finished.
If you're staying here, take your emu down with you and get coffee and hot food from the front desk when you arrive then you won't go without, like we did.
Would have given 5 stars if there was breakfast staff to get coffee, juice and hot food. They just need to sort this and it will be a great find.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nachooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for your generous review. I am terribly sorry about your adventure with our breakfast. As you might imagine, your experience is far from how we intend for it to work. If we are lucky enough to have your repeat business I will personally make sure that nothing like this happens again. We would, indeed, like to earn an extra star. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2017

The only remark I have is that the breakfast, meaning the taste of the cold cut and bread wasn't as I expected. Maybe in this region this is the way they do it. The orange juice was fresh pressed and very good, You shouldn't be in hurry to enjoy this juice, because production takes some time.
All the rest was very good.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephen_sheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a kind review. We’d be disappointed if the tastes of our charcuterie and bread are anything like what one experiences in hotel buffets. All of our meats are directly imported from Italy, where we have sought out the very best makers. We buy Porchetta from Treviso. This delicacy is cured with Juniper berries and minimal use of conservatives. Our cooked ham comes from the area around Parma and Piacenza. We serve only the “heart” of the ham, which is considered to be the tastiest and most delicate part. Our sopressa comes from Lovison in Spilimbergo Friuli; a family concern that has been making some of the best salami in northern Italy for 104 years. As far as bread is concerned, ours is traditionally made by an old-fashioned baker who uses a wood-fired oven. Our farmers breads, rolls, laugen (pretzels and pretzel rolls), and other specialties are delivered fresh at around 7am every morning. Our patisserie breads are prepared in house and are as fresh and flaky as can be. Likewise, we squeeze every single glass of juice to order (orange, apple, grapefruit, carrot, and others depending upon the season). It would be easier to squeeze juices a liter at a time. The compromise for instant service is lower quality. Our choice is to serve food that we would want to eat and drink ourselves. We realize that this takes a bit longer. Hotels don’t serve the kind of breakfast that we do because the raw materials are extremely expensive. Fresh and organic foods taste differently, and that may seem out of place if one gets used to what is generically served. I would bet the hotel on the quality of the food that we serve our guests every morning. Once again, thank you for the positive review. I hope you will find the chance to visit us again sometime soon. We would be happy to welcome you. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. When we arrived at the hotel, there was a mix up with our booking, without asking we were upgraded to the loft rooms, which was much appreciated. The rooms were decorated to a very high standard, it was obvious a lot of thought had gone into the interior design through the hotel. The rooms were a nice size and the bathroom was well appointed, with an excellent shower. For breakfast, we could choose from anything on the menu, an excellent idea, the food was fresh and tasty. The bircher muesli was outstanding, 10/10. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The location is excellent in a beautiful town. We would return without hesitation.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scholl1878, Owner at Hotel Scholl, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

With apologies for the mixup with your booking, We are all very happy that you had a good time. These houses have been in my family for nearly 140 years, and we are proud our endless battle to keep them up to date :-). Of course, there is always more to do and we hope you have an even better stay should we earn your return visit. Our breakfast is a passion project. I am glad you like the Bircher Muesli. We make ours with steel cut oats, dried apricots and cranberries, chopped pecans, shredded pears, and shredded apples. We serve it drizzled with local honey and garnished with pecans and fresh figs. Once again, thank you, and I hope you will return again soon. Christian Scholl, Proprietor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schwabisch Hall hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Restaurant Goldener Adler
Hotel Restaurant Goldener Adler
#2 of 13 in Schwabisch Hall
107 reviews
0.1 km away
Romantik Hotel Der Adelshof
Romantik Hotel Der Adelshof
#4 of 13 in Schwabisch Hall
78 reviews
2.7 km away
Landhaus Wolf
Landhaus Wolf
#7 of 13 in Schwabisch Hall
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Qubixx - StadtMitteHotel
Qubixx - StadtMitteHotel
#10 of 13 in Schwabisch Hall
11 reviews
3 km away
Hotel Smartino
Hotel Smartino
#6 of 13 in Schwabisch Hall
39 reviews
1.9 km away
Hotel Sonneck
Hotel Sonneck
#9 of 13 in Schwabisch Hall
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scholl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scholl

Address: Klosterstrasse 2-4, 74523 Schwabisch Hall, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Schwabisch Hall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Schwabisch Hall
Price Range: €84 - €115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Scholl 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scholl is located in the historic center of Schwäbisch Hall, directly adjacent to St. Michael's church. My family’s home for the last 140 years, I am the third generation to manage this boutique hotel. We aim for a warm, casual, and elegant atmosphere. Our hotel is made up of four historic houses, the eldest of which is more than 550 years old. These protected landmarks have been unified over the years into one hotel. We certainly aren't a cookie-cutter chain hotel. No two of our rooms are alike. Being right in the center of town, paid city parking is available in front of the hotel on a first-come-first-served basis. There are 827 covered parking spaces in two city garages at five minutes walking distance. You can easily drop off you luggage, park the car, and enjoy a short walk through the town to the hotel. Once you're parked Schwäbisch Hall is easily walkable. You won’t need your car. We look forward to having you as our guest. Your host, Christian Scholl ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Scholl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing